Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : AnneB

United Kingdom

Date of stay: 2018-07-14

Beautiful Gordes Villa

We had a wonderful stay in Gordes at this well-appointed villa. Everything is exactly as advertised and the layout and amenities suited our family. The kitchen was well equipped and had everything you could need to self-cater if you choose to cook at home. On arrival, we were pleased to find Richard had left a small selection of supplies including wine, in the fridge which was very kind of him and which we greatly appreciated. The pool area and terrace were wonderful, and the view across the landscape from the terrace was stunning. The whole house was spotlessly clean and well stocked with towels. For anyone staying longer than a week the washing machine would be very useful. There was covered parking and a BBQ which we made good use of. The location on the edge of the village ( reached by going straight through the centre of the village and downhill) was very convenient. Our one caveat is that if walking into the village the hill was quite steep and required a reasonable amount of fitness, ours improved as our stay went on! If going into the village by car, the residents parking permit loaned to us by the house owner allowed us to park right in the centre of the village near the convenience store. This shop was very well stocked and the owners very friendly, there is a large supermarket a few KM away which has a great selection of foods for the BBQ and all the other necessities one could need. There are several good restaurants in the centre of Gordes, although we were surprised by the number of Italian restaurants! We tried out quite a few of the restaurants and enjoyed them all. We also visited many of the surrounding villages and ate there at lunchtime when we were out and about. We found that there were many places of interest within a reasonable driving distance, we particularly enjoyed Fountain De Vaucluse, Menerbes (of Peter Mayle fame) where we had a great (if expensive) meal at the Bistro as you arrive into the town, and Lourmarin which was very picturesque. Our thanks must go to Richard and his mother for their fantastic hospitality and their friendliness to us all. They were on hand if we needed anything but respected our privacy at all other times. I must also say that Richard was very responsive to all my queries prior to arrival and very sympathetic to a medical issue which almost prevented us from staying at the villa. Thankfully, we managed to get the problem resolved and were able to enjoy our holiday. Due to the medical issue, we had to alter our travel plans and use the Eurostar rather than fly. We found this to be a great mode of transport and our arrival in Avignon meant that we had a short drive to the villa rather than the much longer one that we would have had from Nice airport. To sum up, we would have no hesitation in recommending this villa for anyone wanting to holiday in the very pretty village of Gordes, and we could easily have stayed another week. Enjoy!

Reviewed by : BS

Warwickshire

Date of stay: 2018-06-16

Wonderful holiday

The property was everything it said it would be, clean, comfortable and tranquil. The owner was extremely helpful and we definitely plan to come back again. The villages of the Luberon are very pretty and the markets are well worth exploring.

Reviewed by : Ollie R

London

Date of stay: 2018-08-04

Splendid tranquility

This is the second time we stayed in this villa. Right from the warm welcome from Richard and Milly, we had a wonderful, relaxing time in this superb villa. Relaxing by (or in) the pool, the views are magnificent. The house itself is clean and very well appointed, Richard is on hand to assist with any questions, but otherwise he remains unobtrusive. Gordes is just up the road, a wonderful village to admire and explore. We had a wonderful time. * Highly recommended *

Reviewed by : StAlbans

Boston, USA

Date of stay: 2018-06-23

Perfect villa

My family and I absolutely adored our time at Villa Gordes. The view is stunning, the pool was lovely, and the accommodations were first-rate. Booking the villa was straightforward and the owner was quick to respond to all queries. The directions were accurate and we had no problem finding the house on arrival. Richard was very welcoming and available for any questions we had during our two-week stay. The kitchen was very clean and well stocked, including a nice selection of drinks and snacks form the owner. There was a brand new, outdoor gas grill that we used on several occasions, as well. The walk into Gordes is comfortable, perhaps 8-10 minutes. The patio area around the pool is nicely shaded, with a perfect view of the surrounding countryside. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by : A & L Cambridge

UK

Date of stay: 2018-08-18

Highly recommended

We rented this house for 2 weeks in August and couldn’t fault it. Very helpful hosts, a very clean, comfortable, well-equipped and provisioned place, great pool and set in a wonderful peaceful location with magnificent views towards the Luberon mountains. Also close to Gordes and other villages with good restaurants and shops plenty. One of the best rentals we have ever stayed in. Definitely worth a return.

Reviewed by : michael

United Kingdom

Date of stay: 2018-07-21

a perfect location

we spent two delightful weeks here in the summer of 2018 with our ‘grown up’ family (four adults stayed for the duration and two more joined us for a few days) and we had an excellent holiday… Richard could not have more welcoming and helpful (while remaining the sole of discretion)… the accommodation is lovely, the pool superb (with plenty of shade for those who seek it)… and the elevated terrace offers the quintessential Luberon view which lingers long in the memory… a beautiful and tranquil spot… and with Gordes a short stroll (uphill) away and plenty of good restaurants in the vicinty… all in all, Villa Gordes represents great value for money and could not have been better suited to our aspirations as a base for the perfect Luberon experience… we have already booked for three weeks in the summer of 2019!

Reviewed by : Khacker

U.K

Date of stay: 2018-05-26

Superb villa and location

This was our first holiday abroad with our girls age 10 and 6 and it certainly lived up to expectations. The location is amazing with many beautiful villages to visit. The Villa was spacious and well equipped as well as being very clean and tidy. The host had purchased a new BBQ so we used this on a few evenings and just soaked up the stunning views. The pool was just perfect to cool off. Richard the host was available next door if we ever had any questions or needed any help with anything. They were very hospitable and made us feel most welcome. We hope to come back one day!

Reviewed by : BGPLondon

London

Date of stay: 2017-07-08

Highly recommended

We took this house for a week and were enchanted. Very charming hosts; lovely accommodation; superb pool and magnificent view. A lived-in house with much art, artefacts and great charm. A library full of interesting books and music. A well equipped kitchen (we have written to our hosts with a couple of suggestions for improving amenities). Comfy sofas and a big tv, a good sound system and excellent wifi in every room. Great beds. Mosquito nets on all upper windows (I did not get a single bite all week which for me is a very happy first) and efficient aircon in the living room and bedrooms. A brand new bathtub in the master room. Plenty of wardrobe space. Six sunloungers, plenty of shade under the tree and umbrella. Very very peaceful - although it was quite hard to find, so ask for extra directions other than those on the joining instructions. Surrounded by olive trees, vineyards and all the pleasures of the Golden Triangle that is this bit of the Luberon. But the view is what you'll remember and hanker after, as we are now doing.

Reviewed by : Alla

New York , NY , USA

Date of stay: 2016-10-01

Great place

We are 2 couples spending 6 days in the villa. Great location, great view. Very clean, has all amenities and swimming pool. The best for two couples with or without children. Very reasonable price, highly recommend.

Reviewed by : Simon, Laura and Ava

London

Date of stay: 2015-07-05

Tranquility in the Luberon

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Gordes during our summer holidays last year. The Villa sits in a fantastic location on the hillside with magnificent views of the valley and up to the town of Gordes. A perfect launch pad for exploring the region. One of our lasting memories was watching hot air balloons sail across the Luberon whilst we had an early breakfast on a crisp, sunny and quiet morning. Richard was particularly helpful with providing driving directions to the villa and provided a warm welcome to us when we arrived. We will definitely be returning and look forward to booking in again in the future.

Reviewed by : ksquared

Villa Gordes

Date of stay: 2016-05-21

An idyllic spot

The photos don't do this lovely villa justice and the kitchen is much better equipped than appears in the photo. We were able to cook quite elaborate meals when we weren't tempted by the local restaurants. There is a lovely dining room if you decide to eat indoors and very comfy sofas in the big lounge for relaxing. We were met by Richard who had thoughtfully filled the fridge with an array of lovely drinks and gave us an enormous basket of freshly picked cherries. The view from the patio and pool is just stunning. The weather was warm, not hot (end May) but we did use the pool even though it was a little chilly. However Richard said it will be heated next year. It's the perfect location - a ten-minute stroll up the road into Gordes to one of the boulangeries for breakfast. From the villa there are numerous trips from ten minutes to farther afield be it to other beautiful hill-top villages, the cities of Aix, Avignon, Arles etc or up into the mountains or even the sea. We were a party of six (my husband and I, our two grown-up children and their partners). Two of the bedrooms had ensuites (the master bedroom and bathroom was particularly nice although without a loo) so we grabbed that and there was a loo and basin just adjacent. Our daughter and partner had to use our shower but it was not a problem for us. Everything was meticulously clean and Richard was in the next door villa for any queries, but otherwise left us to it. We really didn't want to leave and if given the chance would definitely return.

Reviewed by : Katesquared

Villa Gordes

Date of stay: 2016-05-21

The perfect villa in the perfect spot!

This is a beautiful villa overlooking the Luberon hills. The villa is very tastefully furnished and well-equipped. There is even an exercise bike! If you can drag yourself away from the lovely pool then there are numerous gorgeous little villages to visit within a few minute's drive and the cities of Aix-en-Provence and Avignon are under an hour's drive away. It's walking distance to the nearest boulangerie and the town itself has a lot to offer. The owner could not have been more helpful and when we arrived there were some very useful things in the fridge and a huge bowl of freshly picked cherries! We were a party of three couples and it was a perfect size for us.

Reviewed by : Pat L.

Cincinnati, Ohio USA

Date of stay: 2015-04-04

Family get away in beautiful Gordes

The house was very clean, well appointed and within a short walk of the town of Gordes. The owner was responsive to any questions that we had and made sure we had something in the kitchen to eat upon our arrival which was much appreciated since we had been traveling all day. The close proximity to the boulangerie meant that we had fresh baked goods every morning at breakfast. The house is in a nice location to tour the nearby villages and we were easily able to make 1-2 hour trips to major cities such as Aix-n-Provence and Avignon. The pool was lovely although our weather was not warm enough for swimming. There was plenty of room for our family which included two adult couples and one young adult. We would especially recommend a trip to nearby Rousillion and L'Isle-surla-Sorgue. We would recommend this house to anyone who wants a house in the country with beautiful views within walking distance to village ameneties such as bakeries and restaurants.

Reviewed by : Bill Baker

Adelaide Australia

Date of stay: 2015-06-20

Wonderful accommodation on the outskirts of Gordes

My wife and I stayed at Villa Gordes in June 2015, and had an excellent week there. The listing description was perfectly accurate, the owner Richard was there to meet us when we arrived and gave us a guided tour, organised internet connection etc., and was vey helpful without being intrusive. He and his mother live in an adjourning house, but it was quite separate, and in no way were we aware of their presence, other than if we specifically asked for something. The villa itself is very spacious, lovely pool area with a beautiful view over the valley, and very quiet, the house is a good 200 metres back from the road. Everything was clean and in good order when we arrived, there are 2 upstairs bedrooms and one downstairs, all the rooms are a good size, and I would recommend the property to a family, to 2 couples, or as was our case, just 1 couple. It is about an 800 metre walk up to Gordes, it is uphill but should not be an issue to anyone with basic fitness, (I walked up to the village bakery each morning for breakfast bread), and if one is not comfortable doing that, you can drive up and there are carparks on the road into the village within about 100 metres of the village centre. There is a lot to do in the area, lots of good restaurants in Gordes and the surrounding villages, Gordes and surrounding villages have markets on different days, we visited the famous Roman aqueduct near Avignon; we had a great time. We had an early morning departure because of flight timetables, but Richard was there to finalise security deposit repayments etc. when he said he would be, and all in all, the whole stay went very smoothly and with no issues.

Reviewed by : a williams

oxford uk

Date of stay: 2015-08-01

Villa Gordes - A magical property and wonderful welcome

Our family had a wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable stay at Villa Gordes, Richard made us feel very welcome and explained all about the villa, the village and the surrounding areas to visit during our stay. The weather was excellent, the villa very well equipped and spotless, we all had a fabulous time and found it difficult to leave as we'd love to have stayed longer. Gordes is a beautiful village with a weekly market and plenty of shops to browse through during your stay. The views from the villa are stunning and our daughters enjoyed exploring the olive groves and fig trees surrounding the villa while sketching and painting the views in their diaries for posterity. We would recommend a stay at Villa Gordes to anyone, and have already suggested it to friends upon our return to the UK.

Reviewed by : bootleg

UK

Date of stay: 2013-09-14

Excellent property

After long research, and very helpful and patient responses to our enquiries from Richard, we chose Villa Gordes for the second week of our Provence trip. Proved to be an excellent decision! Easy to find, great location and views, well equipped, comfortable and very clean property. Gordes is Gordes!!! Can't say more. Also a great base for trips by car (so much within 20-30 mins drive), walking into Gordes for our daily shop, longer walks from the villa (Abbaye de Senanque), or just hanging out by the pool. Richard was very helpful and discreet. Would definitely recommend to friends and hope to return ourselves.

Reviewed by : David

England

Date of stay: 2013-06-08

Villa gordes

accommodation was clean and the owner was very welcoming and helpful and flexible. everything as described and close enough to the village to be able to walk there in the evening for dinner or lunch (we also walked to the local baker for fresh breakfast food every day - there are two and both very good). the village has a small supermarket, if needed. a good base for exploring the nearby area and the house is in a quiet location. would recommend to friends and would return next time we visit the wonderful Provence region

Reviewed by : ParisKate

Paris, France

Date of stay: 2013-08-17

Halcyon Days

This was our third (fourth?) stay at Villa Gordes, a wonderful home in a perfect setting. We take our morning hikes of one to four hours ( straight from the house, then enjoy a car excursion or reading, swimming, or just looking out over view of gold, green and misty fields and hills. The owners are superb, friendly and accommodating. The kitchen is well-outfitted, the beds are terrific, and the walk up to the bakery in Gordes bakery morning is well-rewarded with crusty bread and flaky sacristans. We simply love it.