Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Page

Charlotte, Vermont. US

Date of stay: 2018-10-12

Exceptional Property!!

I wanted to thank you so very much for our fabulous stay at your wonderful property! The house and village were everything we hoped for and more. Pictures really don’t do it justice. I complement you on your fantastic, thoughtful, careful renovation of the property. I imagine you spent a considerable amount of time on the project. It certainly shows! Everything is absolutely beautiful! We enjoyed the village completely; from windmills to restaurants and setting. Even the incredible topiary in the cemetery! I think you found a gem. Sylvia was charming, wonderful, helpful, and very responsive. Thank you so much for a perfect accommodation!

Reviewed by : CB

California, USA

Date of stay: 2018-06-02

A perfect sanctuary

This is our family’s third stay at Maison des Amis and we truly love it. It’s location and ambience provide the perfect atmosphere for enjoying the quiet magic of Goult. Surrounded by the ancient stone walls of the chateau and other manors, it is a private sanctuary to return to after each outing. The lawn, swimming pool and plantings create a feeling of expanse. The house is beautifully conceived to ensure all needs are met.

Reviewed by : DW

New Zealand

Date of stay: 2017-08-19

A real treasure

My wife and I live in New Zealand. For almost 25 years we have taken a summer holiday in the Luberon Valley in Provence. We formerly owned a house in Goult which village we consider to be the most attractive “non-tourist” village in the Luberon. When we sold our house we were for some years guests of one of our Goult cycling friends but when they in turn decided to sell we had to find a holiday place in Goult so we could carry on this pleasant tradition. On the internet we found a charming and well-appointed small house in Goult near the centre of the village but in a quiet location away from the pedestrian traffic in the village. We stayed for a month in 2016 and again in 2017 and we are booked again for 2018. We adore this charming little house. It has everything we need to enjoy a Provencal summer. It has a very attractive pool near the house, two upstairs bedrooms, one of which by chance overlooks the house we used to own in Goult, a well-appointed bathroom and a lovely open kitchen dining area. It is a peaceful spot and all we hear is the occasional chatter from children down the road and the clock on the church tower chiming every hour. Its strategic position in the Luberon Valley enables us, if we wish, to visit any of the famous nearby villages. However, many of these are now heavily populated by tourists in the summer whereas Goult remains with its own distinct charms and is a wonderful refuge to which to return after a day on the bike or visiting one of the more “touristy” villages. We cannot recommend Maison des Amis highly enough. It is a real treasure.

Reviewed by : Peter

Germany

Date of stay: 2017-05-06

Come and feel good!

The cottage is located in the heart of Goult - and is nevertheless hidden. Due to its location it offers a beautiful view over the rooftops of Goult and the Luberon. It is lovingly furnished, has two quiet bedrooms and a relatively large bathroom with shower. In the summer, you can sunbathe in the adjacent garden or swim in the pool. You can find shade or sun, depending on how you like it. And if you sit on the little balcony above the bedroom, you can enjoy the sun long in the evening. The care on site was very friendly. We just felt comfortable.

Reviewed by : Peter & Anne Arnold

Itchenor

Date of stay: 2015-08-22

La Maison des Amis

We can only agree with the other reviews that this is the most delightful property in one of the loveliest Luberon villages and as you enter through the gates of La Maison des Amis you do indeed feel as though you have found the most enchanting secret garden. The variety of levels and terraces both in the garden and accessed directly from the cottage ensure at any time of the day there is always the perfect spot for a rest, a drink or whatever takes your fancy. A master stroke is the delightful green tiled pool preventing all the dazzle one normally associates with swimming in a sunny position. The interior of the cottage itself is beautifully decorated and well-equipped but the real joy is the original art work of the owner on display. Shopping was nothing short of a joy in Goult, it is an easy and very pleasant stroll into the village where you can get almost everything you need, and a few extras at the market on Thursday. If the opportunity to queue in the butchers presents itself then just stand back, watch and listen to French village life unfolding in front of you – it really is quite wonderful. The other Luberon hill top villages are within easy striking distance of Goult but busier and we came to realise by the end of our week’s stay that even a morning out of Goult was a morning wasted! We have recommended this place to numerous friends and hope to return another year.

Reviewed by : G&J

Worcestershire

Date of stay: 2015-08-01

Lovely property in good position

This is a delightful base from which to explore this area. A short drive to so many places. It is just a couple of minutes walk into the centre of the village with a good little food shop, butcher, bakery etc plus a couple of other shops and a good little market on Thursdays. The Cafe de Poste is great for a drink and we had really good dinners at Le Terrasse and Aux Fines Herbes. We were lucky to be in Goult for their jazz weekend and sat and enjoyed a superb free concert on the Saturday evening. The property is clean and well equipped, although just having a two plate hob meant a bit of juggling while cooking dinners for 3 people! The terrace and pool is a real bonus, very quiet and with lovely views.. We had a delightful lunch in Lauris, 4 courses including wine and coffee for €16 each, including a main course of delicious lamb, and another good lunch in Ansouis with a good buffet for €10 each.

Reviewed by : Neil

Cambridge, UK

Date of stay: 2015-07-04

Lovely property in an excellent location

This is the second year we have stayed at Maison Des Amis and as with last year we had a lovely week's holiday. The property is beautifully decorated and furnished and had everything we needed for our weeks stay. The week we were there was very hot and we spent most of our time outside relaxing on the terraced area or swimming in the pool. One of the nice features of the property are the number of different areas where you can sit and eat depending on the time of day. The views from the upstairs bedroom looking over Goult to the Luberon hills are very nice and it was lovely to sit out at night relaxing. Goult is a very pretty village and has a number of restaurants together with local bakery, butcher and grocery store. Hope to be back again in the future.

Reviewed by : Sandra & Dan

Scotland

Date of stay: 2015-07-11

A wonderful place!

This is our third stay at Maison des Amis. The house is lovely - perfect for the two of us. It is conveniently located in the centre of Goult and it is extremely quiet. The house itself is beautifully furnished to an extremely high standard and has everything you need. What makes the place very special is the garden and pool area - entering through the gates for the first time is like finding a secret garden! There is a quiet shaded table to sit at for breakfast; the shaded patio and barbecue area is ideal for sitting outside for meals and the swimming pool is absolutely fantastic and a welcome relief from the hot summer sunshine. A lot of thought has been put into making the house and garden as comfortable and practical as possible. The village itself is beautiful. It is quieter than some of the surrounding villages which is a bonus but it has everything you would need- a wonderful bakery, a grocer with a wide range of fresh fruit and veg, a butcher's shop as well as the busy cafe at the heart of the village where you can sit and watch the world go by. There are also several excellent restaurants to choose from within short walking distance. We were also able to make use of the local tennis courts for the fortnight, thanks to Mme Mille. There is easy access onto the main routes to visit larger towns and other villages perched on the hills. We love coming here- it is real gem- a beautiful house tucked away in a lovely village- I couldn't recommend this highly enough. Bonnes vacances!

Reviewed by : PH

Norfolk

Date of stay: 2014-08-02

Excellent gite and location

We very much enjoyed our stay in your gite joined at different times by our daughter and son. Christian was very helpful when we arrived after a difficult journey down due to autoroute congestion. Everything about the gite is great, the location, the way you have developed the site and the house itself. I particularly appreciated your sculpture having originally trained as an art teacher specialising in sculpture. You have a very good eye for purity of line. The weather was good, around 30c everyday which meant the pool was very welcome, with a couple of thunderstorms at night. We had planned to cycle Mont Ventoux which we completed via the classic Tour de France route in our second week after a bit of training on the hills around Goult. What a joy Goult is, nicely busy but not manic like some of the other villages. As to eating out we enjoyed Aux Fines Herbs. Thank you very much

Reviewed by : Muscat

Poole, Dorset, UK

Date of stay: 2014-06-28

Very enjoyable stay at La Maison des Amis

We really enjoyed our stay in Goult - the cottage was clean and very well maintained with attractive furnishings and decoration. As the owners are not in residence when the cottage is let, it was great to have a private, sparkling swimming pool all to ourselves. The cottage and pool are set in an elevated position so there are views of other village houses and the hills of the Luberon from the bedrooms. The photos on the website are very accurate. Good wi-fi and UK TV (Le Tour de France highlights). Apart from enjoying the time spent at the house, we really loved Goult with its four good restaurants, great cafe, boulangerie, butcher's and grocery shop with a separate fruit and veg section. It felt much less touristy than other nearby towns and villages we visited. I would recommend this property and Goult for a quiet, relaxed holiday probably with a mix of spending time by the pool and sight-seeing.

Reviewed by : ALF

Australia

Date of stay: 2014-04-14

Exceptional place to use as your holiday base

We stayed for 9 nights in this great cottage. It is perched toward the top of the tiny village of Goult in a private garden with pool, bbq and outdoor furniture plus views!. Goult is relatively tourist free and is a lovely spot to use as a base to explore the Luberon region. The cottage has two bedrooms both with great views across the valley. It was just the two of us and we found the cottage to be spot on. Mobile reception is patchy but that could be looked upon as a bonus :) The property was quiet, comfortable, clean and relaxing. It was just the two of us but I am sure two couples or a couple with older children would love it just as much as we did. The owners were lovely - we hope to visit again in the not to distant future. Highly recommend this property - need a car to stay in this region.