Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Duncan cross

Leeds, UK

Date of stay: 2020-07-25

Stunning Property

This is a simply stunning property. The design, architecture, decor and facilities are second to none. It was perfect for our family of four. The kids absolutely loved the pool and the garden was superbly designed to catch the sunshine and shade balance perfectly. The interior specification is first class, matched only by the welcome and helpfulness of the hosts Isabelle and Jeremy. The location is perfect for exploring Provence and the Luberon, with so many wonderful villages on your doorstep. I also highly recommended Philippe at Cyclix (location de velos) for bike hire - he delivered them to our property and collected them 2 weeks later, and first class adult and kids road bikes . Overall, a wonderful stay on a first class property and location. We will be back !

Reviewed by : Anne

Bath, UK

Date of stay: 2019-09-10

Location, location, location!

This was our fourth visit to Maison Leontine and there are so many reasons why we keep coming back! The property is thoughtfully restored offering comfortable and stylish accommodation with absolutely every amenity provided. The private courtyard garden is a beautiful space to come ‘home’ to and a peaceful oasis away from the bustle of Provence life. But the real winner is location. Situated within the pretty village of Cabrieres d’Avignon, which has a superb bakery, general store, butcher and a restaurant, you are within easy reach of so many beautiful towns and villages in the Luberon area of Provence. The owners are great hosts with excellent knowledge of the area and they are always happy to recommend places to visit, local activities and the best restaurants/cafes to try. Although we have visited many times we still feel there is so much more to explore and do in the area as well as revisiting all of our favourite places; we will be back!

Reviewed by : Klaus & Mechtild

Berlin

Date of stay: 2018-10-17

Heaven in Provence

From the moment we opened the door of the Grand'Rue overlooking the courtyard of Maison Léontine we were convinced. Convinced first of all by the style, for us one of the essential conditions for a relaxing and therefore successful stay: the harmony of the different shades of green plants, ancient limestone walls with the modern concrete pool, the small runoff from the water of the fountain in the calm of the garden. Convinced then by the quality brought to the recent restoration of this 18th century residence over three floors: one feels that the owners transformed with care and love a village dwelling into a holiday rental home. The interiors are styled with lightness of touch and materials. The ground floor is spacious enough to get together for lunch or dinner in the dining-room / living room / kitchen together in one big room. Preparing meals is also a real pleasure because the appliances and kitchen tools are of quality; the lighting is good, the electrical equipment intelligently planned, the hooks where you want them! The two upper floors, accessed by an impressive centuries-old stone staircase each contain a beautiful bathroom and a large bedroom. This is good not only because the beds are comfortable, but because again the old (floor tiles, beamed ceilings) and the modern (faucets, heating) are married very well. So we liked to come back home after bike trips (Menerbes, Bonnieux) or by car (Avignon, Baux de Provence for example). And all the more so because we did not choose to come in the high season, but for an autumn week. Visiting Provence at this time when there are fewer visitors is a pleasure.

Reviewed by : JP

USA

Date of stay: 2018-09-09

A wonderful house

A stay in Maison Leontine is a gift that keeps on giving. In the kitchen “French Country” décor hides 21st century appliances and clever choices that can be made with the dimmer-connected lighting system. A trip up the original stone stair case leads to the second and third floors and the two bedrooms, one on each floor. Each bedroom has a “Master Bath” with “telephone” and overhead showers. The rooms connecting to the top floor are carefully decorated and hold an amazing array of books (mostly in English) and games. The views from the windows are of court yards and medieval townscape. Two couples could enjoy the ground floor living space and court yard together but have complete privacy each in their own bed/bath suite.

Reviewed by : Hanna

Maryland

Date of stay: 2018-09-02

Unforgettable experience

Spending a week at Maison Leontine was an unforgettable experience of modern French living in a 500 year old village. The house itself is a restored 240 year old farmhouse very tastefully designed by combining elements of original stone staircase and ceiling beams, with latest kitchen and bathroom facilities. We had our breakfast in the enclosed courtyard surrounded by flowering shrubs, an olive tree and to the sound of a fountain which fed a stonewall surrounded pool. Proprietor Isabelle Anne went out of her way to make us feel welcome and also made some local introductions. We made friends with the local baker who shared their children’s wedding picture with us, the butcher, grocer and the Vieux Bistro staff. The Sunday market, Lavender Museum and Supermarket are just 2 miles away. I highly recommend Maison Leontine and the village of Cabrieres d’Avignon.

Reviewed by : Sally

Perth, Western Australia

Date of stay: 2017-09-14

Our lovely villa

Loved our time in Maison Leontine. Thanks so much to Isabelle for being her endless patience with helping us to find everywhere we wanted to go. I especially appreciated the big bedrooms and bathrooms. The beds were so comfortable with georgous antique provincial beds and furniture. Lovely bed linen and towels too. The villa has a beautiful courtyard garden and pool and While providing every comfort it' hasn't lost its ancient magic. The little town has a great butcher and a baker who makes the best escargots ever. We loved the winding stone walls..I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here and look forward to going back there.

Reviewed by : Karen

Dallas, TX

Date of stay: 2016-10-08

A Year Later - Still Perfect

Maison Leontine and its owners, Isabelle Anne and Jeremy, played such an important role in the success of last year’s vacation (see our 2015 review) that we couldn’t wait to come back this year. We were happy to find everything the same and just as shown on the website – the house and courtyard were immaculate and inviting and fully outfitted to be our home away from home for the next two weeks. When we arrived, the weather was unseasonably cold but Isabelle Anne and Jeremy were right there to switch the air conditioning over to heat and they even brought supplies to build a cozy fire. As ever, they were full of helpful suggestions about things to see and do during our visit and always ready to help with reservations, directions and their many contacts around the area. On this trip we took advantage of the local markets and cooked a lot in the modern, fully equipped kitchen and sampled many local wines. Last year we enjoyed our wine in the sunny courtyard, this year in front of a roaring fire. The village shops, just steps away, conveniently provided what the markets didn’t. Our daily walks to the bakery were memorable – the butter croissants and that fabulous Gateau Saint Tropez! In addition to being comfortable and charming, we found Maison Leontine to be ideally situated to explore the Luberon and well beyond – we even made a quick trip over to Italy. Isabelle Anne and Jeremy are the perfect hosts and Maison Leontine is the place to stay for a wonderful vacation in Provence. We hope to be back soon!

Reviewed by : Renee and Michael

Canada

Date of stay: 2016-09-05

Perfectly Provençal

Maison Leontine was the perfect vacation property in a quiet village that really made you feel like it was your home - even if it was just for the week. It has been beautifully restored and furnished down to the smallest of details. Every window gives you wonderful views, whether it be of the gardens, the pool or village rooftops. This house is spacious and really does cater to a family of 4 or 2 couples. There is a very large bedroom and bathroom on the second and third floor. The village of Cabrieres D'Avignon is not a tourist destination, therefore, you will get to know the local baker, butcher and grocery store owner, just as though you live there. You are a quick drive to many other beautiful villages making it easy to plan your day and night trying out different restaurants. Many afternoons we returned to take a quick dip in the pool and enjoyed making dinner in the well equipped kitchen and dine on the terrace. Communication with the owner could not have been easier. Isabelle Anne was friendly and helpful in making sure we had everything we needed for the week, and completely accessible. D'Avignon has walking/hiking paths as well as cycling paths where you can easily rent bikes and cycle from town to town, or if you are like my husband, the more serious can climb Mt Ventoux, just an hour away (that will be our next trip). Markets are held every day of the week in a different village. We highly recommend this property and look forward to returning to this incredible property.

Reviewed by : Karen B

Dallas, TX

Date of stay: 2015-06-20

Perfect Vacation Home!

We just spent a wonderful week at Maison Leontine and must add our praises for this perfect vacation home. It certainly deserves more than 5 stars. The house was so comfortable and thoughtfully outfitted; it immediately felt like home. All of the modern conveniences were there but it still maintains its “old world” charm in a pet-free, smoke-free environment (thank you for the asthma-free week). The location was perfect with the shops just a minute’s walk away and Coustellet just down the road. From the house it was an easy drive into the Luberon and beyond. At the end of a long, hot day of sightseeing, it was so nice to return to the quiet, lush courtyard and take a refreshing dip in the pool. Not only was the house perfect, the owners were great as well. Isabelle Anne helped us all along the way. She was always accessible and her enthusiastic directions and suggestions really ensured the success of our vacation. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Maison Leontine to anyone planning a vacation in Provence and hope to return myself sometime soon.

Reviewed by : alex pt1

London

Date of stay: 2014-08-09

Brilliant house!!

We just came back from 2 wonderful weeks at Maison Leontine - I cannot praise the house enough! It was so comfortable, beautifully decorated, lovely sized bedrooms, amazing showers/bathrooms, excellent kitchen etc. The pool is beautifully designed as is the garden - it was such a lovely place to stay and come back to after our many excursions. The owners could not have been kinder or more accommodating - they do everything possible to make your stay memorable for all the right reasons. I am sure we will be back and have no hesitation in recommending this house to anyone. The village is charming, and the shops on your doorstep make this a fantastically easy place to be, and there are so many beautiful villages, walks, and activities on your doorstep.

Reviewed by : Natalie3

London

Date of stay: 2014-07-05

Perfection in Provence

Our recent stay in Maison Leontine was fantastic. The house is beautiful and looks like its straight from an interior magazine. The house/garden and pool is immaculate throughout with all the fixtures and fittings to a very high spec. A real home from home experience which really made our first visit to Provence. The location of the house in the village is excellent with all the local shops only 2-3 minutes walk from your doorstop. A quaint bakers (delicious pastries), butchers (fantastic Sausages) and village store is perfect for fresh supplies to be enjoyed daily in the beautiful garden. Cabrieres d'Avignon is a fantastic location, close by to all the beautiful neighbouring villages. A short 15 mins drive and you are in any of the other fairytale Louberon villages. The owners are extremely friendly and accommodating. They managed to source a high chair for our baby from a friend, really going over and above to make us feel welcome. They were extremely responsive to mails/SMS messages and nothing was ever too much to ask. We highly recommend this house, can't rave about it enough. We hope to be back and will be sending friends and family in the direction of Maison Leontine.

Reviewed by : Cindy

USA

Date of stay: 2014-06-28

Paradise in Provence

Wished I could give it more stars! <3 We stayed here for a week and fell madly in love with Maison Leontine, the town, the people and Provence. Maison Leontine was impeccably restored with all the modern day comforts, while retaining all the charm and ambiance of the home's history. We so appreciated the restoration and decorating that I think we took photos of every inch of the home! Planning this trip to Provence with my sister, we knew we wanted to stay some place that was beautiful, safe, with a pool, privacy and in a quieter village that was not overrun with tourists. Cabrières-d'Avignon is a beautiful, peaceful and charming village filled with friendly locals. Centrally located to all the highlights of Provence, it was a pleasure driving around enjoying some of the most beautiful panoramic views of lavender fields, villages and farms. Provence is a feast for the eyes and the soul. Maison Leontine is the perfect oasis to relax and be refreshed. We enjoyed eating outdoors, swimming in the pool and falling asleep outside by the pool listening to the sounds of the pool's waterfall. Loved the rain showers and the beds were so welcoming that sometimes it was hard getting up in the morning. The owner's Isabelle and Jeremy were wonderful. We have adopted them as our family in Provence and look forward to returning often. Prior to our visit, Isabelle was a wealth of information in helping us plan our car rental and TGV train tickets to Paris, restaurant recommendations and more. Thank you Isabelle for being so wonderful and welcoming! I've always dreamed of having a home in Provence, and now I do! Merci <3

Reviewed by : Michal

Germany

Date of stay: 2014-04-13

Perfect House for Best Vacation

Following one extremely magical week in Provence, we highly recommend"Maison Leontine". The house has perfect location in the heart of Luberon. It is new, clean, beautiful, has "personal touch" and fantastic design. The house is fully equipped and has all the required facilities for having a perfect family/romantic holiday. We appriciate the extermely warm attitude of the owners, who were kind and lovely, gave us great tips, thought of every detail for the convinience of us and our daughters. A place to comeback! Highly recommended!