Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Fiona

Surrey, UK

Date of stay: 2020-07-05

2 weeks of bliss in Provence after lockdown

A huge thank you to Lovonne and Simon for their hospitality & help in ensuring our first holiday after lockdown went so smoothly. Lovonne picked up provisions for us so we didn’t need to go food shopping after a late arrival ensuring a relaxing start to our holiday. Maison Olive is perfect for families and beautifully decorated. Our 2 daughters (aged 3 and 7 years old) loved the swimming pool and amazing gardens to explore! Menerbes is titled the most beautiful village in France for good reason and being able to walk into the village was a dream. Lots of wonderful restaurants to choose from. We had enjoyed a wonderful meal at Le Bistro 5 to celebrate our daughter’s birthday and they made her feel so special. We love Provence and having visited many times over the past 5 years, still have more to explore. Merci beaucoup!

Reviewed by : Narelle & Dave

Sydney Australia

Date of stay: 2019-05-30

The Perfect Provence Vacation Stay

We stayed at Maison Olive for the month of May 2019. The property is presented beautifully and the attention to detail makes for a very comfortable stay. As the weather warmed up it was so enjoyable being able to sit outside and read or dine in the evening. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything that a cook may need. The house is so convenient to the village, literally a short stroll away. Parking is on site which is a big bonus. Lovonne and Simon have put a lot of effort into ensuring their guests are comfortable. The welcome book with all the information on the house and the local area is the most informative we have ever seen in a rental property anywhere. We had a wonderful time and thoroughly recommend Maison Olive as your perfect place to stay for your Provence holiday.

Reviewed by : Monique and Duncan

New Zealand

Date of stay: 2018-12-06

Wonderful!

We had a wonderfully relaxing time at Maison Olive. The property was spotless, beautifully maintained and a perfect place for our family of 6 to recharge. The communication was exceptional which included the provision of a comprehensive folder with all the local attractions etc. We would absolutely recommend Maison Olive to others and hope to return again one day soon.

Reviewed by : Martyn

Italy

Date of stay: 2018-12-22

A beautiful property in an excellent location

Maison Olive is in the perfect location from which to explore the Luberon. The house has been set up to the highest standard and is in excellent condition, clean and well maintained. Simon's restaurant and local market recommendations were very helpful and greatly appreciated. I would highly recommend it.

Reviewed by : Jack

melbourne australia

Date of stay: 2018-08-18

maison olive-simply perfect!

Maison Olive is just perfect for a Provençal holiday.The house and surrounds are faultless .The maison is extremely well furnished and maintained ,with more than ample living space and a user friendly kitchen. Although we only used two bedrooms it can easily handle six guests.The pool and garden are wonderful, particularly on hot august days. It is only a very short walk into Menerbes ville which is a lovely town that appears to have recovered from Peter Mayle's book and has several good restaurants and a terrific quaint bar with a wonderful view. Menerbes is an excellent base for visiting other Luberon villages such as Bonnieux,,Oppede le vieux,Gault and further afield Isle sur La Sorgue to the north and Lourmarin to the south. Lovonne and Cristelle made sure our stay went without a problem. I have recommended the property to a number of friends and am looking forward to returning to resume our exploration of the many attractions of Provence.

Reviewed by : Jen

Sydney, Australia

Date of stay: 2018-04-29

Just amazing

My family and my stay at Maison Olive was just amazing. From booking through to the day we left, the process was so easy and well thought out! The house is so well equipped with everything you need for a short or long stay (I recommend looong as you won't want to leave once when you get there, trust me!). It has a lovely homely feel to it but also feels delightfully luxurious. Lovonne and Simon have provided comprehensive but easy to follow instructions and recommendations which we followed and enjoyed thoroughly. The house is located in an awesome location being slightly removed but so central to everything at the same time. This place is a little slice of heaven and I hope to come back one day!! Thank you so much Lovonne and Simon!

Reviewed by : Stuart

Cape Town

Date of stay: 2018-03-24

Exceptional in every way!

My wife and I have just checked out of Maison Olive after five wonderful days in Menerbes and the Luberon Valley. This is our second visit to the area but without a doubt our best! We instantly fell in love with Menerbes. Thanks to Simon and Lovonne we got to discover many of treasures of the village and the area - great walks, outstanding meals and lots of fun in the village markets. It was chilly for almost all of our stay but Maison Olive was warm and wonderful - beautifully decorated and complete with everything we could possibly have needed. Simon and Lovonne are the prefect hosts. There was no end to the time and trouble they went to make sure we had the best possible experience during our stay - whether it was ideas for day trips or great restaurant advice like Le Bistro 5 a short walk from Maison Olive - our best meal in France so far!

Reviewed by : Katrien

Parike, Belgium

Date of stay: 2017-07-08

Maison Olive - wonderful!

After a rainy week near Carcassonne, we were extremely delighted to arrive at Maison Olive in most picturesque Ménerbes. After a very warm welcome of 2 friendly housekeepers who had extremely profoundly cleaned the house, we very much enjoyed the hospitality and wandering round the garden of this extraordinary location. During the whole stay, we could simply not get enough of living outside in plenty sunshine and enjoying our daily brunch in the Secret Garden. Although the whole region is absolutely stunning, the swimming pool at Maison Olive and Maison Blanc with its surrounded area was equally good or even better when you look for the definition of “relaxing and enjoyable”. Our son Mathias (age 4) was particularly fond of staying at his little house in the garden which was beautifully decorated in Provencal style; moreover we were invited on a daily basis for a tea party in his little kitchen. When you look for attention to detail and preciseness, you can only note that this little kitchen is an exact copy of the perfectly well equipped kitchen in the house itself. If you look for the definition of typical Provencal, we are sure that Maison Olive will appear in the dictionary! It is clear that the owner, Lovonne cannot hide her passion for books which are presented in a nice way and brought my husband some nice ideas for some cooking in Belgium. We keep fond memories of Maison Olive and our frequent dinners at Bistro 5 looking over the hills of Ménerbes. We would absolutely recommend the location as a whole for obvious reasons but hope there would be a little space for us in the busy schedule as we’d definitely not saying ‘adieu’ but ‘goodbye’.

Reviewed by : John & Megan

South Fremantle, WA Australia

Date of stay: 2017-02-11

Exceeded all expectations

Having spent 2 weeks couped up in a small unit in the ski fields, we arrive at Maison Olive on the edge of Menerbes thinking we'd just arrived in heaven. Beautifully appointed, lots of space, better than the photo's with wine and fresh local flowers and the best local guide book compiled by Simon & Lovonne, that was our bible. Loved the well appointed kitchen with big double oven, comfy lounges, great open fire place (being winter), English speaking TV channels and great books, cd's and music collection. Short walk into the village to pick up the best croissants ever. Great central location for exploring the Luberon and southern France. We visited lots of local villages & markets all within easy reach, a day trip to Avignon & Pont du gard, lunch at Cassis on the Mediterranean coast just an hour away and visit to the French Foreign Legion Museum. The snow topped Mont Ventoux always loomed large and we had a fun day trying to get to the top (last pinch being covered in snow and closed off), lovely drive from the eastern side back down to Apt and Fontaine-de-Vaucluse. Great to have wonderful hosts, happy to share their love of the area & provide an anglo insight for those of us struggling with our schoolboy/girl & Lonely Planet French. We had my 80 y/old mum with us and the ground floor access, bedroom & bathroom were ideal while we had our own bedroom & bathroom upstairs. Hope we get to visit again, wouldn't bother looking anywhere else if we're in the region.

Reviewed by : Mariana

Stanford South Africa

Date of stay: 2016-05-07

Mariana

During the month of May all roads lead to Menherbes and in particular to Maison Olive, as far as we are concerned.We have been fortunate to visit the Maison twice already and have had the most wonderful time on both occations. Our hosts were mindful and generous when they created the perfect place for stylish living in Provence. Hope to see you soon again.

Reviewed by : Christine

Sydney, Australia

Date of stay: 2015-05-03

Ideal house and location

We can't speak highly enough of our 2 week stay at Maison Olive. The house was perfect for our family of 5, including 3 young children. And Lovonne and Simon discrete, yet very helpful, warm and enjoyable hosts to have next door. The kitchen was a delight to cook in (and very well equipped), the gardens a treasure of exciting places to explore and run around in, and the pool area was inviting and worthy of several swims while we were there (in May). We also thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful art in the house and the homely feel. Menerbes was genuinely a stroll away and a beautiful village to be close to. We also felt well located to see other places in the Luberon although wirh 3 small children and a beautiful Provencal home to enjoy, we had every reason to spend many hours playing at the house. I would definitely recommend Maison Olive to others.

Reviewed by : RS

BC, Canada

Date of stay: 2014-04-02

An amazing accomodation

We were blown away from the second we walked into the home. The house is very comfortable for two couples with an amazing patio area that has an incredible view over the valley. The home is bright and airy and the owners have recently added more beautiful outdoor space. The walk to the heart of the village is about three minutes with many lovely restaurants and all the amenities you need. The three minute walk allows for a property with privacy and incredible outdoor space while being very close to everything you need for a comfortable stay.

Reviewed by : Giselle

Sydney, Australia

Date of stay: 2014-07-15

A beautiful house in a beautiful part of the world

The house, the garden, the setting, the atmosphere - it was all perfect! Maison Olive is a beautifully appointed house, designed and fitted out in true Provencal style. The living/dining area looks out onto fabulous gardens and an outdoor dining area with stunning views across the valley. The kitchen is very well equipped and with plenty of space (and cookbooks) – great for cooking up all the delicious produce you can find at the local markets. The pool area is idyllic and private – there's even a pool bar and dining area, which we used regularly for picnic style lunches. It’s a five minute stroll into the village of Menerbes which is very picturesque and has several great restaurants. You can get all the basics here – bread, cheese, wine, the papers and good coffee at the Tabac. It's an ideal base from which to explore the Luberon Valley – the medieval hilltop villages, the markets, roman ruins, wineries etc. Owners Simon and Lovonne are very gracious and thoughtful hosts, they know the area well and their recommendations on restaurants, things to do and sightseeing tips just made the holiday that much more perfect. They have even written a book about the area with lots of useful inside information and there is a copy in the house, which we referred to regularly. To sum it up - Provence is truly a beautiful part of the world and Maison Olive the most wonderful place to stay.

Reviewed by : Suzanne

Australia

Date of stay: 2014-09-02

A wonderful home in Provence

I have just this morning arrived back in Australia. Yvonne and I took a 2 week cruise in the Mediteranean and a few more days in Nice. We loved everything about the villa. It was charming and very comfortable meeting all our needs and more. We loved the artwork and the library. We also really appreciated the work you put into the guide for us which enabled us to see places we would not otherwise have known about. We found the markets a lot of fun and loved Menerbes itself. While I have spent time in the Haute-Provence and the Alpes-Maritimes, the Vaucluse was all new for me. Thank you again for the attention to detail and creating such a delightful experience for all your guests.

Reviewed by : Giselle

Australia

Date of stay: 2014-07-16

A beautiful house in a beautiful part of the world

The house, the garden, the setting, the atmosphere - it was all perfect! Maison Olive is a beautifully appointed house, designed and fitted out in true Provencal style. The living/dining area looks out onto fabulous gardens and an outdoor dining area with stunning views across the valley. The kitchen is very well equipped and with plenty of space (and cookbooks) – great for cooking up all the delicious produce you can find at the local markets. The pool area is idyllic and private – there's even a pool bar and dining area, which we used regularly for picnic style lunches. It’s a five minute stroll into the village of Menerbes which is very picturesque and has several great restaurants. You can get all the basics here – bread, cheese, wine, the papers and good coffee at the Tabac. It's an ideal base from which to explore the Luberon Valley – the medieval hilltop villages, the markets, roman ruins, wineries etc. Owners Simon and Lovonne are very gracious and thoughtful hosts, they know the area well and their recommendations on restaurants, things to do and sightseeing tips just made the holiday that much more perfect. They have even written a book about the area with lots of useful inside information and there is a copy in the house, which we referred to regularly. To sum it up - Provence is truly a beautiful part of the world and Maison Olive the most wonderful place to stay.

Reviewed by : mark

London

Date of stay: 2013-01-06

Perfect

Perhaps a perfectly presented rental cottage that you can instantly feel is your own home in one of the most beautiful medieval villages in Provence. Access from Marseille was simple. The house was presented in perfect condition with literally everything you could wish for to hand, all with a very special quality of provence, with love. January ,you would think , not to be the most perfect time but believe me even the Mistral wind was stunning! To visit other villages and markets and return to the comfort of Maison Olive, felt that you had always been there.

Reviewed by : top italian

Chicago

Date of stay: 2012-05-18

perfect property in a perfect location

We just returned from our holiday in France, the highlight of our trip was our week stay at Maison Olive. We are fans of renting self-catering homes and apartments when traveling and owners Lovonne and Simon made the process very easy. Maison Olive is a first class rental with generous room sizes and can easily accommodate 6 guest in the 3 bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths. You can see the love the owners have for their property with the decorations and decor throughout this home. You will find every convenience, including a fabulously equipped kitchen, comfortable bedding, flat screen TV, Wi-Fi... the list is endless, just know that Lovonne has thought of everything and provided it for her guests use. The location is also perfect, the beautiful village of Menerbers is only a 10 minutes stroll away, here you'll find several restaurants and shops. When you venture out you will find many of the must-see charming hill towns of Provence within a 20/30 minute drive. I hate to sound like I'm a paid agent but this is a perfect property in a perfect location with charming and gracious hosts.

Reviewed by : Michelle

Melbourne, Australia

Date of stay: 2012-06-12

Perfection in Provence

We spent 3 wonderful weeks enjoying the delights of Maison Olive, Menerbes and the many picturesque villages nearby. The house, gardens, wonderful hosts and resident cat were even more charming than the pictures and brochures we had seen and we spent our days relaxing by the pool, eating baguettes in the beautiful gardens and sunning ourselves. We've reeboked for 2014 and can't wait to come back.

Reviewed by : Chantal

Cape Town Central, South Africa

Date of stay: 2012-09-05

Highlight of our 3 weeks in France

We spent a wonderful week at Maison Olive in September. The house was perfect in everyway. Super comfortable beds, stunning view to wake up to!! Lots of space for kids to play. Village centre 5min walk to your morning coffee and pastry or amazing dinner at La Verandah! Location perfect for exploring the area. We have tried to book for 3 weeks next year and its booked up!

Reviewed by : Armen

London

Date of stay: 2013-04-20

Everything about Maison Olive is Superb!

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable second stay at Maison Olive. Everything was superb - the decor is utterly charming and made us feel immediately as though we were in the comfort of our own home......but in the idyllic surroundings of Menerbes. The house is perfectly apppointed with stunning views and allowing for a leisurely stroll into the centre of the delightful village. All we could have wanted from our visit to Provence was encompassed by Maison Olive and I recommend it wholeheartedly.

Reviewed by : chris p

Preston, UK

Date of stay: 2013-06-22

Wish we had stayed for longer!

We trawled the internet to find a place we could make home with our parents for a week in a part of the world we adore, a place my mum,dad & mother in law hadn't been to before so we wanted to prove all the hype was justified and it was and more. Maison Olive was perfect for all of us a 2 minute walk for me and my wife in the evening and a 5 minute for all of us in the afternoon!! There is everything you need in Menerbes it is truly beautiful a real class village. The views from the house are divine and the setting is fabulous we really didn't want to come home. The kitchen was so well equipped i did more cooking than i expected in a truly provencal atmosphere. We visited so many places as the location of Maison olive is so good, the house itself was very homely and comfortable the pool and bbq area was perfect and we just wish we could have stayed for another week or 2!. Lovonne & Simon were very welcoming even helping my dad change the language on the cars computer. Thanks

Reviewed by : junter

Golden, Colorado

Date of stay: 2013-04-17

A Beautiful Corner of Paradise

Maison Olive is an elegant, quiet retreat on gorgeous grounds. We have stayed several other places in the Luberon Valley before, but after our first experience here we knew we would be back ---- and we have stayed there twice so far. There are only two of us, but the place also works well for larger groups since there are 3 lovely bedrooms. Everything in the house is beautifully appointed, from the quality of the bedding to the paintings on the walls. The kitchen is a dream, especially for those of us who like to shop the outdoor markets and then cook at home. In short, the place is heavenly!

Reviewed by : Pamela

Sydney, Australia

Date of stay: 2013-06-08

The most magnificent holiday villa

We stayed at villa Mason Olive from 8th to 15th June and from the minute we arrived, it felt like home to our travelling group of 6 people. Individually before we arrived, we had all visited the web site and had an idea of what to expect but, I have to say that the photos do not do it justice. We were blown away with the size of the villa and the comfort we found. The villa is divine and we couldn't have been happier. We revelled in roaming about the grounds and particularly the cherry tree and its bounty. I picked the village of Menerbes because of the movie "A Good Year" because it is by far my favourite movie. I know I was not to find a replica of the village in the movie, but I did find the essence of it and was not disappointed. But Menerbes is not a shadow of the movie, it is much more. We were made to feel welcome by every person we met and we found ourselves roaming through the village endlessly. We made the early morning visit to the coffee shop the start to our day and on our departure we were met with the most welcome question, "Will you be back next year" to which we would loved to be able to say, 'Yes.'. We walked around the outskirts and in and out of the streets. We drank in the views at all times of the day and eat and drank very well indeed. We found all of our experiences in France to be delightful. We were never made to feel unwelcome and we have the need to return wedged firmly in our hearts. It is the little things that make an experience and it is experiences that help to complete our worlds. Unfortunately we don't feel complete because we are wanting more. One day we may return. The villa Mason Olive is a must in everyones travel plans.