Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Anne

New York, NY

Date of stay: 2018-09-01

Lovely Maison in Ménerbes!

We could not have been happier with our home away from home. The property was exactly as described on a beautiful expanse of land under the walled village of Ménerbes. A short walk to get groceries and fabulous quaint restaurants. The owner was extremely responsive and even met me there to give us a tour which made us feel very welcome. One of our friends is a private chef and she felt very comfortable creating gourmet meals in the well equipped kitchen! I would highly recommend Le Clos to anyone wanting a relaxing, peaceful home base in Ménerbes.

Reviewed by : Murray

New Zealand

Date of stay: 2016-06-18

Maison..Menerbes..Magnifique!

What a delightful haven in the Luberon this is! This was our second visit in 3 years to this wonderful house in a superb location. The owners present a beautifully appointed house that met all of our needs. It is comfortable inside with all the essentials that a top-quality house can provide. The outside areas - dining table, casual seating, pool area, all provide places to relax or socialise as you wish. The owners are charming and helpful (although we have never met them), and the caretaker is attentive to every question and was very keen to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Being so close to the best village in this area is another big plus. We could not wish for a better place to enjoy a holiday in Southern Provence.

Reviewed by : Jeroen

Belgium

Date of stay: 2016-08-13

Wonderful!

We enjoyed two wonderful weeks in this lovely, comfortable and "easy" house, tucked away underneath beautiful Ménerbes. The well-prepared and clean house has all one needs in order to enjoy a relaxing holiday, including a well-equipped kitchen, two gardens to choose from and a refreshing pool. The view up to the village is special. We walked and cycled (we rented two electric bikes from Bonnieux) to explore this beautiful region, had several delicious lunches, did some reading, enjoyed the company and a little care for the local cat, etc. etc. It was hard to leave the good life behind after two weeks and return to life in a big city. Both the owner and representative are delightful and most helpful people. In short, we would be more than happy to return.

Reviewed by : lee

NZ

Date of stay: 2016-06-11

Superb house

Thank you for such a wonderful time, both in your superb property, and in the town of Menerbes. It was absolutely as described in the correspondence - a true piece of paradise! The property was very clean and well maintained. I would most certainly highly recommend Le Clos de Menerbes to anyone who wants a week of rest and relaxation in Menerbes. We loved the pool, and the easy walk into town for supplies. Many thanks.

Reviewed by : Charlotte

London

Date of stay: 2015-07-13

We come back every year

This is the only place we want to return to every year. We stayed at many places in the past – but this is the only place we want to come back to. The other places we stayed generally involved cleaning for at least half a day before we could relax. Charlotte has great taste in interiors – it feels just like home – well, actually a little bit better. We arrive here on a Saturday, it's clean, the furniture is good – the whole house is wonderful and perfect. The pool is lovely and warm and there are no wasps in the pool, and it's child-proof. We can walk up to the village – drive not too far to Apt and other tourist villages. We buy some great food and come home and cook it. That is all we do for two weeks. No problems. We relax. The house is great. Charlotte and Alexis are brilliant hosts. The house is immaculate and it's all we need for the perfect holiday.

Reviewed by : David

Canada

Date of stay: 2013-05-21

Spectacular

Our week in Le Clos was magnificent. The villa is nestled along side the old medieval walls of Menerbes and is in a wonderful location buried inside the Luberon region in Vaucluse. There are many (40+) local vintners in the area some within walking distance producing some excellent wines. Even for the refined palet the wines are of high quality for only 6E to 10E (We're from Canada so this is difficult to grasp). Many many local markets close by. We spent a week exploring the area and hardly scratched the surface. In May the poppies were in full bloom. Around every corner there was a new surprise Menerbes is centrally located and it is easy to hit some of the more touristy locals like Gordes, Lacoste and Isle D'Sorgue but we found just the right mix of amenities right in the village. A great bakery, a handful of restaurants and patios all within walking distance and a great place to retreat to after a busy day exploring Le Clos itself was excellent. We were 3 couples that like to cook and visit. Wonderful space outside and inside if you want to sit and read alone or if youre gathering for a meal. Enjoyed the large roaring fireplace and morning coffee out in the courtyard. Easy access from Avignon by car. The owners are very easy to work with and have a family connection with a local winery It is obvious they are very proud of the area. It is not just a place to sleep and eat; they want you to experience all the area has to offer

Reviewed by : WineinPA

Pennsylvania, USA

Date of stay: 2012-11-01

Beautiful Property, Excellent Location!!

We have returned to the Luberon 3 years in a row now and this property was perfect! Excellent location, Beautiful accommodations with every amenity. We are wine aficionados and this property is located among the most beautiful vineyards / wineries in the area. Easy walk to the beautiful village of Menerbes!

Reviewed by : Donna

Canada

Date of stay: 2012-09-29

It is just so lovely!

Three friends rented this property for three weeks, each with our own bedroom. We solved the much coveted master bedroom issue by having it for one week each. It is a glorious space! Although the property is in Menerbes, it is far enough away from the center so noise was not an issue. The kitchen is well equipped and it was fun to cook in it after visiting the many village markets and hauling back fresh produce. If we forgot to get a staple, it was just a short walk to one of Menerbes' shops to pick it up. We ate most of our meals outside in the lovely garden, under a glorious tree. I loved all the windows that let in bright sunshine and fresh air, almost turning the living room and kitchen into an intermediate patio space. The local rep (sorry, I've forgotten her name) was just delightful and it was an added bonus that the damage deposit was returned immediately the day of our departure. It is such a pain to await the return of a damage deposit once you are home. The property sits in the middle of a vineyard but is very close to a major artery - visiting the various nearby villages was our primary activity. It is just so lovely! We have stayed in gites in Provence and although they were great, there is nothing like the convenience of being right in a town, yet still be secluded enough for peace and quiet. Tip: it is difficult to find at night if you are going for the first time so try to arrive by daylight.

Reviewed by : KIRSTEN

Australia

Date of stay: 2012-04-14

Dream Stay at Clos de Ménerbes

Our family were filled with joy to arrive at Clos de Ménerbes which is a paradise in the heart of the Luberon. The town made famous by Pater Male and others is a rare gem but the home is a perfect match to enjoy the fruits of the country.

Reviewed by : Brooke

United States

Date of stay: 2012-07-07

Heaven on earth

We have rented houses in the Luberon 3 times before and this was by far our favorite. We spent 3 beautiful weeks there. Charlotte was great to deal with and the house was clean and well maintained. Our friends went there the summer after we did and loved it too. I can't wait to return!

Reviewed by : Blue

Derbyshire, England

Date of stay: 2012-09-08

One Fine Week

We had a fabulous week. The accommodation was everything we could have wished for and was a true reflection of what is show on the web site. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and the site representative was, welcoming, extremely friendly and helpful. We have shown friends and family our photos and said how delighted we we’re with our stay. We had wonderful days out walking in the surrounding area and at night enjoyed eating in as well as at the restaurants in Menerbes, whcih we could walk to, and, all of which we tried and enjoyed. Adopting the neighbour’s cat for a week was a bonus.

Reviewed by : Catherine

Weybridge, Surrey

Date of stay: 2012-08-04

An idyllic stay

Our fortnight in Menerbes was one of our best family holidays ever. The house was beautifully decorated and maintained, with great facilities, we had a lovely warm welcome from the local representative, and the location was perfect. We loved being on the edge of the village as we were able to walk to the shops and restaurants. We had several wonderful meals out, we enjoyed a classical music evening at the church and we bought an amazing oil painting from the stunning art gallery at the top of the hill. There were so many things to see and do in the area we did not manage them all (the draw of the pool was too tempting some days!), but we enjoyed going to Aix, Avignon, Aigues Mortes and Salon and, more locally, Oppede and Bonnieux. We thoroughly recommend Le Clos de Menerbes.

Reviewed by : P&S

Melbourne Australia

Date of stay: 2013-09-28

Dream stay!

Le Clos de Menerbes is a dream stay! Many years ago we lived in France. Our hearts are there and we try to return every couple of years. The Luberon is *the* place to holiday and Le Clos de Menerbes is the perfect home to see it all from. We've stayed at Le Clos twice now and both stays were a dream. We have three kids under 15 and they adore the place. It's quiet, exceptionally comfortable and has everything you need. The house is nestled at the base of Menerbes so it's just a 5 minute walk for your breakfast croissants. The village and surrouds are stunning, with everyone you meet just so friendly. Other gorgeous villages like Gordes, Isle sur la sorgue etc are in easy driving distance. Honestly, we can't imagine what more you would need for a stay in the South. We will definitely be back!