Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Sergiy

Ontario, Canada

Date of stay: 2019-03-22

Lovely Provençal house with character

This property really surpassed our expectations. The house is well designed, beautifully decorated, very clean and every little detail is taken care of. Thoroughly enjoyed our week in Ménerbes and Paolo's restaurant recommendations were spot on!

Reviewed by : Jenny

San Francisco, CA

Date of stay: 2018-02-19

Views to soothe a soul!

We loved our stay here. The town is very quiet at this time of the year and not much open but the peace and quiet were very restorative. The home is nicer than we imagined! The views are mesmerizing! Highly recommend!

Reviewed by : C&B

Vermont, USA

Date of stay: 2018-09-14

Home away from home....only better!!

My husband and I, along with a good friend and her daughter spent an amazing week in Menerbes at the end of September. Everything about the Provence area surpassed our expectation, including Paolo’s Beautiful property. Every detail in the design and decoration of this apartment was perfect, comfortably modern but at the same time maintaining its old world charm. We had beautiful weather and loved opening the large windows and feeling like we were part of the outdoors.....the view was better than the pictures show. I can’t imagine anyone being disappointed in this apartment. I would love to return for a longer stay in the future. The local markets offered an abundance of cheeses, meats, olives and fish and we wished we had more time to cook meals and just hang out. It really was the perfect experience!

Reviewed by : Charles

Auckland, NZ

Date of stay: 2018-06-10

House at the top of Menerbes

This must be one of the prime properties in Menerbes. It is ideal for 4 people and has all the facilities you need. It feels like a home and not a holiday let. The views are unobstructed and extremely beautiful. Everything is well set up and the owner is very helpful. His instructions for getting there and gaining access were fantastic. We spent a month there and used it as a base to explore the Luberon and beyond. We found lovely walks in the foothills of the Luberon mountain which we enjoyed in the early morning as it was too hot to walk later in the day. Walking around the town in the evening was also very pleasant. We were all very sad to leave.

Reviewed by : Catherine R

UK

Date of stay: 2018-10-26

Magical Menerbes Two and its captivating views

This was our fourth consecutive visit to Menerbes Two. It seems returning to this peaceful place has become an habitual joy. The house is well appointed in a comfortable manner and is spacious, clean and welcoming. Nestling into the hillside, it sits high above the village with an extraordinarily commanding view towards the Luberon. These views have the effect of bringing the outside in. The ever changing light across the vineyards to the wooded hillside is, quite simply, captivating. The village restaurants and cafes mean cooking can be kept to the minimum although the kitchen is an inspiration to any aspiring self-catering chef! Menerbes is well placed to tour the stunning local environs and explore the other charming hilltop villages. The lively local markets are a delight and give a great flavour of Provencial life from the evocative scent of fresh herbs and tempting cheeses to that ubiquitous lavender. Coustellet is the nearest Sunday market and has a Super U for your supermarket needs. Back in Menerbes there is an independent grocery store close at hand. The village bakeries are only a short walk to satisfy that morning croissant craving! On the way back you may catch an enticing glimpse of the distant Mont Ventoux summit. Our thanks to Paolo for all his attention to detail and thoughtful house management. Menerbes Two is a great place to relax and unwind and we just keep coming back!

Reviewed by : Eric B

Sussex, UK

Date of stay: 2018-10-15

Amazing views, wonderful location, good facilities

We had a lovely week in Menerbes at Paolo's house. The views from the house are incredible. We enjoyed watching the morning mist rolling down the valley and the evening sunsets. The autumn colours were spectacular! We'd never been to Provence off season before and found it a lot quieter and more relaxing. Menerbes was ideally positioned to see the Luberon villages. We had wonderful days in Lacoste, Bonnieux and Rousillion. A morning visit (before the crowds) to Fountain de la Vacluse was a highlight of the trip. We found plenty of local restaurants open. St Remy a short drive away was fun on Halloween night with all the local children running around collecting sweets from the shops. Paolo was very helpful during our stay and the facilities at the house were great.

Reviewed by : Cassie

Norfolk

Date of stay: 2017-09-16

Toujours Menerbes

The house is charming and very well kept, clean and comfortable. An extremely welcoming space to step into for a holiday home with heaps of character. Set into the hillside it affords magnificent views across the vineyards to the Luberon. The ever changing light affects on the mountains is a joy to behold, at any time. A walk to Oppede-le-Vieux for lunch in Le Petit Cafe was a just reward and a great way to spend the day. The medieval ruins are fun to explore with stunning views from the top. The local pottery didn't disappoint and the return walk, mostly downhill (!) was a good way to burn off the calories! We also visited local artist Pierre Giroux and were transported by the ambience of his atelier and his imagery. Menerbes is very well placed for exploring hilltop villages further afield and this time we visited Gordes where the Tuesday market was a vibrant experience. Also Lourmarin market on a Friday was excellent and we enjoyed a wander amongst the fascinating back streets in contrast to the atmosphere of the busy main street with its many cafes and restaurants. Le Bistrot 5, newly opened in Menerbes, is a great addition to the restaurant options. The terrace seating takes full advantage of breathtaking views towards Mont Ventoux. We will be back to Menerbes Two, it is just a question of when. This was our third consecutive stay ... need I say more?! Thank you again Paolo.

Reviewed by : P & L

New Zealand

Date of stay: 2017-07-08

Chill out in Menerbes

My wife and i had a glorious relaxing 2 weeks. The house is excellent with everything you could want in a very relaxed atmosphere. We don't remember a holiday where we simply relaxed as much as we did in Menerbes. The village itself is excellent with half a dozen wonderful restaurants, a couple of boulangeries and a convenience store. Not far away are numerous other villages of varying sizes and a good supermarket just a few kilometres down the road. The best measure for us is always whether or not you would return and we are already trying to work out when we can get back.

Reviewed by : Charles G

Cherry Hill, NJ, USA

Date of stay: 2016-10-11

Awesome!!

Loved our stay Paolo's house. We were two couples and the house is gorgeous and in a great location for exploring the area. I would highly recommend staying here. The property is very clean and Paolo was quick to answer questions while we were there and even left us a bottle of wine for our arrival. Spectacular!!

Reviewed by : Wendy

Queensland, Australia

Date of stay: 2016-09-07

Wonderful

My husband and I spent two glorious weeks in Paolo's beautiful house, and loved every minute. The house was itself was immaculate and well-stocked, the bed was comfortable, and the large living spaces flowed out to the little patio where we spent many happy hours drinking local wine, soaking up the setting sun and admiring the stunning view. The village is lovely, and provides a perfect base for exploring the Luberon and beyond. The local people were warm and welcoming, the restaurants were good and the weekly market was charming - much less commercialised than some of the ones we visited in the bigger surrounding towns. While we didn't meet Paolo in person it was obvious that he is a very experienced, caring host. All of his communication with us from the time of the original booking was very clear and cordial. His directions and access arrangements were meticulous and easy to follow, and he responded immediately to the couple of enquiries we made while staying in the house. We loved the house and the area, and can highly recommend both to anyone who is looking for a fabulous holiday in the south of France.

Reviewed by : M & M

Vancouver

Date of stay: 2016-09-15

Magnificent Menerbes Two

When you stay at Menerbes 2, you are in for a magnificent treat. From the moment you enter Paolo's home, you realize immediately that this is a very special place. The interior is tastefully decorated, the rooms are all spacious, and the views overlooking the valley are simply breathtaking. Every morning we bought freshly baked croissants in the village and then had our coffee and breakfast sitting out on the loggia watching and listening to the countryside below awaken. Our evenings were also special having our dinner, sometimes on the loggia, and other evenings in the dining area, each with their own special outlook. The village of Menerbes is extremely quaint and centrally located in Provence to within easy reach of other villages, towns, and visitor attractions. Make sure when you first arrive that you read Paolo's guest book and you'll be amazed at all the helpful suggestions made by other guests of places to visit and restaurants to try. It is by far the most informative guest book that we have ever seen! And the comments all echo the great time we experienced staying in Menerbes 2. Paolo, we hope to return one day soon to Magnificent Menerbes. Merci beaucoup.

Reviewed by : Bam

Vermont, USA

Date of stay: 2016-04-02

A perfect haven in a lovely village

This property is absolutely five star: comfortable, beautifully (but not fussily) decorated, with everything you could possibly want in the kitchen and so many different and inviting places to sit and write and look out the window. The view is really special, we arrived in early spring and watched the trees get their foliage. It is very quiet and very private. Better than the listing description. And the village is quite charming with enough facilities to make it possible to only shop and eat in the village. We visited many other villages and it is the nicest. Also all the people we've met in the village have been friendly and helpful. I have recommended Menerbes2 to all my friends.

Reviewed by : Cassie

East Anglia UK

Date of stay: 2015-04-25

Menerbes Two

This was Menerbes revisited for a friend's significant birthday celebration. We loved the Menerbes Two house. It had everything we had hoped for and more. It was very welcoming, spatial, comfortable and well equipped to inspire a special stay. The views from above the 'swift' flight path were a stunning feature of the position. We won't need an excuse to return to the magical Menerbes Two. Thank you very much Paolo.

Reviewed by : Elsa

Eastern N.C., USA

Date of stay: 2015-09-05

Perfect!

Menerbes Two is an ideal pied a terre for exploring the hill towns of Provence! The descriptions and photos were perfectly accurate, though we found the accommodations to be even better than we expected. The views from the apartment are stunning, and it was tempting to linger right there, rather than explore the countryside. Pablo's recommendations/directions helped us shape a tranquil week, balancing sightseeing with incredible meals. From the wonderful boulangerie down the street, to fruit stands along the road, to my favorite meal of local hiors d'oeuvres at the Auberge de la Loupe in Buoux, we ate well! On top of everything else, the weather was perfect. We highly recommend this charming apartment of two bedrooms and two baths.

Reviewed by : Nic

London

Date of stay: 2015-04-02

Idyllic home from home in Menerbes

This is a very special place to stay - in the centre of the village in historic and beautiful Menerbes yet blissfully quiet. It has spectacular views and is very well equipped and comfortable - the sunsets are extraordinary from the terrace with a glass of rose. Menerbes is a great location for seeing all the main sites of Luberon Thoroughly recommended

Reviewed by : Jay

northern California

Date of stay: 2014-03-16

Even better than the photos

This place was perfect. Roomy and elegant, the house faces south which is ideal for evening drinks at sunset on the balcony and breakfast overlooking Luberon mountain. Location is great as it is within easy driving distance to Luberon hikes, hikes to the east of Apt, and good restaurants. Best restaurant is Le Jardin Du Quai in L'isle-sur-la sorge --to die for! Owner Paolo was fantastic. Loved every minute.

Reviewed by : Bev

Sun City West, AZ

Date of stay: 2012-08-21

An Awesome Experience

We have stayed here twice!! Each time it has been a special experience!! Everything is so inviting. The linens are so nice and make you feel very special. This is a place I would always like to return if there were not so may other parts of the world!!

Reviewed by : The Rosengrens

Barrington, Rhode Island

Date of stay: 2013-03-23

Magical Menerbes

Better than advertised. This property enchants and quickly takes you in as it's own. Our week was made more enjoyable by the house becoming our cherished retreat. Mornings were happy and bright, with fresh baguettes. And after days of site-seeing, evenings were a peaceful repast of wine and other market goodies by the fire, then dinner and toasts to our good fortune. Paolo knows what he is doing. Every necessity is tended to thoroughly. It's the good life.

Reviewed by : KVANK

Boston, MA

Date of stay: 2013-04-13

I certainly recommend this for anyone going to Southern France

We have just returned from a week which was spent at this lovely home in Menerbes. The owner was very complete with the instructions and kind in rules of the house, as well thoughful enough to include information on surrounding places of interest. There is a 'memory' book on the coffee table which invites renters to write their experiences and share favorite things to do, restaurants, etc. which was helpful, too. The first 'review' dates from well over a decade ago, filling three books, and I did not find one negative comment written there about either the house or the area. The views from every window are breathtaking. It is ideally and centrally located both in the village and in the area and many the other small towns are within easy driving or cycling distance. The house is beautiful, as many have said, but I was particularly impressed with the first class appliances and the attention to detail that was taken with the construction and the decoration. I was particularly impressed with the windows! I have never seen the like of them and admired the quality and ease of use. The construction is such as to eliminate any noise from the outside or from other rooms.

Reviewed by : karen

Pennsylvania

Date of stay: 2013-04-20

Perfection at the top of Menerbes!

‘Menerbes Two’ is a spacious home at the very top of Menerbes, although you might be surprised from the outside. The street is narrow & we had to fold in our mirrors to pass through at one part (rent a small, economy or compact if you want to drive around hill towns-many tight squeezes up there!),& the front door is a bit short so that we had to duck our heads to enter. These weren't disadvantages, however, but part of the charm of living high up in a medieval hill town! If you drive up to the door, be prepared to turn around in a tight space to get back out. We weren’t brave enough to back out. We received a code to a lock to access the front door key - no problem there – just remember to take that number with you! Once you enter, the ceilings throughout are a normal height and everything looks exactly as pictured on the website – absolutely beautiful, perfect condition, spotlessly clean and all very comfortable…beds, couches, chairs. We appreciated the bottle of wine left for us (merci Paolo!) The kitchen has everything you need; the bathrooms are modern, each with a hairdryer. Every room on the main floor has at least 1 window overlooking the spectacular view. We sat outside on the little porch in the evenings with our wine & watched the sunsets – so relaxing. The downstairs level has a bedroom, full bath and laundry room, but no views. It was, however, more private, and since you are only sleeping there and since it is pitch black outside at night anyway, it was very acceptable to be down there. (And it was very comfortable as well.) There is a back door (normal height) which opens onto a walk behind the buildings, but we stuck to the front door for the most part. Parking - no problem, at least in April. No parking right at the house, but the owner sent us a map of nearby parking areas. You walk up a bit of a hill to the house after parking, but when we had a lot to carry, we drove up to the door and then parked. It was a 5 minute walk to a bakery (where the croissants were breadlike, not flaky),a small food store near the post office (they had the typical delicious buttery flaky croissants, plain & chocolate, but get there early, especially on Mondays when the bakery is closed - they run out fast!), pharmacy,a few shops & restaurants. They are all downhill from there & the walk back isn’t bad. The owner always responded to emails & calls immediately so we never felt ignored or abandoned. Excellent service! I can’t recommend this beautiful home enough!

Reviewed by : PSG

Santiago, Chile

Date of stay: 2013-12-10

Lovely holiday in a beautiful house

We had a lovely holiday in this beautiful house. We loved all the villages and the Falaise de Lioux walk was fabulous. Also Sunday lunch in the Auberge de la Loube was a real treat.