The Ochre House

Roussillon, Provence

Sleeps 18 •  Bedrooms 8 •  Bathrooms 6

HIGHLIGHTS

Private pool • Heated pool • Wifi

A lovely spacious farmhouse, perfect for an extended family holiday

Rated 5 out of 5
12th August 2018

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at La Madone. The house and accommodation and the pool and garden were perfect for our extended family reunion. We were ten adults and five children under seven and we had a really happy week together. The pool for us was a highlight of the week. It is attractive, spacious, and well furnished with loungers. We were initially concerned about safety with so many small children but the pool is slightly out of sight and away from the rest of the garden and so going to it was ‘an event’, and it was easy to supervise and provided many hours of fun. We loved the pizza oven and enjoyed the number of outdoor tables for eating in different and lovely parts of the patios and garden! Nadège cooked for us for three of the evenings and that was a real treat. It’s not a cheap option but the cooking is excellent and Nadege provided delicious food and generous quantities. The house is much more extensive than the photos can show, and there are bedrooms off a number of different areas which allows for plenty of choice. We would love to return sometime!

Ruth D from Sussex, UK
See all reviews

Booking enquiry

  • Rental price breakdown

PAOLO'S VIEW: “Follow in the footsteps of Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton who came to escape the press, and Leonard Cohen who came for inspiration”

The Location
The house is 1km (0.7 miles) from Roussillon.

Roussillon is one of the most stunning villages in France, a hill-top village known and loved for its amazing palette of ochre colours. Roussillon is also well served with amenities - restaurants and cafes, grocery, bakery, butcher, pharmacy, small specialist stores, galleries and a weekly market on Thursday mornings.

Other nearby hilltop villages include Menerbes, Gordes, Bonnieux, Lacoste, Oppede-le-vieux, and Goult, all within 20 minutes' drive. From this base you can explore the Luberon, its villages and markets, and close by you will find Avignon, l'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, Les Baux-de-Provence, St Remy, Aix-en-Provence, Arles, Nimes, Marseille, none more than 80 minutes away.

Full Amenities
Has pool  
Private pool  
Heated pool  
Walk to village  
Wifi  
Ground-floor bedroom  
Log fire  
Washing machine  
Dryer  
TV  
English-language TV  
Children welcome  
High chair  
Hair dryer  
BBQ  
Ping pong  
Parking on premises  
Bath  
Microwave  
Pets considered  
Weekly Rates
01 Nov 2023 - 31 Mar 2024
€4920
*16 Dec 2023 - 06 Jan 2024
€5920
01 Apr 2024 - 30 Apr 2024
€4920
01 May 2024 - 31 May 2024
€6220
01 Jun 2024 - 30 Jun 2024
€6920
01 Jul 2024 - 31 Aug 2024
€8620
01 Sep 2024 - 30 Sep 2024
€6920
01 Oct 2024 - 31 Oct 2024
€4920
01 Nov 2024 - 31 Mar 2025
€4920
*17 Dec 2024 - 06 Jan 2025
€5920
01 Apr 2025 - 30 Apr 2025
€4920
01 May 2025 - 31 May 2025
€6220
01 Jun 2025 - 30 Jun 2025
€6920
01 Jul 2025 - 31 Aug 2025
€8620
01 Sep 2025 - 30 Sep 2025
€6920
01 Oct 2025 - 31 Oct 2025
€4920
Property Rental Policies
  • Included in the rates: utilities, bedlinen, towels, WiFi internet, visitor tax, mid-week cleaning, after-stay clean.

  • Rates vary according to number of people. Quoted rates are for 14 people. Rate is increased by 250 euros per person per week for 15-18 people.

  • To book: 30% booking deposit, with the balance payment due 1 month before arrival.

  • Rental periods: May-September, 1-week minimum from 4pm Saturday to 10am Saturday. Rest of year, flexible arrival and long weekends are possible.

  • Refundable damage deposit: 1500 euros.

  • Cancellation: if you have to cancel, we will try to re-book your dates, and refund the amount recovered (minus bank charges).

  • Maximum occupancy: 18. (Quoted rates are for 14 people. Rate is increased by 250 euros per person per week for 15-18 people).

  • Dogs are accepted at this property.

  • All properties are non-smoking.

Check availability
Select a date range for your desired stay from the calendar. Click once for your check-in and once again for your check-out day on the squares marked as "Available"
Calendar
Calendar is loading...
- Available
 
- Booked
·
 
- Partially booked

Guest Reviews

Magic Christmas Holiday

Rated 5 out of 5
22nd December 2017

Thank you Yvan, for being a wonderful host and for allowing us to spend two weeks over Christmas in your beautiful home. It was the place that long lasting family and friend’s memories were made together. Who says Provence isn’t four seasons? Part of our family went up to ski for the day (Les Orres) more than once. We visited breathtaking villages and hiked in the gorgeous Cedar Forest. Everything that we could have ever needed was available in your home. Nothing was missing for us to entertain through the holidays. Thank you for the perfect recommendation of a chef … he was first class. The cleaning staff was also exceptionally helpful (our 6 year old hid one of the house keys in a very obscure place and while the family looked for it for 2 days, they found it in 5 minutes). Your home is perfect and it was obvious from the start it has a heart of it’s own. A bientôt

Sandrella from Oxford, UK

A lovely spacious farmhouse, artistically furnished

Rated 5 out of 5
17th August 2017

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at La Madone. The house and accommodation and the pool and garden were perfect for our extended family reunion. We were ten adults and five children under seven and we had a really happy week together. The pool for us was a highlight of the week. It is attractive, spacious, and well furnished with loungers. We were initially concerned about safety with so many small children but the pool is slightly out of sight and away from the rest of the garden and so going to it was ‘an event’, and it was easy to supervise and provided many hours of fun.

We loved the pizza oven and enjoyed the number of outdoor tables for eating in different and lovely parts of the patios and garden! Nadège cooked for us for three of the evenings and that was a real treat. It’s not a cheap option but the cooking is excellent and Nadege provided delicious food and generous quantities.

The house is much more extensive than the photos can show, and there are bedrooms off a number of different areas which allows for plenty of choice.

Ruth D. from London

A totally charming property which lived up to every expectation

Rated 5 out of 5
8th July 2017

La Madone was the perfect venue for Kate & David’s wedding blessing ceremony and reception (legally married in Cartmel Priory England two weeks previously). We rented the property for two weeks; the wedding being on the middle Saturday. The farmhouse and studio easily accommodated 20 – the bride and groom, both sets of parents, both brothers, 3 bridesmaids and partners, the best man and several close family members. This is a very spacious property with a beautiful traditional provencale ambience. All guests were delighted with their rooms some of which are en-suite. The exterior seating areas and pool (spotlessly clean) provide a wonderful selection of both shaded areas and opportunities to enjoy the sun. Despite there being so many of us we never felt on top of each other. There is provision for exterior dining for many people and the kitchen and equipment provided more than adequately catered for all of our needs. The proximity of Apt with its local market, supermarket and wine merchants was a great asset. La Madone was an incredible setting for the wedding. The ceremony was held within the vineyard with stunning views of the hills beyond. Guests were thrilled and amazed as they were welcomed through the archway into the garden area where eight large tables (seating 70) with traditional provencale decorations were set around a tree on the lawn. Following the champagne reception a wonderful barbeque was prepared and served by Gerald Konings, an extremely talented local chef and his team. We were entertained by an incredibly charismatic band, the Troubadours, who visited every table and engaged all of the guests and started the evening’s dancing. Clark, a very talented local DJ took over the music and dance floor until the early hours. We would like to sincerely thank Nadege for her invaluable assistance beforehand in sourcing the suppliers and advising on the practicalities of the event. This was a truly amazing experience for all of those involved. We shall all treasure our memories of our summer at La Madone in 2017.

Moya H. from England

Paradise!

Rated 5 out of 5
3rd August 2016

Just back from a really fantastic stay. Beautifully situated, with gloriously pretty garden and stunning countryside views! Fabulous choice of outside sitting and dining areas, lovely big pool. Everything so well thought out, even the BBQ is set against the wind. Great kitchen with plenty of space, lovely bedrooms. Nadege is so friendly and makes you feel so welcome, encouraging you to really feel at home. Lots of sports bits and pieces provided, including inflatables for the pool and pool towels. We were a group of 17, including 9 kids, and it was truly perfect for us. Invigorating 20 minute walk up to beautiful Roussillon, but it’s an easy drive if you prefer. Perfectly situated for beautiful hilltop villages like Gordes and Bonnieux as well as Isle sur la Sorgue and Fontaine de Vaucluse where we canoed. Big Leclerc supermarket in nearby Apt. Would absolutely recommend and would love to come back!!!

Kate from London