Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Marieke

Villa Saumane

Date of stay: 2020-08-08

Fantastic house in a great location

We spend a week with 5 adults and 3 children in Sofie's house and very much enjoyed our time there. The house is spacious, with several areas inside and outside where you can sit together or spend some time on your own if you want. The kitchen has everything you need, esp 2 refrigerators is always great when you are with a larger group. Nice pool area which was intensively used with the 35+ degrees when we stayed there. The location is great, lots of things to see and do in the nearby area and a very good supermarket less than 10 mins from the house. Communication with the owner was quick and clear and very much appreciated that she was willing to think of solutions in case of an unexpected return of the lockdowns due to corona. We will happily come back here!

Reviewed by : Sharon

Dublin, Ireland

Date of stay: 2020-06-18

Breathtaking views

We have just returned after a 2 week stay at Villa Saumane - we have 2 young children (4 & 3 yrs old) and absolutely loved our stay. As some of the other reviews refer to, Villa Saumane is even nicer than the photos displayed - it is perched high up behind the village of Saumane with breathtaking views across the valley. The house is immaculate, big spacious kitchen come diner with 2 cosy living areas. The pool area is fantastic and perfect for young families - it has a safe gate around it and an electric cover. There are so many beautiful little areas to relax for a glass of wine in the terrace and garden - every day we found somewhere new. On top of all of this the owner, Sofie, and Djamel who manages the house are so accommodating, friendly and thoughtful - having little welcome gifts for when we arrived, checking in throughout the stay, quick responses to any questions and lots of recommendations whenever you need them. I cannot recommend this wonderful Provençal haven enough, we can't wait to go back next year!

Reviewed by : Ellen

New York City

Date of stay: 2019-06-11

Wonderful!

We loved this beautiful house -- it was even nicer than the pictures. Lots of room for five adults and two kids. We really enjoyed the pool and outdoor spaces for dining and hanging out. Beautiful location and close to charming towns including Gordes. The owner was very communicative and helpful. We accidently set off the alarm and the manager came over quickly to help us fix it. I would definitely book this house again.

Reviewed by : Trudes

San Francisco CA

Date of stay: 2019-06-11

A jewel on the hill!

Exceeded Expectations! The expansive views from the spacious terrace lead to long happy hours and star gazing. While we planned to enjoy the local restaurants for dinner, we found ourselves preferring the comforts of "home" and outdoor seating. The kitchen was stocked with everything needed to cook meats and vegetables purchased in local markets. The pool and lounge chairs were most inviting and were a great way to relax after touring the local villages and sights. Sofie provided a warm welcome, local recommendations, and suggestions. Highly recommend and looking forward to returning!

Reviewed by : Kim

San Francisco, CA - USA

Date of stay: 2019-06-11

Highly Recommended Villa

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Saumane - the house was beautiful and very well stocked with everything you need to have a perfect holiday. We loved all the outdoor sitting/dining space and the grounds are truly beautiful - with views overlooking the valley and rock walls and bories scattered throughout the property. We also loved the location - you could walk into the village of Saumane and it was a short drive to larger villages like Isle sur la Sorgue and Fontaine in Vaucluse. Finally, Sofie was a perfect host - she provided us with local recommendations, was very responsive to all of our questions and went out of her way to ensure we had a great stay. I highly recommend Villa Saumane and can't wait to come back!

Reviewed by : Tim

New York

Date of stay: 2018-06-30

Perfect villa

We spent a fantastic week at this beautiful villa with four adults and four children, ages 2 through 6, and all loved the indoor-outdoor living it afforded with three levels of terraces (including the pool and petanque court!). Ideal for travelers who like shopping the Provencal markets, cooking, and enjoying long, lazy outdoor meals with friends. It is a ten-minute drive to bustling L'Isle sur al Sorgue for supplies, but removed from the fray on a quiet hillside for privacy and quiet relaxing. Everything we needed was provided, from kitchen implements to linens. The house was spotlessly clean on arrival and very well maintained, and the owner and caretaker are friendly and responsive. A perfect base for exploring Provencal villages (like Gordes) and wineries, as well as cycling (close to Mont Ventoux). The "accrobranche" adventure park, about 10 minutes away, was a big hit with the kids. We hope to return!

Reviewed by : Niamh

Ireland

Date of stay: 2018-06-23

Saumane de Vaucluse

We just spent a very enjoyable week in Saumane de Vaucluse. The house was in a lovely quiet location and yet convenient to the village of L'Isle de la Sorgue. The house was clean, well equipped and had lots of lovely outdoor terrace areas. The host was very helpful and was easily contactable if we had any problems. It was a great base for exploring the region. The Sunday market in L'Isle de la Sorgue was heaven for any interiors/antiques enthusiast. Lots of places to eat in l'Isle too with a nice lively atmosphere. Would highly recommend this villa.

Reviewed by : Charles

London

Date of stay: 2017-07-16

Villa Saumane

We have found this to be the perfect holiday home for our family and, at our family’s insistence, have come again and again. It has everything you need for four adults and up to four children, all done to high standards, including three excellent bathrooms, very important, and a downstairs loo. There are three terraces, allowing you to chase the sun, or the shade, around during the day or to escape for some privacy. There are also two sitting rooms, one with a huge TV and one for comfort and quiet. Perched on a hill it gets the breeze and a wonderful view. The pool is more for fun than for serious swimming, being quite shallow, which suited us fine. We love the area, its restaurants and enchanting villages while the kids loved the nearby tree adventure park and the canoeing on the Sorgue river. We have already booked for next year.

Reviewed by : AP

Denmark

Date of stay: 2016-07-09

Beautiful Villa

We really enjoyed our stay. We were four adults and four teenagers and there was plenty of space for everybody. Saumane is a quiet area, but yet located very near beutiful villages, sites to see and activities. Also we loved being by the pool during the day or sitting in one of the shaded terrasses. When preparing dinner we really enjoyed all the kitchen facilities and the barbeque. And we had a lot of petanque tournaments in the enlighted garden in the evenings.

Reviewed by : Robert S

Washington DC

Date of stay: 2015-08-15

All we hoped for and more

Our two-week stay in Roger's villa was all we had hoped for, beautiful mornings filled with fresh croissants and pain-au-chocolat procured in nearby Isle-sur-Sorgue, daily expeditions to nearby hilltop town markets to buy sausage, tapenades, fresh figs to accompany our evening grilling, and longer day-trips to the coast with Cassis and the Camargue as highlights. We ran sets of friends and family into the house throughout our stay, easily accomodating 8 people. The layout of the house is wonderful, providing space for folks to spread out for private siestas, hit the pool or play petanque, or congregate around the open kitchen to plan the next meal. We join previous reviewers in complimenting Jamel, who met us at the gate upon arrival and showed initiative and flexibility throughout our stay. A highlight for all of us was sitting on one of the outdoor patios and looking up at the castle that dominates the village -- the light changed throughout the day and provided a beautiful backdrop throughout our stay. Walking 3 minutes into the village and having a meal at the one bistro, run by very friendly proprietaires and featuring surprisingly good food, was another highlight. We booked Villa Saumane almost a year in advance and our expectations for a wonderful, relaxing vacation were fully met.

Reviewed by : Charles and Liz

London

Date of stay: 2015-07-25

The Perfect House

It was, for our family of six, the ideal holiday home; far enough from the madding crowd to be peaceful but only ten minutes form the charming town of Isle de la Sorgue. The house is ideally laid out with three terraces to chase or avoid the sun during the day, or the children in my case. It is simply but elegantly equipped throughout. We were particularly impressed by the state of the art bathrooms and the kitchen, things that make a house seem like home, or perhaps better. We stayed two weeks and were sad to leave.

Reviewed by : Peter and Dorothy

Australia

Date of stay: 2014-05-24

The Luberon at your feet!

We stayed at this delightful villa in Provence for two weeks at the end of May and beginning of June in 2014. Although originally from Scotland, we have lived in Australia for nearly 50 years, and had never been to rural France. Exhaustive searches on the internet convinced us that Roger’s villa was the one for us. It was situated above the perched village of Saumane-de-Vaucluse in the hills to the north of the Luberon Valley and was clearly close to all the lovely places that we had heard about; Gordes, Rousillon and the other villages of the Luberon. Although we had looked at all the photos that Roger has posted on his site, we were absolutely amazed at what awaited us when we were ushered into the villa by Djamel, Roger’s friend and “gatekeeper” for the villa. The first impression was one of airiness and spaciousness, followed by a growing feeling of comfort as we explored the rooms of the villa. Two double bedrooms with en-suites, two rooms with single beds, two lounge rooms (goodness!) and a spacious dining room/kitchen area. And then outside; an upper deck with large swimming pool, bathed in sunlight all day; a lower deck with lounge and eating areas; a barbeque and a “Boris”, as we called the old stone shepherd’s hut on the edge of the property. We knew our choice was right and we settled in and had fantastic holiday.

Reviewed by : Londonfamily

London

Date of stay: 2013-07-20

Great holiday in Provence

Two families (4 adults and 4 kids 9-14) stayed in July as this fantastic house for a week-we all wished it was longer. It really feels like a home from home, the kitchen is particularly well equipped and we used the gas BBQ everyday. The house is spacious, enough for everyone to feel there is enough room with geat internal space-including 3 bathrooms and a loo - terrace and fab pool. We really enjoyed the view from the terrace/pool-gorgeous! We didn't do alot of sightseeing we enjoyed chilling at the villa, we got as far as Isle Sur La Sorgue -market very good and two supermarkets well stocked & Fontaine de Vaucluse. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by : Laurel C

USA

Date of stay: 2013-06-15

Great place in a great location

Our family stayed here this summer and had a wonderful time. The house is comfortable and balances personal furnishings with clean and open spaces so that guests have all that they need and don't have to negotiate loads of personal owner items. The pool and outdoor spaces are also very nice. We were only four when the home would have easily accommodated twice that or more, making meal and pool time all the more festive. What we liked best was the location. We didn't want to be in a town or city, but wanted easy access to one. L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue is just minutes away. We also wanted easy access to other attractions of Provence. Everything from Vaison-les-Romains to Marseilles, from le Pont du Gard to Gordes are all within easy range. Avignon is only 25 minutes away. There are local gems like Venasque, Fontaine de Vaucluse and Saumane itself, where there is a very friendly restaurant. This is a world class cycling local. Numerous local loops, including Mont Ventoux, are right out the door on wonderful roads without a center stripe. Finally, Roger was attentive and friendly. We look forward to our next visit.

Reviewed by : Lizzie

Australia

Date of stay: 2012-04-06

Stunning Saumane

Our family of 4 stayed at this gorgeous house for 3 weeks. The house was immaculately clean and perfectly equipped with everything we could possibly need from the kitchen through to the bedrooms.We spent a few lazy days around the pool ,which our children still talk about, with its beautiful outlook to the village of Saumane and some very memorable evening eating alfresco and playing boules on the lavender lined terrace. It was the perfect base for exploring the surrounding countryside and villages like Fontaine de Vaucluse and Gordes as well as a reasonable distance to explore some of the coastal towns around Nice. The owner of the villa is very knowledgable about the area and provided us with excellent information on places to visit and where to eat in the region. We were very sad to leave such a beautiful house and location and would highly recommend a stay in this little patch of Provence.

Reviewed by : Susanne

Atlanta, GA, USA

Date of stay: 2013-06-29

Our fabulous vacation in Provence

My family of 8 (including one 3 year old) recently returned from a week's stay at this fabulous villa in Provence. What can I say?? It was the trip of a lifetime! We took the TGV train from Paris to Avignon - a short and enjoyable trip of 2 1/2 hours. Picked up a rental car and drove for 30 minutes to this exquisite area of France. The Villa in Saumane-de-Vaucluse was everything I hoped it would be - and then some. The villa itself is new with beautiful bathrooms, a well equipped kitchen, and plenty of space to spread out. We never felt cramped - the space is large and the terraces and pool area are just perfect. The furnishings are lovely, comfortable and provide plenty of seating and lounging areas. The views cannot be described adequately. I so miss my morning coffee on the terrace with sweeping views that stretch for miles. Dinner on the patio is just the perfect way to end a busy day of sightseeing at nearby hill towns. Isle Sur la Sorgue is close by and very entertaining on market days. Two grocery stores are there and easily reached by car - which is a necessity to see all the area attractions. We visited Gordes, Menerbes, Lacoste, Fontane de Vaucluse, Rousillion, and many other Provençal towns easily. The tiny village of Saumane boasts a lovely restaurant with fabulous views and charming hosts. The villa has a property manager should there be any questions and he and the owner are always available for anything that may arise. We cannot speak highly enough of this property and how much we enjoyed it there. Do yourself a favor and spend some time in this beautiful Provençal area and villa. You'll be glad you did!

Reviewed by : sylvie

UK

Date of stay: 2012-06-30

Villa Provence

We have been lucky enough to have spent our holiday in this beautiful house for three years now. The house itself provided for all our needs both practically and aesthetically.It is perfectly clean,spacious and airy with high quality and tasteful fixtures and fittings easily catering for our groups individual needs.The setting is so beautiful and tranquil sitting perfectly in the hills with exquisite views of the valley and over looking the lovely old hill village of saumane ( this view is one i conjure up whenever i feel the need to escape the realities of real life) yet perfectly placed to visit all that this wonderful region has to offer which epitomises all that is quintessentially french and drips with roman, Greek and medieval history! The Sunday market at the local town of isle sur sorgue is a delight for the senses teeming with vibrant restaurants,bars and the well known antiques quarter. We were lucky enough to have met the owner of the Villa, who couldn't have been more hospitable and welcoming . My family and I cannot speak highly enough of this magical place and would unreservedly recommend it , in fact encourage others to stay! In my mind I still have the scent and warmth of Provence which this lovely place has allowed me and my family and friends to experience together - Wonderful!