Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Jeff...

Omaha, NE

Date of stay: 2019-09-05

ABSOLUTELY A+ #1 SUPERB BRAVISSIMO, BEST LOCATION

Do not hesitate to book La Villa Rouge. Best location right in Roussillon... walk/or even crawl anywhere in the village. Stayed here for 5 days. Excellent basecamp for anywhere in Provence. Every hilltop village in the Luberon is just a beautiful brief drive away. The accommodations were perfect and Marion is a gracious and highly communicative host. While you may have many options in the Luberon you only have one choice. La Villa Rouge is it!

Reviewed by : Vicky

Cheltenham, UK

Date of stay: 2018-10-24

Breath taking

Holidays are the things that dreams are made of, and to be sure staying for a week in La Villa Rouge was just like living on a film set of A Year in Provence. The ambiance created by the owners in this wonderful setting was truly breath taking. As a family, of three generations, we had a great week: from eating outdoors (even though it was late October) and marvelling at the view to Mount Ventoux, to cosying up in front of a log fire watching a film. The fact that you can stroll to a restaurant from the top terrace into the very centre of Roussillon in under five minutes, is a huge bonus, and needless to say we did that more than once. Given that I have been running a property management network in France since 2002, you can take it from me that this is a five star holiday destination for certain.

Reviewed by : Tracy

Stockholm

Date of stay: 2018-07-01

Exceptional villa, location and host for a true Provençal experience

Lovely historic villa updated in all the right places. Charming, well suited for our 3 couples. Beautiful views, patio, pool made our alfresco dining a highlight. Kitchen well stocked w basic ingredients and cooking equipment. Beds and linens top notch. Well appointed furnishings. Plenty of space to stretch out, read, even do yoga on the covered pool deck- what a glorious way to begin a day! Villa Rouge is ideally located in Roussillon. Stunning views, convenient to shops, cafes, bakery, butcher,etc. This is the most authentic hilltop village as folks still live here. Tourists arrive after 10 and leave by 4/5pm so plenty of time to enjoy the charm and quiet beauty of the village . Excellent boulangerie (esp their pastries and pizza), Chez David is 4* and Cafe Couleurs tasty and well priced. Easy access to other Luberon villages and their markets . Roussillon market on Thursday is great. Marion is the best hostess: timely & thoughtful replies, suggestions, willing to make everything perfect for our family holiday. I strongly recommend Villa Rouge for couples or families looking for an authentic, convenient and lovely, comfortable holiday in a charming, beautiful home of Provence. Our family would gladly return!

Reviewed by : meg h

Seattle, WA

Date of stay: 2018-06-16

Fabulous

This was our second visit to Villa Rouge. We shared the house with two couples who enjoyed it as much as we did. Plenty of space for privacy as well as shared space to gather and have fun. Loved the location close to restaurants and everything that the village has to offer. Hope to return one day

Reviewed by : Carolyn

Toronto, Canada

Date of stay: 2018-05-20

Wonderful big villa in central location.

Very well equipped kitchen and comfortable amazing large rooms tastefully furnished with an amazing view from many aspects - terrace and dip pool very welcome on hot days

Reviewed by : Beckmann

Houston, TX

Date of stay: 2017-03-11

Wonderful Week at La Villa Rouge Roussillon

Our family of 5 spent a week at La Villa Roussillon in March and it was simply perfect! The house was spacious and the layout was great giving everyone their own space. The location was in the center of the village allowing us to easily stroll around town and not have to worry about taking a car to dinner. It was definitely a perk though having a garage to park the car in so we could easily pop around the area and not have to walk to a car park or worry about finding a place to park when we returned. We also loved the convenience of having a washer and dryer. I don't hesitate at all in providing 5 stars as the property was perfectly maintained and the owner was always responsive and attentive!

Reviewed by : David

UK

Date of stay: 2016-04-01

A perfect stay

We are now home again after our stay at La Villa Rouge. We’ve all had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Villa, the location is perfect with great views and such good access to all of the village amenities - particularly liked going to the Boulangerie early every morning for our supplies of bread. We liked the characterful and spacious rooms and the magnificent and unusual dining table. We really appreciated the efficient and cosy heating system, the wi-fi network and the Sonos music system which I could use with my Sonos app. Jean Raphael was most helpful and very prompt to assist when we had a minor hitch with the boiler when it was refusing to stay on one day - this was quickly resolved and did not detract from our enjoyment of the house. Thank you for providing such an excellent facility, we will have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone and we hope to return some time on a future visit to the area.

Reviewed by : Erica

New Hampshire

Date of stay: 2014-05-05

Exceeded our expectations

Villa Rouge exceeded all of my very high expectations. The house is absolutely beautiful and also very comfortable. Sandra made sure we had everything we needed, including a crib, high chair and even toys for our young children. The location of the Villa cannot be beat - it is in the heart of beautiful Roussillon (steps from restaurants, shops, bakery) and the view from the terrace was spectacular. I can't speak highly enough about it - we would love to return one day!

Reviewed by : Cheney

California

Date of stay: 2013-04-10

Your review title

Attention to detail just about says it all about La Maison Ocre! When we opened the front door, it was obvious that we were in heaven. Everything about this unique spot was fabulous, the views from the patio of the Luberon Valley and Mont Ventoux were spectacular.....especially in April when everything was bursting into bloom! Our hosts were warm and welcoming, the accommodations were more than comfortable. We hate to share this secret! Roussillon is a bustling village during the daytime, but evenings on the patio were peaceful and serene, and very central to the "Provence Experience"! We can't wait to return!

Reviewed by : Luc

Paris

Date of stay: 2013-07-02

A spacious and cosy house

La Villa Rouge is really lovely. A big warm house, bright, comfortable, and cosy. We spent beautiful moments with family and friends, and now we have precious memories. The house is very well located in the heart of the village and its shops, while offering a pleasant pool and terraces for outdoor living. Amazing views. The owners are charming and efficient. Recommended? Absolutely.

Reviewed by : SallyO

California

Date of stay: 2013-07-29

The house has a great location

One of the greatest delight of my visit to Provence was my stay at Villa Rouge. I did a lot of research on the internet before picking Villa Rouge. The couple who was with us still commends me on my selection. The house has a great location. It is centrally located and close to all kinds of shops and restaurants. The view from the terrace is fantastic. You can see the whole village. The rooms are spacious including the kitchen and the living room. The kitchen was furnished with all the necessities. The swimming pool was convenient though we never used it. Last, but not the least, the best thing about the Villa was its young owners. They were most friendly and always available to help us. We enjoyed talking to them. In short I give Villa Rouge the highest mark and hope to go back there sometime soon.

Reviewed by : RP

Washington DC

Date of stay: 2013-09-12

La Villa Rouge was magnifique

Four months ago today we returned home to the United States from our early autumn journey to La Villa Rouge in Roussillon, and we still miss it every single day. As one web site said, La Villa Rouge is a slice of Provencal heaven on earth, and we cannot say enough good things about this beautiful home, its gorgeous setting, and its lovely owner-host Sandra. Six of us (three couples) arrived in Nice from three different US airports to begin our Provence adventure together. We rented a van and made the relatively easy drive to the Luberon region, making a stop at a well-stocked grocery store in Cavaillon, as Sandra had suggested we do. (She was excellent about responding to all our queries prior to our trip and providing us with helpful information both before and throughout our visit.) With provisions in hand (including many local wines, cheeses and other essentials), we continued our drive through picturesque countryside to the village of Roussillon and the charming La Villa Rouge. Our friends had done a great deal of research to find the ideal place for our Provence dream vacation. All agreed that Roussillon--with its stunning ochre cliffs, hilltop setting, and convenient location for day outings--would be ideal for us. Searching the internet for accommodations, we came upon La Villa Rouge, which seemed to fit our criteria: three bedrooms, three baths, beautiful views, and plenty of living space—indoors and outdoors. As pretty and inviting as the internet photographs were, La Villa Rouge “in person” exceeded our expectations. As soon as we arrived, Sandra met us with a warm smile at the foot of the pathway leading to her villa. She gave us the grand tour of La Villa Rouge, graciously answering our many questions in excellent English and making us feel truly welcome. The bedrooms are lovely and the villa impeccably maintained. The kitchen is the heart of the home. We spent cheerful breakfast times around the handsome wooden table. Our “happy hours” (featuring wonderful regional wines and other local treats) and after-dinner gatherings were held in the lovely outdoor living space (gardens, dining area and separate sitting area), all overlooking breathtaking views of the Luberon. La Villa Rouge is ideally located within short walking distance of Roussillon’s charming town square. Every morning, we could walk into town for fresh baguettes, baked goods, and breakfast meats. In our limited French…La Villa Rouge was magnifique!