Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Hilton

Venice

Date of stay: 2020-09-01

Charm galore

In the middle of Covid we drove across from Venice and discovered the charming house in Saignon we had spotted only in photos. Well, the reality was even better.The village is a gem and the house felt like home. We were met by Joanna who was so so helpful in showing us the ropes. My wife and I were joined by my brother and his wife and we all enjoyed many lunches on the terrace in total privacy. We explored many of the surrounding villages and our conclusion at the end was that Saignon would always have been our first choice. We hope to return.

Reviewed by : Linda B

Scotland UK

Date of stay: 2019-06-08

Lovely Home from Home

Beautiful accommodation which is a real home from home. Everything is supplied and the house is really well equipped. Very spacious and comfortable with beautiful views. The house was very clean and thank you for the lovely welcome goodies and the friendly welcome from Joanna. We loved the village of Saignon and trips to the boulangerie. A great location to explore the area from. We were sad to leave and wish our holiday had been longer. We look forward to returning at some point in the future. Thank you for sharing your well loved home.

Reviewed by : JAAK

Denmark

Date of stay: 2018-05-04

Home away from home

We had a great time staying at Belle Lumiére in the beautiful village of Saignon. The house was spotlessly clean and very well maintained. It was fully equipped with BBQ, wash machine, fridge. The spacious kitchen was very well outfitted. All the rooms were beautifully furnished and both terraces had great views. The location was perfect for touring Provence and it was a pleasure after a long day to return to the house and enjoy the evening on the terrace. The owners of the house were very accommodating and easy to deal with. The house manager was friendly and gave us a very warm welcome. She provided us with lots of information on what to see and do and was a great help to us. We would highly recommend Belle Lumiére to anyone.

Reviewed by : Linda N

West Coast of Canada

Date of stay: 2018-04-26

Beautiful home and location

Our recent stay at Belle Lumiere was fantastic. The home is wonderful, with its stone features, great kitchen and lovely balconies. We received detailed instructions about how to get to Saignon, and were greeted by Joanna, who helped us get settled in and gave us tips on the local markets and places to go. Saignon is situated in the centre of the Luberon and it was easy to travel to other villages from that location. We would love to have extended our stay!

Reviewed by : Summer

Hampshire, England

Date of stay: 2015-10-28

Stunning Belle Lumiere with ever changing light

A beautiful property with everything to make your stay comfortable . The house is extremely well equipped, very spacious and beautifully kept. Everything has been thought out so well. Lovely log fire for cooler evenings. The view from the terrace is quite wonderful and in any weather it is a delight. Amazing sunsets, and at this time of year the autumn colours are stunning. Even in a storm the view is exciting. I have stayed here in two contrasting seasons and enjoyed both equally. Being in the delightful village is a great bonus and nearby Apt is a delight with its weekly Saturday market. We always leave here wanting to return as soon as possible.

Reviewed by : DI

Canada

Date of stay: 2015-09-21

A special place

We stayed at Belle Lumiere for a week in early September and enjoyed our time. The house is lovely, spacious and quiet, with beautiful views and amazing light at sunset. Our adult children (with partner) joined us; it was their first time in France, so we were happy they could experience a French village and touring the local markets and countryside. The house provided plenty of privacy and never felt crowded. Marvin ensured the booking arrangements were seamless, and Joanna and Paul provided great support on the ground. For a vacation in popular Provence but set apart from the crowds, Saignon is a special place.

Reviewed by : DP

Houston TX

Date of stay: 2015-04-25

Great place to stay in the Luberon, Provence

My husband and I stayed at Belle Lumiere for one week (April 25-May 2). The home has lots of room and is completely updated. Saignon is a quiet and small, but very friendly, perched village and it's a perfect location for touring the Luberon. The home has fabulous views from the patios (and from the inside through large windows). We opted to stay home and cook on several evenings, since we like to cook and we weren't always up for maneuvering the narrow and winding roads in the dark. Also, we enjoyed eating the beautiful produce we'd purchased at the markets. The kitchen in Belle Lumiere was well-equipped and laid out perfectly for this. The property owner was very easy to work with and provided lots of helpful information (this was our first trip to Provence). The local caretakers, Joanna and Paul, were fabulous - very friendly and quick to respond if we needed anything. There are lots of stairs in the home, so probably wouldn't work well for those that have an issue with going up and down steps.

Reviewed by : Roseann

CT, USA

Date of stay: 2015-05-09

Tranquil and spacious for two couples

The four of us arrived May 9 for a delightful week in this lovely home. The design and decor provided modern day comforts as we imagined the history of being tucked into a hilltop fortress. We chose the house based on the photos and its having two full private baths for each couple. There was amble living space and a well designed kitchen. We toured many villages in Luberon during the week and realized that we had stumbled upon a special village by choosing Saigon. We took quiet walks each night from Belle Lumiere through the narrow streets and passed by the little bakery that we visited each morning for our croissants. Everything went well from the booking to our departure. The owner is a very pleasant and polite gentleman and his representative, Joanna, greeted us upon our arrival with great warmth and friendliness.

Reviewed by : Summer

Surrey, UK

Date of stay: 2014-08-02

Summer in Saignon

I felt sure our trip would be successful because of the straightforward, friendly and helpful approach of Marvin, the owner of the property. It was to be the case. Contact details for arrival were good and Joanna who care-takes the house was helpful and contacted us in good time before arrival, often these details are overlooked and do not work as they should. The house is actually more lovely than the photos portray. It is good being at the lower end of the village as it is easier for parking, and Belle Lumiere has a designated parking space right outside the front door. I was a little concerned at the typically French stone stairs, and the house has a lot of steps and several staircases. Thus I was glad we did not bring our 3 year old grand child on this part of the trip. But this is a village house and it is to be expected and the house has been converted most expertly. We had a 13 year old with us who absolutely adored the whole adventure. Perfect for this age group. The entire house has lovely windows opening out onto glorious little vistas especially from the kitchen which is first class, high standard, with all that you could want. It has been cleverly conceived, not cluttered in any way, yet everything you could ever need is provided in the entire house. There are basic stores in the larder cupboard and plenty of cleaning materials. Unusually for rented accommodation, even those rated 5 stars, the fridge freezer was large. Also the most tasteful china. Several options for dining and the terrace is heavenly with ever changing light and a most special view, and herbs for cooking right outside the door. Beds very comfortable, bedding high standard, comfy sofas and chairs, excellent library, best sofa bed I have seen. Bathrooms of a very high standard. We really felt we were at home, totally. I love the 'library' with little desk and my grandson loves, and now must have, the chair with footstool! The village is quite the most lovely of all the perched villages, everyone is so very friendly. We spent much time at Chez Christine, and the smoothies at Au Bonheur Du Jour are the best anywhere, generous quantities of glorious fruit. Another delightful restaurant/menu by the fountain, on two sides of the street, (name escapes me - will add). The village people seem quietly to accept new visitors in the most delightful way. We have had the most restful and blissful break I can ever remember, REALLY, Want to return soon.