Le Refuge

Menerbes, Provence

Sleeps 2 •  Bedrooms 1 •  Bathrooms 1

HIGHLIGHTS

Wifi

A wonderful place

Rated 5 out of 5
11th October 2019

We really enjoyed the stay in this beautiful place. The house is situated in a beautiful forest and it is quiet and peaceful. Thanks Marie!

Maria from Austria
See all reviews

Booking enquiry

  • Rental price breakdown

PAOLO'S VIEW: “Rustic hideaway for a romantic couple in a 'secret valley' near Menerbes”

The Location
The house is 1.5 miles from the village of Menerbes.

Menerbes rises up like a ship from the sea of vineyards that run along the Luberon valley and is officially one of 'The Most Beautiful Villages of France'. Menerbes has two levels. On the mid-level are restaurants, cafe, bakery and grocery store. And on the top level you can stroll past grand houses with magnificent views to north and south, as well as the Maison de la Truffe et du Vin (House of Wine and Truffles), where you can buy produce and also have lunch in the beautiful garden. Market day in Menerbes is Thursday mornings from April to October.

From Menerbes you can get to the other picture-perfect hill-top villages of the north Luberon within 15 minutes by car: Gordes, Bonnieux, Roussillon, Lacoste, Oppede-le-vieux and Goult. Within an hour are the must-sees of Avignon, Aix-en-Provence, St-Remy, Les Baux-de-Provence and Arles.

Full Amenities
Wifi  
Log fire  
Washing machine  
TV  
Hair dryer  
BBQ  
Parking on premises  
Bath  
Microwave  
Pets considered  
Weekly Rates
18 Dec 2023 - 06 Jan 2024
€650
01 Apr 2024 - 30 Apr 2024
€650
01 May 2024 - 30 Jun 2024
€760
01 Jul 2024 - 31 Aug 2024
€820
01 Sep 2024 - 30 Sep 2024
€760
01 Oct 2024 - 31 Oct 2024
€650
18 Dec 2024 - 06 Jan 2025
€650
01 Apr 2025 - 30 Apr 2025
€650
01 May 2025 - 30 Jun 2025
€760
01 Jul 2025 - 31 Aug 2025
€820
01 Sep 2025 - 30 Sep 2025
€760
01 Oct 2025 - 31 Oct 2025
€650
Property Rental Policies
  • Included in the rates: utilities, bedlinen, towels, WiFi internet, visitor tax, after-stay clean.

  • To book: 30% booking deposit, with the balance payment due on arrival.

  • Rental periods: 7 nights minimum.

  • Refundable damage deposit: 200 euros.

  • Cancellation: if you have to cancel, we will try to re-book your dates, and refund the amount recovered (minus bank charges).

  • Maximum occupancy: 2. This property is not suitable for children.

  • Dogs would be considered at this property.

  • All properties are non-smoking.

Check availability
Select a date range for your desired stay from the calendar. Click once for your check-in and once again for your check-out day on the squares marked as "Available"
Calendar
Calendar is loading...
- Available
 
- Booked
·
 
- Partially booked

Guest Reviews

A little Paradise, never to be forgotten!!

Rated 5 out of 5
15th September 2016

Dear Mariie We stayed in your beautiful home many years ago. In fact, we were one of your first visitors. We found your little paradise by chance when one of your neighbours’ sent their daughter to show us how to get to you when you had recently opened! How we loved staying with you! We have never forgotten your warm hospitality and friendship, the beautiful cottage (and hammock) under the ancient stone shelter, your lovely vegetable garden & vineyards. You even sent us on our way with the most delicious tomato and basil terrine which you had so kindly made yourself! We couldn’t find you on the internet so that we could send our son to stay with you until we searched on Google Maps and Voila!! We found you!! So maybe our son, Jean-Paul will call on your soon! We hope you are in good health and from the reviews, still most charming. May God shower you with blessings and we hope to visit you again one day!! Marcel & Charmaine PS I made up the date of the review because we were there over 10 years ago!!!

Waterbabies from Cape Town South Africa

Wonderful week in Provence

Rated 5 out of 5
14th May 2016

We had a wonderful week staying at “Le Refuge ” near Menerbes. It is a beautiful place, peaceful and relaxing. Marie was a lovely host with such interesting stories to tell. We loved the garden and all the outdoor terraces to sit on or have our meals. We hired bikes from Sun E-Bike and rode to all the perched villages nearby. Not a problem for 2 reasonably fit 70 year olds! Would definitely recommend “Le Fefuge”.

Two Aussies from Australia

Very special place

Rated 5 out of 5
7th May 2016

I knew the first time I saw your web site of Le Refuge I had to visit. It is beautiful place built with a lot of love and patience. Marie was very kind and helpful to make me feel welcome. I am glad I made the effort to live for a week in this unique place. Once you stay here you will have great memories. Keep building on to your dream, Marie.

Merci beaucoup.

USA Rhode Island

Peter from USA

A quirky find that surpassed all expectations

Rated 5 out of 5
19th September 2015

The Refuge was my favourite holiday accommodation ever and my only complaint was having to leave!!

The Outisde:

The property is in a rural location with beautiful views of the surrounding woods. The setting of the house built into the side of the cliff is not only unusul, but the cliff face provided warmth on the chillier mornings as we were sheltered from the Mistral winds, and had it rained would have provided protection from getting wet whilst still being able to sit outside. The sunlight reached the property from mid morning onwards and stayed until the end of the evening, and because of the multiple seating options you could move into or out of the sun as desired. The variety of outside furniture was brillliant and included tables and chairs perfect for eating at, and comfortable relaxing options such as a hammock, sunbed or whicker chairs. There were options for outdoors cooking including the BBQ directly outside the property, or a large BBQ built into a concrete table just past the owners house. The outside space was also adorned with an array of solar power and electric lights which created a lovely ambience.

There are steps built into the cliff leading up to the terrace for some amazing views.

The inside:

The inside of the property was very comfortable. The kitchen is small, but functional, and had adequate cooking facilites. There was ample hot water for showers. The bed was very comfortable. All in all the house is very homely, but not full of clutter as some places are. Both the inside and outside were very clean.

The owner:

Marie was very welcoming and friendly. She was not intrusive, but was there on hand if we needed anything. She’s slightly crazy, but in a good way!! 🙂

We would definitely recommend this property and loved staying here.

Ellie from England