Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Mary

New York, USA

Date of stay: 2018-10-10

A dream come true

An opportunity is waiting for someone who wants to experience what it is like to live in Provence. Bonnieux is a perfect place to experience Provence at it’s best and this apartment is a dream come true. The attention to detail is amazing. My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay there this fall and look forward to going back again.

Reviewed by : Griffin

New York City

Date of stay: 2018-07-14

Could not have been better

We could not have had a more perfect experience. The apartment is situated on a beautiful street just a short distance from the town square (where you can park your car all days but Market Day) and all the delicious restaurants. On market day you can park your car a bit further away, but it’s entirely worth it because the market runs down right in front of the apartment! (Keep in mind their home is on the second floor, so you aren’t bothered by it at all). As for the home itself, it is decorated in a beautiful red and yellow theme that matches the French countryside perfectly. Local art on the wall helps depict how the building looked throughout the town’s history and its transformation. The kitchen was magnificent and one of the most up to date kitchens I have ever seen in Europe. To assist the hidden chef inside of everyone, the kitchen is stocked with a plethora of spices in additional to the fresh herb plants on the terrace for use. After dinner, you can play the many games they provide out on the beautiful terrace while drinking a glass of wine. Kathy and Charley provided us with a long list of things we could do and even helped to orchestrate a personal experience with a local winery. In addition to that, they provided information on the market day for all the local towns and where in town we could rent bikes (strongly suggest electric ones!). Everyone in Bonnieux was incredibly friendly and when you mentioned you were staying in Kathy and Charley’s apartment, they lit up and even gave us special treatment. We spent a over 2.5 weeks touring the French countryside and our stay in Bonnieux was by far our favorite. The home, Bonnieux and Provence were just wonderful and we could not thank Kathy and Charley for a better experience.

Reviewed by : Anne

Nova Scotia, Canada

Date of stay: 2018-04-25

A highlight in our travel memories

My mother and I spent a week in this beautiful apartment and found it an enjoyable experience from our initial contact and booking through to check-out! The apartment and the town are both wonderful; this is truly a wonderful base from which to explore the Luberon and beyond. The apartment itself is a dream – Charley and Kathy have thought of everything a traveller could want. The bedrooms are spacious and bright, with comfortable beds and linen, good storage space for clothes and personal items, and thoughtful touches like the little flashlight on the bedside table, making middle of the night bathroom breaks a breeze! The bathroom is up a few steps, with plenty of shelf space and towels, good pressure and lots of hot water, and also has a sweet view out over the rooftops. The living room is cosy and comfy, with a great library of books and DVDs for when you feel like reading or watching a movie (such as “A Good Year,” which we discovered was filmed just a couple kms away!) We spent most of our indoor time in the kitchen (it’s what Nova Scotians do! haha). We ate out most evenings, but I’ve no doubt this well-equipped kitchen could handle any meal a person might want to create. And that brings me to the terrace…le sigh! A marvellous spot to relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of the streets below, and soak in the gorgeous colours of the changing sky as the sun sets across the valley. I even enjoyed sitting out in the soft air, under the roof, watching the rain one afternoon. Bonnieux is a delight – not too small, not too big – and has all the amenities we needed, including an ATM, bakery (mouth-watering treats and delicious quiches), an extensive weekly market, small supermarket, charming streets with lots of shops, and, at the top, a stunning view of the valley. Our favourite restaurants were L’Heure Bleue, and the exquisite l’Arôme, which is right outside the apartment door. We’ve stayed in many rental apartments, and this one is a highlight that will stand out in our travel memories. I don’t hesitate to highly recommend it to anyone considering a visit to Provence!

Reviewed by : L&D

Massachusetts

Date of stay: 2018-04-02

Impossible not to come back

One week at Bonheur en Bonnieux, wasn’t nearly enough. In 2016 we’d left there early on a Friday morning after a too-short week. When we went out the door with our luggage to head for the parking lot, baskets of strawberries lined the street facing Place Gambetta. Bonnieux market day! How could we be leaving? “We have to come back and arrange it so we have two Bonnieux market days,” we said to ourselves. We headed out, leaving the square as it was filling up with fruit, vegetable, cheese, sausage, and chicken vendors along with soap, scarf, textile, jewelry sellers, and many others. Two years later, in 2018, we were back, this time for two weeks, and two Bonnieux market days. We took hikes we hadn’t had time for in 2016 thanks to Kathy’s excellent instructions. We went to the incomparable l’Arôme Restaurant, just under the awning below the apartment. We had two weeks of sunsets, a pottery fair, winery visits, and valleys full of cherry trees in bloom. We gave ourselves two of the l’Isle-sur-Sorgue Sunday market, one of the liveliest street parties in Provence. The second time around, we barely packed maps and books since we knew Kathy and Charley had bookshelves of them. Moreover, following their descriptions of activities guests might enjoy, we had best insider travel advice anyone could ask for. No need to buy spices since the kitchen is outfitted like ours at home only with Provençal yellow and red pottery and beautiful local art. The terrace is like the prow of a ship, overlooking Bonnieux’s main street and the tradespeople we frequented–the butcher, the baker, the candle stick (antique) seller. They’re all there, just meters away from Bonheur en Bonnieux. So, oui, we passed two relaxing and joyous weeks’ worth of “bonheurs.”

Reviewed by : Rebecca A.

Ann Arbor, MI

Date of stay: 2017-04-17

Happiness in Bonnieux

If you want to experience life in an authentic French village, this is your place. Step out the front door in the morning, and get your croissants or baguette. Savor your breakfast from your own patio overlooking the street in your village. You will quickly be recognizing faces and greeting your French friends with a smile and bonjour. The apartment is completely comfortable and thoughtfully furnished. The beds are comfortable and towels and linens are good quality. The kitchen is very well equipped if you want to do your own cooking. I have rented before from VRBO and this apartment is by far the best equipped. Although you are on a street, the apartment is very quiet. You receive very clear communications from the owners and their response is always quick. I had always wanted to live village life in France. Bonnieux and this apartment were a dream come true for me.

Reviewed by : Linda

Colorado, USA

Date of stay: 2016-06-16

Couldn't be nicer!

My husband and I stayed in this very comfortable and perfectly located apartment for a week and wish we had booked it for longer. We've spent a few weeks each summer over the last 9 years in the Luberon and can't get enough of it. This is the first time that we tried a village setting. What fun to be in the middle of town! It's out the door and just a few steps for a wonderful restaurant, a few more steps to pick up croissants to munch while sipping coffee on the veranda that overlooks the city. This apartment is a delight with everything you could possibly want in a rental and more. All rooms were spotless with a spacious kitchen that was fully stocked and lovely Provençal touches and local artists prints throughout. This is truly a home away from home and one the owners have furnished and supplied to make it the most pleasant stay possible. We loved it and plan to return and that's proof positive of our recommendation. Timely, detailed and accurate communication made the booking and the arrival easy. A bookcase full of guidebooks and the owners personal suggestions will give any guest resources to fully enjoy the beautiful Luberon area. I do not exaggerate, we loved it and highly recommend it.

Reviewed by : Edy

US

Date of stay: 2015-10-08

We Stayed As If We Were Guests in Owners' Home

We felt as if we were guests in the Woods' home. Thank you Kathy! Before our trip and during our stay in their apartment the owners were remarkably helpful in responding to trip planning (complicated since we were meeting my cousin from Germany + we're from the US) + other questions. The village is beautiful + the people are friendly. The apartment is pretty, and comfortable + well-located. Also -as others have mentioned - the kitchen is well-stocked - we had everything we could have wanted in terms of equipment, condiments, and paper + other goods. There's only 1 bathroom + it's on a different level from the other rooms (there are stairs up to it) which I thought might be a problem during the night - but everything is well-lit - so it was no problem. Also- the owners have provided (in the apartment) detailed information about the apartment, the town + the region - which was really helpful!

Reviewed by : B&L

Port Moody, Canada

Date of stay: 2015-07-29

Fabulous apartment in beautiful Bonnieux

We spent two weeks in Bonnieux in late July/early August at the Wood's apartment and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our vacation. First of all, Bonnieux is a beautiful little village in the Luberon Valley and is the perfect "home base" from which to explore the many pretty villages and gorgeous scenery in this part of Provence. Secondly, this apartment is perfectly situated at the base of the hill in Bonnieux (helpful if you wish to minimize your hill climbing), close to many fine restaurants, the weekly farmers market, boulangeries, cafes and other amenities. Thirdly, the apartment itself is perfect. It is clean, bright and spacious. Walking in the front door, we felt like we had come home. We really appreciated the artwork displayed on the walls. The covered terrace off the kitchen is a real bonus. We spent many wonderful hours on the terrace, eating, sipping wine and relaxing in the warmth of a gentle afternoon breeze. The kitchen is the best equipped of any apartment we have rented in France during the past several years. You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay in this apartment. Our only regret is that we didn't stay for two weeks more. Perhaps next time. Enjoy!

Reviewed by : Robert

Quebec, Canada

Date of stay: 2015-06-17

Bonheur in Bonnieux

We spent a glorious month in Kathy and Charley's wonderful apartment in the beautiful hill town of Bonnieux. As soon as we walked in the door it felt like home. The pictures on the web do not give you a sense of how great the place is. From the well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, lovely art work and delightful terrace, everything has been carefully chosen to ensure your well being and comfort. We loved that the apartment was situated in a village with fine restaurants, butcher shop, boutiques, art galleries and Monsieur Guy's fantastic boulangerie. Bonnieux is located within 30 minutes to an hour's drive of all the places we wanted to visit in the Luberon. We loved hiking the trails recommended by Kathy. We especially loved the markets bursting with delicious fresh produce which enabled us to prepare almost all our meals, eaten outside on the terrace with a view. We appreciated the air conditioning on those few days we really needed it and the washing machine, clothes pins and collapsible drying rack. This has been one of our best adventures. The Luberon with its plants and animals, the sun, the Roman and medieval architecture, the markets, the incredible food and wine have been, for us new to the region, all unique and seductive. Being fluent in French, we were taken in by the openness and generosity of the people here. The lavender fields took our breath away. We hope to return, but in a different season for a different experience. In the interim we hope Provence stays the same and globalization does not rob its soul. Thank you Kathy and Charley for your patience in answering all our questions and helping make this a perfect vacation. We loved your perfect Bonheur!

Reviewed by : Gavin C

USA

Date of stay: 2015-03-22

Home away from home

We've stayed in apartments throughout France and Italy for over 40 weeks at different times in the last 15 years and the Wood's apartment is the best we've experienced. Not only is the kitchen as well appointed as you would expected in your own home, the beds are comfy, the furnishings tasteful and the location perfect. Despite being seasoned slow travellers, Bonnieux worked some sort of magic and slowed us down even further. We really could have spent 4 weeks or more to explore the Luberon. There were days when we planned on visiting four other villages and only made it to two. Other days we settled for a leisurely one and probably experienced more. Kathy's advise on visiting Cassis was absolutely brilliant. While a 90 minutes drive away, the 6 hours we spent there were sublime. Admittedly it was early spring and the hordes from Marseille were yet to descend on the town, however we'd even brave them for a repeat visit. One of the highlights was overcoming a terror of heights and cliffs when we accidentally climbed "the Hidden Staircase" at Fort Buoux. The easy path taken afterwards lead to the Roman settlement on top of the ridge and the tranquillity to calm the beating heart. Thanks Kathy & Charley for sharing your second home.

Reviewed by : Bette

Montana, USA

Date of stay: 2014-10-08

Bonheur IS happiness!

Bonheur in Bonnieux, Provence was my first experience in France and it will not be my last. Bonnieux is a charming village and the apartment is so centrally located that you can, from your patio perch, watching all that is going on from morning to evening. The Woods have thoughtfully provided everything one could need, including guidebooks, a detailed notebook about the apartment, the local places, etc. In addition, one is welcomed to the Provencal-decorated home with a bottle of wine, olives, and grapes! My goal was to experience village life and one can certainly do it from here, in complete confort, withOUT a car if you choose. I recommend this rental without reservation! Bonne vacance!

Reviewed by : Marti

Virginia, USA

Date of stay: 2014-07-05

July in Provence

I just returned from a 3 week stay at this wonderful apartment in Bonnieux. It is hard to describe just how great this place is. It is in the center of the fabulous village of Bonnieux. Walking distance to everything. You practically fall into the the cafés and shops. The view from the terrace and bedrooms is of both the village and the gorgeous Luberon mountains. The kitchen is charming and has everything you need, including a dinning table. The Provençal theme is throughout and makes you feel right at home. Kathy and Charley have thought of everything. I met wonderful artists and shopkeepers in Bonnieux and will remember them always. They were so hospitable! My daughter joined me the 3rd week and we had a wonderful "girls" getaway. She loved the apartment and Provence as much as I did! I wholeheartly recommend this charming "home away from home" during your visit to Provence! Thanks Kathy and Charley for a memorable trip!

Reviewed by : Tim

Adelaide, Australia

Date of stay: 2014-05-30

Brilliant Bonheur!

We were sooo glad we stayed at this apartment - it is clean, tidy, well-equipped, and in a superb location in the centre of Bonnieux village. Everything is as advertised on the website, and I couldn't think of anything you would need that wasn't already provided in the apartment. There are restaurants within a stones throw as well at the bakery, butcher etc. It's a perfect base for exploring the local Luberon area, and there are lots of other villages within a short drive from Bonnieux. Kathy, the owner, was a dream in arranging the rental & it all happened very seamlessly. Many thanks! If you are looking for a wonderful relaxing place to stay that is reasonable priced, you won't regret this one!

Reviewed by : Merle

US

Date of stay: 2013-10-12

We gave it an A++

The apartment entrance was located on a small pedestrian street right in the middle of the village. After parking with no problem, we got our suitcases from the car and walked down the short, narrow street to the apartment. We unlocked the door and walked into a small cheerful foyer on the first floor. Then we pulled our suitcases up the staircase to the second floor. We were happy when we saw that the apartment looked exactly as we remembered in the photos. The bright colors on the kitchen walls highlighted the white cabinetry, furniture and linens, especially the glass door cupboard where the beautiful pottery dishes were kept. A round table with four chairs was covered with a Provencal tablecloth. The kitchen is fairly large with new appliances, including a washing machine, stove and dishwasher. It is supplied with a very nice coffee maker/espresso machine. The refrigerator-freezer was large. The cabinets were well equipped with very nice cooking utensils, dishes, and glassware. We needed nothing that wasn't already supplied. We were pleased with the two large bedrooms, one was decorated in blue/white and the other in a muted red. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were top quality, with several pillows to choose from. The bathroom had a nice stall shower, with never ending hot water. The storage space in the bathroom was adequate. There was a hairdryer provided, along with fluffy, large towels. We found it nice to have a window in the bathroom to get fresh air and provide extra light during the day. A binder with information was provided. This binder was a wealth of information. It also included the directions to the small, well supplied grocery a short walk away. Within twenty minutes of time we had picked up supplies for the next few days. For dinner the first night we walked up the small pedestrian street, a two minute walk, to the restaurant/bar that had been mentioned in the owners' binder. The food was delicious, the house wine was very drinkable and a friendly staff made us feel at home. We ate there several nights that week. After our lovely dinner, we walked around the village then realized we were very tired. We slept well, knowing that we had made a good choice to stay in Kathy and Charley Woods' wonderful apartment for our week in Bonnieux. Both my friend, and I would recommend this apartment to all our friends and family. We gave it an A++.

Reviewed by : James

Irvine, CA

Date of stay: 2013-11-24

'Bonheur', yes it is!

our thanks note to Kathy: "kathy: thanks for sharing your lovely home with us. what a wonderful and memorable time we had in provence. your 'Bonheur Bonnieux' well deserves 5 stars, in terms of the quality/ convenience and location of the apt, and the authentic beauty of provencial village of Bonnieux. especially, even in the late of Nov. we had enjoyed local fruits/ products and been impressed with authentic local/ rustic provencial cuisines. we wish for another opportunity coming back to the 'Bonheur Bonnieux' soon. warm regards, james."

Reviewed by : Cynthia

Chicago IL

Date of stay: 2013-06-22

Beautiful Bonnieux Apartment

I cannot rave about this apartment enough! I have always wanted to visit Provence and stay in a local home. My husband was leery of staying in a private rental but our stay in the Woods' apartment has converted him! We had several contacts with the owners prior to finalizing the rental and they were so knowledgable and helpful that we knew the accolades we had read from National Geographic Travel about their tours extended to their private rental as well. The apartment is located in a wonderful small village in Provence with easy access by car to other towns you might want to see but there is plenty to do in Bonnieux as well including the excellent Friday market. I have read the other reviews and agree with all of the positive things they say. The attention to detail was amazing. The apartment is clean and bright. Even though it was a very warm week while we were there, we never missed air conditioning. When the winds picked up, the windows were amazingly windproof! I want to highlight a few things I haven't seen mentioned in other reviews. We stayed here in the middle of a 15 day trip and it was wonderful to have a clothes washer and drying rack to use. It meant we could travel with just carry-on luggage! I made liberal use of the kitchen and always had everything I needed to prepare our meals. The Woods also made it easy to pack a picnic to take while exploring some of the other towns. They had a soft-sided cooler and several "blue ice" packets available to borrow. We did eat at several of the restaurants and bought pastries every morning from the boulangeries down the street. It was clear that the Woods have made a positive impression on the townspeople - just mentioning that we were staying in their apartment increased the warmth of the smiles we received. We had one of the best meals of our lives at the L'Arome restaurant just across the street from the apartment.

Reviewed by : Anon

USA

Date of stay: 2013-07-22

Even Better Than It Looks in the Picture

The pictures on this page show you how beautiful the apartment is, but they cannot show you the quality of even the smallest detail in how it has been finished and decorated. Everything in this apartment shows that it has only just been done and done with a deep knowledge of what travelers want and need. We were so lucky to be able to stay here as among the first people to get to share it with the Wood family. The location could not be more central; if you like walking to restaurants, for example, you'll love that there are five within a short walk including L'Arome which is literally next door. By the way, we had a wonderful dinner there, one of the best we had this summer, and I have to say that Rick Steves is incorrect when he says that the best tables are on the terrace. Do what we did: get a table just inside the restaurant and next to the tables on the terrace. The best of both places. And check out the kitchen if you always wanted to see what a really professional French restaurant kitchen looked like when it was in top gear. The first morning we were there, and every morning afterward, I became aware at 5:30 a.m. that both of the boulangeries were baking bread. They are each about twenty yards from the door of the apartment and we had our bedroom window open. My wife was still asleep so she missed it. But the two things that make me happy when I smell them in the morning are coffee and fresh bread baking. Each moning when we went to either boulangerie, the bread we got was still warm. Yum. While each room has its charm, my favorite was the kitchen. It's big, the appliances are new and first rate, the color scheme is delightful, and the view out over the terrace and onto the Luberon valley is wonderful. I did not cook much while we were there because so many good restaurants were just outside the door, but if I had I could have used any of the really complete set of kitchen ware provided, including everything from top-of-the-line enamel coated pots to toothpicks. In the kitchen, as in each of the rooms, the owners have decorated the walls with delightful posters and paintings of local scenes by a local artist (whom you can meet at her atelier in a nearby town). When we arrived at the apartment, we were happy to find a cold bottle of rose in the fridge and two, not one but two, beautiful big bowls on cool, fresh local fruit.It was touches like that which let us know that the owners were in touch with what a traveler wants. Very highly recommended.

Reviewed by : Chris

Sacramento, CA

Date of stay: 2013-06-03

I LOVED this apartment!

This is an extraordinary apartment. It’s in a perfect location in the center of a beautiful Provençal village, it’s thoughtfully furnished and equipped, but more than all of that, it’s full of the joy and spirit of Provence – beautiful colors in every room, paintings of local scenes on the walls, and a kitchen full of cheerful Provençal dishes in red and yellow. The location is fantastic, right in the center of Bonnieux, on the second floor (up one flight of stairs) for minimal noise, maximum privacy and beautiful views. Plentiful free parking is available in lots nearby, and cafes, restaurants, shops, and the big Friday market are all just a few steps from the door. I especially loved the kitchen and terrace. I’ve stayed in a lot of vacation rentals, but this kitchen is by far the best-equipped I’ve ever seen. Everything is spotless, all of the equipment is in great condition and you’ll find everything you need to cook and serve gourmet meals. There’s a good-sized table in the kitchen and another on the terrace just outside the kitchen. The living room is a cozy place to relax, with several great movies set in Provence among the highlights of a thoughtfully selected collection of movies, books and music. I was alone so I used only the red bedroom, which was comfortable and quiet. The bathroom is up a short flight of stairs, but it is light and bright and clean and has a very good shower. The owners were great to deal with, and when they asked after my stay if I had any suggestions for improvement, I couldn’t think of a single thing. It’s perfect as is.

Reviewed by : Aggie

Massachusetts

Date of stay: 2013-04-20

Bonheur Bonnieux lives up to its name!!

I had the distinct pleasure of being its first rental occupant and have to say that while I had high expectations about how this apartment would look and feel, I was still very pleasantly surprised by everything I experienced. This is clearly an apartment that was furnished and equipped to meet the needs and wants of an owner-occupant. This mean that I was surrounded by loving touches everywhere I went… tasteful artwork, thoughtful practical items, and attention to all the other little things that make a house a home. Some examples…a kind gesture of welcome, which included fresh fruit, a crusty baguette, and a chilled bottle of Eau alongside a starter bottle of Rose in the fridge. Then for my morning coffee I had a choice of a french press, if I wanted to wait the four minutes to brew, or I could use the time saving Tassimo, complete with an array of starter coffees. All I needed to do on morning one was roll out of that comfy bed, throw on some sweats and walk the 30 seconds to the boulangerie for my morning croissant and return to my little bit of heaven to enjoy my petit dejeuner. How lucky can you be? The apartment is fabulous, charming, and comfortable. There are windows that look out on the street scenes of this enchanting town, as well as both bedroom windows that offer a stunning view of the valley below the town. The covered terrace offers pure delight when the sun is shining, and shelter when it’s not. In short there is not a thing I would change if it were my very own. Kudos to the owners. For me aside from all the wonderful creature comforts of feeling at home, it’s also about location and feeling connected to the community, so this apartment can’t be beat…I just can’t wait to return to visit the wonderful markets at Coustellet, Lourmarin, Gordes, and Forcalquier once again and enjoying the bounty of great foods that await.