Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Gilbert

Canada

Date of stay: 2018-04-14

Magnifique

We stayed at « Menerbes One » the last 2 weeks of April 2018. Menerbes is a charming hill top little village. Besides being very nice in itself it is well located as it is near others villages and small towns like Gordes, Isle sur la Sorgue etc…We specially enjoy the calm of the village and were delighted to have good suggestions from Coralie at the Maison de la Truffe et du vin regarding our choice of wine for our different meal. The apartment offer a perfect location as it is located on the top of the village. Having lunch or dinner on the veranda is priceless given the magnificent view. The apartment is small but we never felt it as it is high and open. Mr Paolis was very nice upon our arrival and the bottle of wine he gave us was a very good start for our vacations. It s our second stay at « Menerbes one » but it wont be the last.

Reviewed by : Rich and Wendy

Brisbane, Australia

Date of stay: 2017-05-27

A wonderful week

Menerbes is a great location for exploring the Luberon, and this apartment is a comfortable haven in this beautiful town. We hired bikes and explored the surrounding area - recommend e-bikes if you are not used to hills! We liked the relaxed feel, and the sense of privacy. We spent most evenings eating dinner on the patio, or strolling down to one of several bars for a sunset drink over the vineyards. We avoided the Michelin style restaurants; rather we most enjoyed the lunchtime menu du jour at smaller restaurants in the area. One day we cycled up Mt Ventoux (we earned our meals that day), and the Fontaine de Vaucluse is an impressive phenomenon, albeit touristy. We also made it through several books during our stay - a sign of a relaxing vacation! Thanks Paolo, you have a great little place!

Reviewed by : Marianne

Kingston, Canada

Date of stay: 2017-06-03

Wonderful!

This is the perfect place to stay in the charming village of Menerbes. From the amazing views over the rooftops of Menerbes or across vineyards to the Luberon Mountain to the immaculate, beautiful house with a kitchen that has everything you might need to the well stocked library of books and DVD's with comfortable seating this house is perfect for a wonderful holiday. Our daily walks through the village with its friendly, welcoming people and drives though the surrounding countryside to visit other perched villages and their markets were all the better knowing we had the perfect place to return to.

Reviewed by : Laurie

Australia

Date of stay: 2017-10-01

Fantastic place to stay

We spent a wonderful week in Paolo's accommodation. It was perfect for a pair of middle aged well travelled Australians. Clean, tidy, fantastic views, private, with all the necessary amenities, it was a wonderful way to spend a week in a beautiful village which has not been destroyed by the tourist industry. The local restaurants were excellent, the village is quiet and full of locals. We arrived on a Sunday, and the village was shut. I would recommend that if you were coming on a Sunday you bring what you need with you food and drink wise, because there is nothing to buy in Menerbes on a Sunday! Part of the charm of this village is that you are actually living in a functioning French village, so that the locals still live the old way, shutting their shops and restaurants according to their traditions. Paolo's directions and information in the accommodation was all perfect, and the bottle of wine on arrival was appreciated. We had a Toyota which was a little bigger than the Golf that we had organised with the car hire people. I made the mistake of driving the car up to the parking space. It was stressful getting the car back out. So, bring a small car, or, make use of the plentiful parking spaces around the village and simple walk the short distance to the unit. All in all, perfect, and thoroughly recommended.

Reviewed by : Mike and Jenny

Perth, Australia

Date of stay: 2017-07-01

Highly recommended

We stayed for a week and did not want to leave. Location was perfect, accommodation was very clean and well presented. Arrangements by owner for access worked well. We loved Menerbes and the surrounding area with enough local restaurants and small shops for all our needs. Would definitely recommend and hope to return soon.

Reviewed by : Di and Ron

Sydney Australia

Date of stay: 2017-06-23

Just book it!

This is a fantastic villa. Great area and close to all the other Luberon hilltop villages. The villa is just like Home ..... but in the most beautiful part of Provence. Relax and live the dream. Sip on your rose overlooking the valley below. Walk down to the bakery each morning and get fresh croissants. Just book it! You will not regret it. Will certainly be recommending to every one who wants to experience the French life style.

Reviewed by : Ohio Cyclist

Granville, OH

Date of stay: 2017-06-10

Our Shangri La

This was our third trip to Menerbes One. We love everything about it. The living space works out perfectly. We like to cook breakfast and occasional suppers from great food we find at the local markets. And then our favorite thing of all is to dine out alfresco with the amazing views of Provence. We will be back again and again!!

Reviewed by : Marguerite

England

Date of stay: 2016-12-16

Spectacular

This property is positioned at the top of the lovely village of Menerbes, with spectacular views over the valley and Luberon hills. A great place for time away from the bustle of everyday life. The underfloor heating meant the place was always warm and the facilities were well thought out. A bottle of wine was left on the table for us when we arrived. The owner gave us very specific directions on how to find the property and was helpful throughout our stay. The streets are very narrow, so if you have a bigger vehicle you may not manage to get it right up to the house but there is alternative parking nearby. We had a wonderful week exploring the area and relaxing. The locals we all friendly and helpful, despite our limited French. Would definitely return.

Reviewed by : Peter H

Sydney, Australia

Date of stay: 2016-08-14

Couldn't have wanted for more!

We had the most delightful one week stay in this house which came after we had been hiking for several days around the Luberon. Menerbes was not only the most perfect of villages but the house itself was an ideal place from which to further explore this region of Provence. Perched high up in this hilltop village you couldn't find a more peaceful location from which to soak up the views and to raise your glass and toast your loved one as you admire the sunset each evening. There are several good restaurants all within a few minutes walk and a small but excellent grocery store as well as a bakery for that all important daily fresh bread. We had only booked a week here but by the end of our stay we really didn't want to leave. Can't recommend highly enough. Peter & Heather from Sydney, Australia.

Reviewed by : Cameron

London

Date of stay: 2016-12-11

The most quaint and beautiful vacation house!

This is one of the most charming and picturesque houses to stay, right in the heart of Menerbes. You can see gorgeous views of the Luberon from the balcony or the large bay windows (when its too cold and rainy outside), and despite our holiday being in winter, our temporary home was so warm, cosy and comfortable. Though we didn't get to meet the owner, Paolo, he was so helpful and provided detailed information regarding the property and for a small house, it was complete with everything you would ever need. We also had a lovely bottle of wine to start our holiday (thank you so much Paolo)! Make sure you visit La Veranda restaurant - they are so lovely there and the food is fabulous! We cannot recommend this house enough and we will be sure to visit again soon :-)

Reviewed by : pat

northern ireland

Date of stay: 2015-06-20

An excellent property in a very good position

We were very pleased with every aspect of this property: it is compact but well planned and has a more spacious air than you might expect from the description. Well equipped and comfortable. Location is a prime asset: well within easy walking distance of the village, but sufficiently on the edge to be private. A wonderful view over the valley from the main room and terrace. Menerbes itself is attractive: some good restaurants, some basic shops, a nice atmosphere, and good walks. Menerbes streets were not designed for cars! Hire a small car if you can. We would be very happy to make a second visit.

Reviewed by : Beverly

Ottawa, Canada

Date of stay: 2015-10-24

(The Return...)

Waking up to church bells in the morning, we had two different views from the loft bedroom: one across the roof tops towards the town square, the other across the valley to the mountains and a decision to make--which cobbled street or pathway, with their totally different views from this ridge, for the short walk to get the warm croissants and bread from the bakery. This perfectly appointed immaculate home (heated floors, washer/dryer, multitude of kitchen aids, library of DVD's WiFi, books and curl-up in comfortable seating) has been beautifully restored with respect and vision and one can only marvel at centuries old and the more recent craftsmanship reflected in masonry, iron and wood work and custom designed tiles. It was almost difficult to leave the bright open inside space and the terrace, but daily ramblings to hike, visit villages and markets with maybe thoughts of lunch at a cafe always beckoned. However, usually the decision was made to return to "our" own terrace because it really was the best place. Evenings are peaceful on this quiet cul de sac. The terrace is perfect, even on cooler evenings, for star gazing and finishing the last glass of wine from the winery down the hill, within walking distance. October 2015 was our third visit, which says it all!

Reviewed by : Nipper

Wiltshire

Date of stay: 2015-09-05

A little bit of heaven

We had the most wonderful week at Menerbes This property gave us more than everything.The accomodation was beautiful,the sunsets spectacular and the views were amazing from every window. We shopped in the village every day and found everyone so friendly and helpful it really was a wonderful stay Would highly reccomend this to anyone but most essential not to hire too large a car! Thanks Paolo

Reviewed by : caroline and oliver

devon

Date of stay: 2015-06-14

blissful week away

Our daughters bought us as a Christmas present a week's holiday at this beautiful place in the Luberon. They have achieved sainthood. This well-kempt house is an ideal place to stay, centrally located in an amazing region of the South of France. The views from the terrace are to die for, the village is quiet and cosy, the accommodation is beautifully kitted out with everything you need for a week away - cooker, washing machine, shower, everything in working order, clean, tasteful, superb. Menerbes is a quiet village in a splendid location; the cherry trees were dripping with cherries and the surrounding villages each deserved a full day's visit. Menerbes is also within striking distance from places like Arles, Aix and Marseilles. A holiday I would like to repeat. Five stars.

Reviewed by : Kathryn

United Kingdom

Date of stay: 2014-07-12

Beautiful place to stay

The house was everything we needed, everything was provided and it was in an absolutely beautiful location. The views from the house were superb. The roads in Menerbes are very narrow so book a small hire car and you'll have no problem. The directions provided were very good and we had no problem finding it. A very peaceful week in a lovely place. Weather superb too. Many thanks to Paolo!

Reviewed by : Sue

Australia

Date of stay: 2012-10-07

Romantic Hilltop Apartment

We stayed in this wonderful apartment looking over the farming land and beyond to the Luberon mountains for a week. Our stay was just so enjoyable as Paolo had ensured everything was provided. We had breakfast out on the terrace each morning and of course cocktail hour relaxing out there as well. Next time we will definitely stay more than a week as we totally enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this apartment to anyone wanting a relaxing and romantic stay.

Reviewed by : sharry

Colorado, USA

Date of stay: 2013-04-23

The perfect home for 2 in Menerbes!

Having just spent a week exploring the region of Luberon while enjoying this marvelous house perched at the top of Menerbes, we can confirm that it is the perfect home away from home for two people. The comfort, privacy and expansive views would be difficult to duplicate along with the fine appliances, comfortable bed, high speed Internet access and private parking. Of all the villages we visited in the area, and many are incredible for sure, we found ourselves anxious to return “home” to enjoy all that this house has to offer.