Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Janice B.

LA, California

Date of stay: 2018-09-12

Awesome! Your home became “our” home in the South of France

We stayed with another couple. Your house was perfect and had everything we needed, you have decorated it beautifully (and so “very FRENCH!” Parking was easy! The town was well located for our day trips. Each day we ate breakfast on the terrace and at nite we had wine on the terrace. Sunsets were beautiful. We could send a lifetime here. Thank you Marion for making this trip so easy and exciting. We have all enjoyed it!

Reviewed by : patrick m.

Garden City, NY, USA

Date of stay: 2018-06-07

Great house in a beautiful village

We loved everything about this house. Everything was as described and it's right in the heart of Roussillon. Nicely furnished and maintained. We could not have been happier.

Reviewed by : Lesley K

United Kingdom

Date of stay: 2018-05-17

The balcony made our holiday!

Great accommodation in a great location. The balcony is special and we enjoyed soaking up the wonderful views throughout the day and stargazing at night . We absolutely loved our 5 day stay.

Reviewed by : CW

London

Date of stay: 2017-07-14

A great property in a great location: highly recommended

We’ve rented plenty of holiday properties over the years – and Maison Ocre proved to be one of the best. It’s a lovely spot, just a stone’s throw from the village square (tourist-heavy by day, much more local in the evening). The location is very quiet, but the baker, the butcher and the small supermarket are just a short stroll away. Half a dozen cafes and restaurants are virtually on the doorstep. The large terrace comes with a great view, plenty of seating and a big table for shady/under-cover al-fresco dining. The interior of the house is full of style and character, well-furnished and very well-equipped: it looks and feels like a fairly chic home, not a holiday-let. It was all impressively clean when we checked in – and Jean-Raphael & Camille, who look after the property for the owners, were friendly, helpful and easy-to-contact. There was a serious heatwave during our stay, so (despite the fans provided) the upstairs living area did get pretty warm. As a result, we made full use of the terrace – while the thick-walled downstairs master-bedroom always stayed cool, so sleeping was never a problem. The free access to a parking area reserved for residents is an extra bonus: Roussillon is an excellent base for the region, so you’re bound to be making use of your car. As you’d expect in an old hilltop village, getting your baggage to the house on first arrival can be a bit of a hassle and quite hard work unless you’re travelling light – but it’s absolutely worth the effort: this is a great place to stay.

Reviewed by : linda h

UK

Date of stay: 2017-07-15

I would highly recommend this property!

This home has it all: prime location in a picturesque village, unobstructed views from the terrace, steps to restaurants and shops, and all the amenties necessary for an enjoyable stay. We had spent 3 previous visits at this home before the recent renovation and have found the transformation very well done. We would not hesitate to return!

Reviewed by : Happyfamily

Northern California

Date of stay: 2017-07-02

Great Vacation Perfect Location in the Heart of Roussillon

We stayed for a week and had a great time. The house is in the center of the village just steps from all the wonderful restaurants, cafés and shops. The house is perfectly proportioned with a nice kitchen open to the living room. Just off the kitchen is a large deck with patio furniture that features a panoramic view of the entire valley. The house has three nice bedrooms and multiple bathrooms. From this location, it is easy to travel through the valley to the other quaint villages, a short drive to visit Avignon which was wonderful and we walked to the Oche hike in town to marvel at the wonderful colors. We especially liked the lavender fields and our tour of the distillery. This is a must do for everyone.

Reviewed by : BS

Mexico

Date of stay: 2017-08-30

Superb location with amazing views!

Classic Provence bungalow with lots of room for our adult family of 4, perfectly maintained and very well equipped. The large partially covered terrace provided mesmerizing views through-out the day and Marion was always accessible to help coordinate arrival. The location in the village could not have been better. A perfect spot to anchor yourself for either multiple day trips throughout the country-side or just simply relax and wander through the village of Rousillon. Overall a true 5-star experience and highly recommendable!

Reviewed by : Celeste

NYC, NY

Date of stay: 2017-08-02

A little ochre jewel!

We did know from books that Roussillon was a little ochre jewel, but never in our wildest dreams did we ever dare think that our stay would be so enjoyable!!! Of all the towns we visited this one was the prettiest, the most well kept and the coziest. The gem amidst the jewel is La Maison Ocre. It is beautifully decorated and well appointed. The views from the bedrooms is unbeatable.... and breakfast in the terrace was so enjoyable, especially with croissants, pain au chocolat and fresh baguettes available a short walking distance! The beds are comfortable, with wonderful quality linens and pillows. The modern bathrooms make an interesting counterpoint with the rustic, white walls. The towels are luxurious! The terrace has a wonderful view and the house is exceptionally well located, just a few meters from the center of the village, but still quiet. The house is on a pedestrian road, so there are no sounds of cars at all! Also appreciated was the free parking, which in the Provence seems to be a commodity! Thank you, Marion, for our memorable vacation lodging!! All through the trip we realized we were so luck to choose Roussillon and in particular La Maison Ocre as our base to visit Provence !!

Reviewed by : Nancy

La Maison Ocre

Date of stay: 2015-08-29

Everything was Perfect

I booked this house because of its fabulous terrace; we were 2 couples on a weeklong stay and spent most evenings with the choice goodies we purchased from local markets in Isle Sur La Sorgue, Apt, Vaison La Romaine for dinner - warm, perfumed air evenings, a super full moon while we were there, lovely view of the whole valley and Mt Ventoux; we sipped cold local rose, supped on truffle cheese, banon cheese,& others, olives, saucisson, peaches, grapes, a couple of crunchy baguettes, and a treat picked out from the patisserie. What a magnificent way to end a full and fruitful day exploring the area - La Camargue, kayaking on the River Sorgue, hiking between Bonnieux and Lacoste, wandering along the oh so very colorful Ocre Trail leaving right from the Plaza in Roussillon. Location was the best, steps away from shops, the boulangerie, restaurants, but private and peaceful. The house was very well stocked, kitchen with everything you might need to cook, eat and drink and wash dishes. We had worried that we would get ocre red all over the wonderfully comfortable white living room furniture, but we need not have worried. I hope to be able to return soon and will absolutely recommend it to others. We had 3 bedrooms for 2 couples but there is plenty of room for 3 couples, though if you are 3 couples I think you would like the option of having the pool that is at La Villa Rouge; we would have liked a dip in the afternoons before dinner. Thanks again, Marion

Reviewed by : Annie

Paris

Date of stay: 2014-04-12

5 stars

We had a wonderful time in the Ocre House. The house is ideal: it is spacious, very well-appointed and equipped with everything you may need (kitchen utensils, dishwasher, washing machine, washing powder, etc.) The terrace offers spectacuar views of the Luberon. What we liked most about the house was the perfect combination it offered of excellent location and comfort. Rousillon is a charming village and a good base from where to explore the Luberon. We spent a full week there and if we ever consider returning to this area of Provence, we will have no doubts about contacting Sandra again and asking her to book the house for us. Sandra was welcoming and helpful with everything we required. Our rate of the Ocre House is 5 over 5, as we think it is perfect for everyone with good taste and with the wish to discover the area.

Reviewed by : Holly

Grand Manan Island, NB, Canada

Date of stay: 2013-04-11

Les Girls

Attention to detail just about says it all about La Maison Ocre! When we opened the front door, it was obvious that we were in heaven. Everything about this unique spot was fabulous, the views from the patio of the Luberon Valley and Mont Ventoux were spectacular.....especially in April when everything was bursting into bloom! Our hosts were warm and welcoming, the accommodations were more than comfortable. We hate to share this secret! Roussillon is a bustling village during the daytime, but evenings on the patio were peaceful and serene, and very central to the "Provence Experience"! We can't wait to return!

Reviewed by : Vic

London

Date of stay: 2013-10-13

It was absolutely beautiful

We did want to tell you how much we enjoyed staying in your guest apartment. It was absolutely beautiful, so well furnished and equipped. You made us feel very comfortable, which we greatly appreciated. The terrace and view were extra-ordinary, really super! It was fun eating on the terrace and sipping great Provencal wine in the evenings. It was also an experience to be in a house that, even though thoroughly modernized, has a centuries old history and has retained so much character. Roussillon was a great town in which to locate for our exploration of Provence. We found it very friendly

Reviewed by : Narelle & Dave

Melbourne, Australia

Date of stay: 2013-06-08

We miss Roussillon very much

We loved staying here as it was so comfortable and the attention to detail puts it in a class all on it's own. Having worked in the real estate holiday industry and also having stayed in many self catering properties it is rare to find one with a kitchen like this. It was an absolute delight. There was everything one needed plus lots of cutlery, glasses and plates. Makes a huge difference as so many places are lacking in the kitchen area. Also the way La Maison Ocre is outfitted makes it extremely appealing.

Reviewed by : Jon

UK

Date of stay: 2013-10-21

I would not hesitate to recommend La Maison Ocre

My wife and I traveled to Provence with our 4-month-old son in October, and had a wonderful experience staying at La Maison Ocre. The house itself has an attractive and modern feel while still reflecting the traditions of Provence. The beds and linens are very comfortable, the bathrooms are modern, and the kitchen is well equipped for cooking. Everything is clean and well maintained. The deck has a fantastic view of the Luberon valley, and is a great place to grill and enjoy wine on a pleasant evening. The location of the house could not be more ideal. It is almost directly in the center of Roussillon and is a short walk from everything Roussillon has to offer, including numerous restaurants (ranging from simple to formal), shopping, a grocery, a bakery, and the famous ochre quarry. Roussillon itself is an ideal base for exploring the Luberon, just large enough to offer all of the amenities one might want for an extended stay while still feeling like a small town. Included with the house is a parking space, making day trips simple on those days you don’t want to enjoy the wonderful town. The owner of the house went out of her way to make sure we had a pleasant stay. She helped make sure we had everything we might need to take care of an infant (including an offer to help arrange professional child care), showed us around town to make sure we had access to everything we needed, and made herself available with any advice we wanted about what to do and see in the area (including making restaurant reservations for us). Her hospitality was first-rate. I would not hesitate to recommend La Maison Ocre as a place to stay when visiting Provence. It is hard for us to imagine any place that could have been better for our trip.