Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Pam and Terry

South Carolina

Date of stay: 2019-09-25

A special time!

The Loft des Antiquaires was just as presented, nicely decorated with plenty of room and very comfortable. We stayed for two weeks while exploring L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue and the many towns in the region. The building in which the loft is located was built in the late 1500’s which is fitting as the town and the region is filled with history back to the Romans and before. This review would be incomplete without mentioning our host and apartment owner, Marlyse. She is warm, welcoming and very helpful. A major plus is the reserved parking space which is a scarcity, especially in L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue which has two market days per week and the one on Sunday is the granddaddy of them all as noted by one of the tour books. So, we had a delightful time in this wonderful corner of the world.

Reviewed by : Marcus

Los Angeles, CA

Date of stay: 2018-07-11

So welcoming!

The Loft is a very special place. A womb, buried inside stone walls, the Loft somehow feels both warm and cool, cozy yet grand, quirky yet classic. We loved the location, used it as a base to explore the Luberon and beyond, and though the sites were astonishing, we always found ourselves hurrying back to the Loft. Marlyse herself was a gracious host - warm, efficient, and welcoming. Couldn’t have asked for a better stay.

Reviewed by : Robbie and Tandy

Virginia, United States

Date of stay: 2018-08-31

Yes, Yes, Yes!

We spent an idyllic week in Provence with Loft des Antiquaires as our cozy home away from home. Marlyse is lovely, communicative, warm, and welcoming, meeting us upon arrival out on the main road where she could direct us to parking. L'Isle-Sur-La-Sorgue could not be a more charming village--the perfect blend of shops, restaurants, and beauty, it is at once vibrant and peaceful. Loft des Antiquaires is clean, beautifully furnished, and a few steps down a narrow street off the main square of the town which is home to a gorgeous church, coffee, patisseries and more. While we enjoyed large, long French lunches during our day travels (L'Isle is a very central location), we loved coming home to this cool, quiet nest and winding up our day on the courtyard patio with wine and a light dinner of cheese, vegetables and fruit purchased from the extraordinary Sunday farmer's market. In short, we have just returned home and are already planning our booking at Loft des Antiquaires for next year.

Reviewed by : Kerri

Australia

Date of stay: 2018-03-08

Amazing Apartment

This apartment was absolutely beautiful and decorated in such a stylish manner. We couldn’t fault the location, perfectly located to everything you wanted to see. Marlyse was a great host and always quick with any communication. Loved our four nights there .

Reviewed by : Lars

Varberg, Sweden

Date of stay: 2017-09-29

Every expectation fulfilled

All our plans for a visit to Vaucluse/Provence were fulfilled based on the wonderful apartment "Loft des Antiquaires". This is the right place for trips to the old villages and to enjoy the nature of Vaucluse. A walkaround in the old part of L´isle sur la Sorgue is perfect before a good evening meal and relax in the apartment. Many details of our visit could be mentioned but the important summary is that "The Loft des Antiquaires" is one of the best places we have lived in during our visits to different parts of Europe! Many thanks to Marlyse, the perfect hostess!

Reviewed by : Salome

Munich

Date of stay: 2017-10-06

Great place!

Great place - clean, well-appointed, centrally-located, walk to everything (coffee bars, shops, banks, restaurants). Ideal place for exploring Provence. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by : Fimo

York

Date of stay: 2017-07-26

Loft des Antiquaires

Marlyse has created an oasis of serenity and chic in this stunning old convent building. It is clear that she has meticulously planned and successfully created a stylish and thoughtful Airbnb home from home. I can honestly say there was nothing missing - and were it a shop I would have happily bought most of its contents! The inclusion of a couple of good quality fans saved the day/s during this summer's heatwave. Marlyse is an efficient, gracious and thoughtful host, who even insisted on carrying our suitcase to the loft and car to ensure ease of entrance/exit into the locked private car park. The 'bible' of information compiled by Marlyse was a welcome addition to local information and the recommendations should be noted as they are very helpful and accurate - we tested many of her recommendations and will testify as to the quality! Isle - sur - la Sorgue is an upmarket french market town which benefits from both the buzz of market days and the enchanting quality of day to day french life. We hope to return one day. I wholeheartedly recommend this host and her property.

Reviewed by : Amanda

Cambridge

Date of stay: 2017-06-23

A stylish retreat...

We stayed at 'Le Loft' for a week and it was perfect in every way. Stylish, well equipped and full of French charm and character. Marlyse has thought of everything to ensure you relax instantly and we did! L'Isle sur la Sorgue is truly a 'little Venice', with amazing restaurants, markets and cafes. Everyone in the town is welcoming, with pretty flowers and old waterwheels. It is located within easy access of the lavender fields, Mt Ventoux, hill top towns and the most gorgeous French countryside in which to picnic. We will definitely return. Thank you Marlyse for sharing your special place.

Reviewed by : Mariel

Warrenpoint, United Kingdom

Date of stay: 2017-05-27

A delightful experience, highly recommended!

Beautifully kept, well-equipped, charming, clean ground floor apartment, cool and fresh inside, in the middle of L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, with its antique markets, water wheels, French old town traditions and the breathtaking Lubéron region at a stone's throw. What more could you ask for? We spent two weeks in Marlyse's Loft, which is not only charming and very stylishly decorated, but close to all town amenities, such as cafés, bakeries, restaurants, etc., and even includes a private parking only five minutes' walk away, a vrai luxury! The host was always very friendly and attentive. Thank you, Marlyse. We thorougly enjoyed our time in your Loft and will be back!!!

Reviewed by : Susan

Seattle, Wa USA

Date of stay: 2017-05-11

Le Loft of L' Isle

Our stay in L'Isle was made all the more memorable due in large part to Marlyse's beautiful apartment. The pictures are very accurate. The Loft is airy and comfortable. The location can't be beat. It's a perfect place to call home while visiting the Luberon. There are great cafes, shops, markets all practically right at your doorstep. Marlyse offers parking for those driving through the region. A real plus. We can recommend without hesitation.

Reviewed by : Louise

New Zealand

Date of stay: 2017-04-21

You must stay here!

A great stay in L'isle sur la Sorgue and Provence. You could not ask for a better place to stay, stylish, central, quiet, comfortbLe and clean. A great spot to base yourself for exploring the region. Marlyse is a gate at host providing a well appointed property, including great insider tips and guides for the region. The Loft is bigger than it appears in the photos and we didn't use the outside area. the car park is also a huge plus and close to the property. A really wonderful stay at Le Loft.

Reviewed by : Annie

Turkey

Date of stay: 2017-04-08

An amazing holiday apartment

If you are thinking of going to Provence for a holiday, don't bother to look anywhere else. This apartment is beautiful, stylish and so, so comfortable. It is even better than the wonderful photography on the website with stunning stonework and a great, workable open plan arrangement. It is situated in the heart of the town but in a very quiet road - we had a very relaxing stay and have never slept so well. There was a washer/dryer, large range cooker, microwave, coffee machine and a huge walk-in shower with nice toiletries and a good quality hairdryer. Marylese was waiting for us when we arrived; she was very welcoming and charming and it was reassuring to know that she was just a short distance away and on call if needed to contact her. Isle sur la Sorgue is a lively, historic town with lots of shops and really very good restaurants. Marylese recommended Umami, just a two minute walk from the apartment, and we dined there three nights out of five, it was that good. All in all, a memorable and relaxing holiday - we hope to be back soon. Thank you Marylese.

Reviewed by : Ann

Brooklyn, NY, USA

Date of stay: 2017-04-01

Impeccable!

Beautiful space in a beautiful location. Well appointed, with private parking, it serves as an amazing home base for all things Provence. Marlyse was amazingly communicative and helpful. We are looking forward to staying here again!

Reviewed by : Susan

North Carolina

Date of stay: 2016-12-21

A very special place

The name, Le Loft des Antiquaires says it all. A beautifully styled setting, in L'isle sur-la-Sorgue, a charming town filled with history, antiques and hidden treasures. A perfect spot to call home for Christmas and New Year’s. A short walk from the village center takes to you down a side street through old green door. Part of a former convent is now an open bright inviting space, decorated with a little rustic and a little modern, combining history with comfort elements in a chic environment. A large very well equipped kitchen includes everything one needs to prepare and serve a lovely French meal. Modern appliances, cookware, dishes etc. A rustic table setting is ready for food and wine. There are many brochures and books to help one plan the day trips as well as local information on restaurants, shopping and markets, all just a short walk away. A television and WiFi are available. The bedroom has a very comfortable bed, lots of storage and of course, style. A cozy sitting room, a perfect spot to read or just relax, has a door leading into a private outdoor courtyard. Even in December, we were able to enjoy a glass of wine at the little bistro table. Old beams, trough sink and a lovely modern walk in glass shower complete the bathroom. There is combo washer/ dryer in the loft, a definite plus for travelers. The secure parking is another added bonus and also it is next to the local Utile supermarket. The Loft's location is perfect for taking day trips to the wonderful towns and villages. There is so much to see and do. Our host, Marlyse, was most welcoming and helpful. She has created a very charming inviting place to stay and to enjoy the French village life. It definitely encourages a return visit.

Reviewed by : Melanie

UK

Date of stay: 2016-08-05

Beautiful loft - stunning location

Le Loft is a truly stunning place to stay. It is incredibly spacious and a real home from home. It was spotlessly clean and well equipped with all the gadgetry you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. A small but well considered outdoor seating area is a great place to relax with a beer or a glass of wine after a day exploring the surrounding area. We even stayed in to eat on a couple of evenings, stocking up on ingredients from the local market - brilliant! Marlyse was a perfect host, she met us at the train station (approximately 5 minutes from Le Loft) and was a wealth of information on the area with plenty of suggestions to enhance your stay in every way. She is clearly very caring and wants your stay to be perfect - providing contact details should you need to get in touch with her for anything. On the occasion we did get in touch she responded promptly. We would highly recommend Le Loft - not only is it beautiful and peaceful, it is so well located - with everything L'Isle sur la Sorgue and the surrounding area has to offer on your doorstep. Fantastic!

Reviewed by : Kate F

New Jersey, USA

Date of stay: 2016-06-24

Exceeded expectations!

Le Loft des Antiquaires truly exceeded our expectations. The studio apartment is more beautiful than the pictures. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you need - from all the kitchen appliances (stove/oven, toaster, microwave, coffee maker, teapot), to all the pots and pans, to cutlery, cooking utensils, and tableware. Marlyse thought of everything and this studio apartment has everything and more. The bed was very comfortable. There was ample lighting and enough electrical sockets to charge all your personal electronic devices. There is more than enough closet space in the small area behind the bed. The studio apartment is very spacious for two people. The outdoor patio is perfect for having breakfast or a daytime snack (there were plenty of mosquitoes so we avoided eating out there at night). Marlyse was very responsive and even came over to fix the WIFI and cable TV connection when power outages in the village the night before interrupted the connection. There is a great deal of information in the book inside the apartment in which Marlyse provides all the information you need about the property and nearby attractions. Marlyse is also readily available via text messages in case you need a quick reply. Isle sur la Sorgue is a great location which is very central to driving around Provence - you are within 30 minutes to an hour (or 1.5 hours) of beautiful Provencal towns and the Luberon villages. The apartment is located in the heart of the town and you are just steps away from the Sunday and Thursday markets of Isle sur la Sorgue. As for restaurants, we liked Le Vivier, Le Prevote, Umami, and Café Fleurs, in that order, all recommended by Marlyse. Café de France is great too for people watching and having tapas and wine. All in all, this is one of the best apartments we have ever stayed at (we have rented apartments in Europe several times every year during the last 4 years). I highly recommend Loft des Antiquaires and would definitely stay here again. Thanks very much Marlyse! Kate and Carlo

Reviewed by : Toby

Australian

Date of stay: 2015-09-26

What a wonderful place

Our stay at "the loft" was wonderful. Marylse was welcoming and happy to assist in any way she could. She even drove us to the train station with all our heavy luggage. The apartment was spotless and contained everything you needed to make your stay comfortable. The villages in the luberon are a must to see and you really need at least 3 to 4 days to enjoy them. Restaurants in L'isle are bountiful and each one a delight. The food is very special as were the fabulous markets on Sunday and Thursday's. Go to Provence and stay at the Loft - you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by : Paulette & Richard

Cape Cod, MA, USA

Date of stay: 2015-09-11

Better than expected!

Accommodations were perfect. Everything you would need was provided. Because le Loft is located in a small town within approximately a 1 hour drive to all the major tourist towns and small villages in Provence we were able to take day trips and return to L’Isle for dinner. A guest information book included recommended restaurants listed by type, expense and specialty. We always ate well, which is often difficult to do when traveling. Due to age related physical limitations we did not take part in sports related activities in the area, however, a great spot for travelers of all ages.

Reviewed by : Cindy M

Louisiana

Date of stay: 2015-08-31

Second Visit To This Wonderful Gem

We were so happy to have the opportunity return to Le Loft for a second visit, our first visit being in May of 2013. Le Loft is beautifully decorated, so very comfortable, and located in center of our favorite provincial town, L'Isle Sur La Sorgue. The owner, Marlyse, is wonderful to work with went above and beyond to make our visit perfect. Le Loft is a great base for exploring the area, but the best part of all was returning to Le Loft and L'Isle Sur La Sorgue. Highly recommend!!

Reviewed by : Hardyuno

Bruckmuehl, Germany

Date of stay: 2015-07-03

We felt like at home

Le Loft des Antiquaires is one of the nicest accommodations we have ever booked. We felt from the first moment at home. Marlyse has created a very stylish atmosphere. When you step out the door you are immediately in the town center, at the same time it is relatively quiet by the location in a side street. Especially at the Sunday market you are right in the middle of the action. The market in L'Isle sur la Sorgue is one of the most beautiful markets in the Provence. L'Isle sur la Sorgue is perfect as a base for exploring the Vaucluse, in particular of the Luberon. Within a half to one hour you can reach almost every interesting place. I am thinking of Avignon, Gordes, Menerbes, Lourmarin, Mont Ventoux and so on. We spent a wonderful week in the Loft. Thank Marlyse.

Reviewed by : Diana Jespersen

Vancouver, Canada

Date of stay: 2015-04-24

Perfection in Provence!

Le Loft des Antiquaires on L'Isle sur la Sorgue is the ideal location for touring Provence. It is so close to everything that day trips are simple. Coming home at the end of the day was always a treat. Le Loft is exactly as picture, beautiful, tasteful, spacious, and completely updated. You will lack for nothing here. Two highly recommended restaurants are Mistral and Umami. Make reservations as soon as you arrive though, as these places fill quickly. The very best thing about Le Loft is the owner, Marlyse Pauget. Communication was easy and she always responded very quickly to any questions when booking. She truly cares about her guests and will do whatever is necessary to ensure you have a wonderful vacation. I needed assistance with a health problem and she drove from her village to come to assist me and had it resolved in a few minutes. She is just remarkable! I would not hesitate to highly recommend Le Loft des Antiquaries and hope to have the good fortune to return one day. Thanks so much Marlyse!

Reviewed by : Sean

Brisbane Australia

Date of stay: 2014-05-23

Pefection

Le Loft des Antiquaires is a large, beautifully decorated hideaway in the perfect L'isle sur la Sorgue. It is a great base to explore the hillside villages of Provence by car. We also did day trips to the Pont du Gard and Nimes, Avignon, Aix-en-provence and Cassis with no troubles. The town of L'isle is enchanting also and we loved spending our mornings and evenings uncovering the treasures located here. Marlyse is the perfect host and she took us through her tips for restaurants and things to do in the area (she also has these written down with an extensive folder she has put together for guests). This was a great thing to have as some of the tips she gave us were excellent and it is always nice to feel like you have local knowledge. This was the perfect experience and easily the best place we have stayed on all our travels, we felt so at home and welcome in le Loft that it was sometimes hard to leave it to explore beautiful Provence. Thanks so much for an excellent experience, I would highly recommend a stay in the Loft for superb holiday.

Reviewed by : Tina and Mickael

California, USA

Date of stay: 2014-05-01

Thank you so much!

Our time in Provence in late April was highlighted by our stay at the loft. L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue is a lovely town, and the perfect base location to branch out and enjoy the beautiful region. Coming back to the loft each day was a treat. The decor is incredibly well done(I’m stealing a few ideas for my home), and you couldn’t ask for a better sitting. I loved hearing the birds each morning from the patio, neing right next to the town square for market day, and the historical charm of the olf convent building. (Using the giant iron key every day made me smile, too.) Marlyse is a wonderful host and provides you with all the resources needed to make the most of your time there. I will absolutely recommend the loft to everyone I know that plans to visi Provence, and we will definitely call it home for our next trip, too. Thank you Marlyse !

Reviewed by : Deni

Luxembourg

Date of stay: 2014-04-26

We spent a wonderful week here

The Loft is beautiful and cosy. The area is awesome in April. We would recommend the villages around and long walks in the nature. Marlyse is the most lovely hostess. We are so thankful for the magic Easter week !!!

Reviewed by : Bernadette

Fayetteville, AR, USA

Date of stay: 2014-02-28

Perfect Pleasure

The Loft is perfectly designed for comfort, style and function. It layers the best of the present with the beauty and joys of the past. L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue certainly was an ideal hub for exploring the region, and the town itself was rich with delights. Marlyse was very graciously attentive to all the details of my incredible stay. I feel very grateful for the experience.

Reviewed by : The Milfords

San Jose, CA

Date of stay: 2013-05-22

We will be back...

We would love to take 'Le Loft des Antiquaires' home with us to California. The apartment captures the old and the new. Everywhere you look is another treasure. We always looked forward to coming 'home' to 10, rue Danton after a day of exploring. It was so restful and secluded yet 50 steps from the weekly markets.

Reviewed by : TCs

London

Date of stay: 2013-06-25

Life in a real French town

We recently stayed at the loft and had a wonderful holiday. This first rate property has been stylishly renovated and decorated. The owner, Marlyse was very helpful and friendly. Her restaurant recommendations were spot on and there were even guide books provided. The town itself has a real buzz and I loved the twice weekly markets and the antique shops. You feel like you are in a "real" French town. There are masses of places to visit nearby and things to do but sitting outside the Cafe De France in the square had to be one of my favourite.

Reviewed by : Fi and Jo

Arizona

Date of stay: 2013-07-04

A wonderful place!

Yes we could live here! The place is decorated with superb taste, the surroundings are quiet and the total ambience is perfect. Marlyse has been very helpful in recommending restaurants, etc…in particular we liked Umami and La Balade des Saveurs. All in all a memorable experience.

Reviewed by : Thom K

Victoria, Australia

Date of stay: 2013-07-17

Terrific base

Terrific l’Isle base – stylish and comfortable location perfect for stepping straight into markets, music, restaurants, and for setting off on bicycle rides. We hired bikes and rode to Avignon, Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Gordes, Fontaine-de-Vaucluse… You will enjoy it.

Reviewed by : Maria

Auckland

Date of stay: 2013-09-02

Great sense of style

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Loft Antiquaire. Marlyse has renovated and equipped the apartment with an amazing sense of style in keeping with the image of Isle sur la Sorgue. The bed was comfortable (most important) and the private parking very convenient. We can certainly recommend it.

Reviewed by : The Johnsons

Auckland, New Zealand

Date of stay: 2013-09-03

C'est magnifique!!!

We had a wonderful stay in the "Loft des Antiquaires" and Marlyse, your style is superb, such a pleasure to come home to each day after exploring this beautiful part of France. One week later we both feel we have become part of the local community outside the front door and everyone has made us feel so welcome. Your recommendations starting from the Boulangerie to the wonderful Fromager for a wine at the end of a day. Wining and dining each evening trying beautiful creations… Cafe de France says it all about the local people (they adore your front door key)

Reviewed by : murray

Australia

Date of stay: 2013-09-24

Home from home

An ideal home away from home thoughtfully equiped tastefully decorated, spacious and comfortable. A great place from which to explore Provence.

Reviewed by : Jennie C

Brisbane, Australia

Date of stay: 2013-10-09

Excellent!

L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue what a great place in central Provence to explore the beautiful hillside villages of France. The Loft is well situated in l’Isle sur la Sorgue, very central. The car parking arrangements are excellent. The set-up of the loft is excellent. Marlyse is an excellent host, her library & advice on Provence are excellent.

Reviewed by : JB

Oxford, PA, USA

Date of stay: 2013-11-09

Great for two

Great location! great food! wonderful accomodations! for two it was great- thank you Marlyse, you are a great host.

Reviewed by : WineinPA

Pennsylvania, USA

Date of stay: 2013-11-02

Excellent Accommodations and Location!!

This is our third time back to the area and first time to Isle-sur-la Sorgue. The owner, Marlyse, was most gracious, accomodating and informative. The loft is furnished and decorated to perfection. Every detail is well thought out and the materials, appliances etc... are of the highest quality! The location is right in the old historic center of L'Isle. You can literally walk to any of the villages' many excellent restaurants and shops. If you want the combination of a beautiful jewel of a property in the best location possible, the Loft des Antiquaires is for you! You will not be disappointed! Merci beaucoup Marlyse!