Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : David Buchanan

UK

Date of stay: 2019-09-04

WOW

This is an idyllic cottage surrounded by a cherry orchard, vineyard and small olive grove, on the outskirts of a typical Provencal hillside village. Picturesque comes to mind and it looks even better in the flesh. The accommodation and facilities were ideal for the two of us and allowed us to simply switch off for the 10 day duration. The village is a short walk, or run if so inclined, and has a number of small village shops and cafes which served us well. There is certainly no need to bother with the main stores in nearby Apt. A wonderful and memorable holiday. Thank you.

Reviewed by : Sara & Geoff

Surrey

Date of stay: 2019-07-13

Wonderful and relaxing

We are just back from a week at La Ferrage and only wish we could have stayed longer. What a wonderful place to relax. The villa has everything you could need, and more. Well-equipped kitchen, comfortable bed and a fantastic shower! What made it for us were the views - a big sky, lavender and olive trees...heaven. It was lovely to walk into the village every day for our breakfast from one of the great boulangerie's and the town had everything you could need. I recommend a walk to the chateau and the church and windmill. The pool with shade under the willow trees was the icing on the cake. Wonderful.

Reviewed by : Trevor P

England

Date of stay: 2018-06-18

Lovely small house in a glorious setting

We had a marvellous week here and missed the prophesized bad weather completely. The wistaria covered terrace was perfect in the sun. The village is only a 10 minute walk away, down tracks and back lanes, and when you get there has everything you would hope for. Definitely not one of the honeypots groaning with day-trippers but a full set of thriving bars, restaurants, bakers, even a weekly market. Marie-Aude and her helpers were very friendly and had kept the garden beautifully. Altogether a lovely place to stay - definitely one we would consider again.

Reviewed by : Christy

Seattle, WA

Date of stay: 2018-06-08

Fantastic!

This was a lovely place. A big thank you to the owner who opened up his lovely home to us. It is well represented in the pictures and was such a delightful, peaceful place to be. We picked cherries, took naps, grilled some fabulous guinea fowl and mangalita pork on the Weber grill, and enjoyed playing music on the Sonos system. The kitchen was beautifully equipped and everything was good quality. The recommendations for the restaurants and farmer's market were spot on. St. Saturnin Les Apt was in a great location for touring some of the neighborhood villages and sites. The owner also graciously allowed us to extend our stay a day when our planned changes on short notice (thank you!). Do not hesitate to reserve this wonderful place!

Reviewed by : Catherine

NYC

Date of stay: 2016-07-12

Better Than My Dreams!

My trip was more relaxing and amazing than I had even hoped for. What an amazing spot, total confirmation that Provence is my happy place! I was able to run and ride my bike every day ( really I'm not an athlete but I wanted to justify all the cheese eating). I walked to town a few times every day (stood in line for my baguettes etc.) and even managed to run to the Chateau on my last morning to see the sunrise. I also did a fair share of napping in the hammocks and laying in and out of the pool. The kitchen had everything you need and more to prep & enjoy the spoils of the markets in the area. And the amazing sound system in the house allowed me to set a sound track to the whole vacation.

Reviewed by : Rosanne

CA, USA

Date of stay: 2016-04-17

Provencal Dream

This was our second stay at La Ferrage and we were so pleased to see it was just as pristine as it was 4 years ago. It's a perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful Provencal countryside. The house is lovely, very comfortable with a large, well-equipped kitchen, large bedroom and bath, and beautiful views from every window. The owners did a wonderful job of restoring it and maintain it in perfect shape. The property is very private and surrounded by cherry trees, olive trees, lavender, roses, etc. The wisteria on the terrasse was in full bloom during our stay and made a complete and gorgeous canopy. It's a great place to enjoy a glass of wine after a day of sightseeing. This time we did a lot of "joy-riding" in the countryside to lovely perched villages and tiny , less discovered towns. The town of St. Saturnin is waiting to be explored and the walk up to the chateau is great exercise with wonderful views. The little market on Tuesday is fun as well. Most importantly, there are 2 boulangerie/patisseries in the town!

Reviewed by : crissie

Nice

Date of stay: 2016-05-05

Enchanting

A delightful house, tastefully furnished in a large garden with fabulous views all around of cherry orchards, vineyards, forests and the Luberon mountains. Friendly welcome from the French manager. Village just 10 minutes walk away and has several bars, restaurants, a butcher and small supermarket. Lots of walks around, excellent restaurants, markets and wine. We have already rebooked for next year.

Reviewed by : Mike

UK

Date of stay: 2015-08-14

Wonderful relaxation

Just wanted to thank you for our two most enjoyable weeks at La Ferrage. It was such a pleasure to relax there and the white roses in the gloaming were gorgeous. We really enjoyed the opportunity to take our meals outside & the kitchen was a pleasure to use. We liked St. Saturnin les Apt & thought what a pleasant area you have chosen for your holiday retreat.

Reviewed by : LizH

Melbourne, Australia

Date of stay: 2014-07-25

Perfect holiday

We stayed here for two weeks in July with our 3 year old son. We didn't want to leave! It was wonderful. The house is beautiful and had everything we needed, the town is lovely, the surrounding area so picturesque. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by : Maro

California

Date of stay: 2014-10-07

Great!

Great place to visit and relax. Lots of sight seeing, shopping. Great wine and food. The house is beautiful, clean and full furnished including baby crib. Lots of wineries around. Can get good hiking. Enjoyed the outside yard having petit de'jouner while the sun was rising. I strongly recommend visiting this place...love it

Reviewed by : Pleasure Seekers

Oakland CA

Date of stay: 2014-09-10

A Perfect Retreat!

On behalf of both of us, we want to thank you so very much for affording us the opportunity to make La Ferrage our home during our stay in Provence. While we absolutely loved visiting so many exquisite villages and sites, the highlight of everyday was coming back home. Relaxing by the pool or on the patio amidst the warm breeze, gentle sun and (even) the full moon was heavenly. The privacy provided by all of your acreage was a welcomed relief after 5 day of the hustle bustle of the Cote D' Azur. We actually appreciated the chance to see many of the coastal towns but after a few days at your place we realized that a few more could have truly provided the time to settle in and make your home ours! We feel so much gratitude for all the ways you supported our doing just that. Such detailed explicit directions made the functional side of "getting there" very easy. The high standard appliances and the gourmet kitchen made cooking fun and even washing clothes a breeze. Your extra touches - wine and fresh cut flowers to greet us - provided the personal touch that was supported by Joelle's warmth and availability! If ever we return to Provence, we would not stay any other place but La Ferrage! What a jewel you have to retreat to!!! Thank you, thank you for sharing it with people like us..

Reviewed by : R and W

Laguna Beach, CA

Date of stay: 2012-04-28

PERFECT!

This is the perfect place to live your Provencal dream! The house and property are exactly as described but even better. The house is immaculate and maintained with care. The well-equipped kitchen is large by European standards, the living room is cozy and the upstairs bedroom and bath are very large. There are views from all the windows as well as patios surrounding the house for lounging and dining in privacy. It's heaven to enjoy a glass of wine on the patio overlooking acres of cherry trees, olive trees and a rose garden. The pool looked inviting, but weather was too cool for us to use it during our stay. Owners Barney and Sue were very easy to work with and answered all our questions promptly. It's apparent they take great pride in their home and for good reason. Joelle provided us with a seamless check-in, check-out procedure. We enjoyed the little town of St.Saturnin les Apt, just as cute as Menerbes and other more "famous" towns in Provence. The walk up to the "castle" provides great views. We enjoyed the little Sunday market here much more than we did the huge one in Isle sur la Sorgue. The only problem we encountered was that the house was so lovely, we hated to leave and wanted to just stay there and relax in the beautiful setting! We definitely recommend this house and hope to rent it again during our next trip to Provence.

Reviewed by : Helen and John

SC and Maine

Date of stay: 2012-06-23

Sophisticated Stone Cottage - Best One Bedroom in the Luberon

WOW!! We arrived La Ferrage cottage late Saturday afternoon for a three week stay. We were greeted with fabulous hot, sunny weather and blue Provence skies. The weather held for our spectacular weeks. The VRBO photos belie how spectacular the cottage is in person. Susan and Barney have done such a perfect job on the house and surrounding property, all four acres. It is obvious that they both are as much into detail and 'doing the job right' as John and I are. Everything is in fine working order. Everything we need, and more, is here. The first level is perfect, with fabulous kitchen outfitted for the gourmand (me and Barney), perfect living (salon) room with dining corner for two, comfy couch and chair. The "loo" is extremely convenient. Upstairs is extremely spacious, light, filled with sunlight and 360 degree views. The bedroom is huge with ample closet (hanging space and shelves), writing desk and chic chair, and you got to love the round "eye" window above the bed. And the bathroom is sumptuous - so much room for each individual, delightful shower, great light from three windows. The exterior of the ancient stones and stone work is perfection and so provencal. The two stone patios and grounds are gorgeous and you will feel like the lord in your manor with surrounding land - ooh so private and restful. Cherry orchards, white rose gardens lined with boxwood, herb garden, boules court, olive trees, massive lines of lavender, and more garden glory. The outdoor piece de resistance may be the huge circular pool at just the right temperature after a hot day of shopping or driving or whatever wonderful activity you engage in in this beautiful area of Provence. We highly recommend the Sunday market at Coustellet and LeClerc and SuperU for essentials. Of course every day there is a wonderful market in some town. Tuesday's in Gordes is also not to be missed. We know the Luberon very well and have experienced several extended stays. But this is the best in every way. We were so thrilled we chose this cozy Luberon cottage. We will definitely return for another extended stay - no need to look for another rental, this is the ultimate. I chose to write extensively about La Ferrage because it is so special and Barney and Susan have created such a haven that they willingly share with us. How lucky is that?!

Reviewed by : Sara M.

New York

Date of stay: 2012-08-25

Beautiful Property in a Dream Location

My daughter and I had a truly wonderful time at La Ferrage. The house and the farm exceeded our expectations both in terms of the physical beauty of the setting and the extent to which it seems as though the owners anticipated every possible need we could have. The house is an absolute dream, with all the comforts of home, and the kitchen was a delight to cook in. We loved the little town of St Saturnin les Apt and we were within easy distance of so many other villages and sights. Barney and Sue were warm, communicative, and extremely helpful in guiding us as we planned our stay. If you've ever wondered what it would feel like to step inside a Cezanne, this is it! We will be back!

Reviewed by : James W.

Boston

Date of stay: 2013-06-08

Charming Cottage in Provence Exceeds Expectations!

We spent two glorious weeks at La Ferrage in June of 2013. We had high expectations based on the description, but the reality was even better. The owners have a truly lovely restored cottage that was perfect for the two of us. The setting is magnificent--at the end of a lane graced by cherry trees and vineyards and a short drive from town. We value privacy, and we were not disappointed. The cottage is immaculate and elegant in its simplicity, but has all of the comforts of home--dishwasher, washer (enclosed outside clothesline area provides the dryer!), gas stove, every cooking utensil you could need, and Internet connectivity. In addition, there are two different outside eating areas and a private swimming pool just a short walk from the cottage. A local manager was helpful and willing to answer any questions. We had taken the high speed train from Paris to Avignon and rented a car there for the hour's drive to the cottage. We found La Ferrage a perfect base for day trips in Provence, from which there are many to choose. Returning to the cottage was always a highlight because it is such a pleasant and inviting place. We would sit by the pool and look up at the village of St. Saturnin and pinch ourselves to make sure it was real. When one is surrounded at La Ferrage by 100s of blooming white rose bushes, cherries ready to be picked, and lavender coming in to full bloom, it's hard not to think one is in paradise. We very much enjoyed a local restaurant, L'Estrade, in the center of town and became regulars. Their food was quite reasonable, very inventive, and beautifully presented. The local wine was excellent. La Fountain in nearby Villars was another favorite restaurant. There is a small grocery store in St. Saturnin and larger ones in Apt, just 10 minutes away, as well as many local markets for produce. Several nights we ate in the cottage while watching a full moon rise over the town. It doesn't get better than this! There is nothing we would change about La Ferrage, and we would love to go back. Susan and Barney were extremely helpful, and we salute them for the beautiful retreat they have created. We highly recommend La Ferrage.

Reviewed by : Patrick D

Carmel Valley, California

Date of stay: 2012-10-23

Really fun week in Provence

I stayed a week in late Fall and as my wife likes to cook we bought fresh provisions at the markets and had quiet meals in the cottage. We got to experience a real Mistral, and that was exciting, but the little stone house stood firm. The wood burning stove made it all the more cozy. Thanks Barney.

Reviewed by : mwr43

Shrewsbury, UK

Date of stay: 2013-08-31

Too good to miss!

You really should use this superb property for the whole of your holiday or you will be disappointed with anything else; nothing can match it for location and facilities! Barney and Susan have established an absolute haven here and are so happy to share it with guests. Making the arrangements was simple and Joelle provided the perfect welcome and advice about the area. Set in the midst of cherry trees at the foot of the hill beneath the small village of St. Saturnin it is a peaceful retreat, from which you may well not choose to venture despite the profusion of interesting villages and towns within easy reach. Everything you might wish for is included in this luxurious property. The house has been very carefully and imaginatively restored and even offers the availability of free internet telephone and Wi-Fi, so useful if you need to keep in touch with anyone back home. The village has restaurants, a boulangerie and small supermarket, more than adequate for those wishing to stay and eat on the wisteria-covered patio during those hot summer evenings. Slightly further afield, Apt has everything else you might require. Within easy reach are Aix en Provence, Avignon etc., or the beautiful hilltop villages such as Bonnieux and Gordes. After a hot day exploring nothing can match cooling off in the cleverly constructed swimming pool at the end of the lavender path, followed by a rest in a hammock between the trees nearby. To finish the day you can sit and enjoy a glass of wine in the garden whilst the sun goes down over the hills of the Petit Luberon. Reading other similar reviews makes you realise the necessity of booking well in advance! The whole experience was simple, there was direct contact with the owners and a local representative was available throughout the stay. The property was particularly well maintained and equipped, having a library of things to do and places to visit. There are beautiful Provencal gardens to visit within easy range, Val Joannis is certainly not to be missed. Nor is an early morning visit to Roussillon, with the rising sun illuminating the ochre cliffs, just minutes away. Would we go back - yes, but for much longer!!