Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Ei

Colorado

Date of stay: 2019-04-08

A Hidden Gem

The most charming accommodations in the region, Chez B in Ansouis had us at hello! Walking through the antique front doors into this stylish French Country Home we were immediately immersed in the culture. No detail was overlooked and all the comforts of home were provided. Six of us shared the home for a week. It was spacious, impeccably clean and neat. We were provided with a lovely welcome basket as well as a basket full of brochures, books and notes on what to do in the Luberon. One highlight was dining at La Closerie, a 5 minute walk away. We would have eaten there twice but could not get a second reservation so do book this in advance. The little market down the street had most of what we needed and there is a larger town about 15 minutes away with wonderful meat and fresh produce stands lining the streets. We went to markets every day in the surrounding towns, rented e-bikes and wineries. Chez B's location was ideal and we will be back!

Reviewed by : JW

Boston, Mass. USA

Date of stay: 2018-06-17

AMAZING PROVENCE!!!!

Amazing! Perfect place to enjoy the benefits and relaxation of the Valcuse Country side. The place was clean bright and extremely spacious with a outdoor patio for grilling and rooftop veranda for sunning are enjoying a glass of Rose de Provence! We highly recommend this accommodation and in fact already have sent friends and friends of friends this way! The owner listed out daily events in the in and around the immediate area allowing us to live like the locals! From tiny Sunday Markets, Truffle hunting in Cadenet, wine tasting and art walk at La Coste Vineyard, a week was not long enough! Extended day trips to Cassis, Avignon and Chatenuf de Pape made the week barely enough. We hated to leave and continue on to Paris! We will be back!

Reviewed by : EZ

Naples, Florida

Date of stay: 2017-10-04

A house oozing with charm and history

The minute you step through the door, you feel immersed in French country life and centuries of history. We stayed with a few other couples and sipping champagne by the giant fireplace was a treat. We stayed in the left room on the first floor up and our bed was super-comfortable. The modern shower had good water-pressure. Ansouis village is charming and well-located to explore the area. Dinner at the nearby La Closerie restaurant was delicious. Barbs, the owner, was professional and pleasant, with 18 years of knowledge about the village and area on offer. Too bad we didn't have time to cook, for we loved the ambiance of the kitchen as well.

Reviewed by : Washington

France

Date of stay: 2017-12-18

The perfect place to enjoy Provence

The perfect place to enjoy Provence. A comfortable house with all necessary amenities. Don't miss the Michelin starred restaurant down the street.

Reviewed by : ProvenceFan

LA, CA

Date of stay: 2017-05-17

Very special getaway

Wow, what fun, a great hostess, and attention to our needs. We used her new air conditioners 2 days and they were perfect. Nice facilities all in all, and very good kitchen. The upstairs terrace was our own private get away. This house is in the center of town and we walked to everything. Will come back

Reviewed by : josephine

West Meon, Hants

Date of stay: 2016-10-05

Gracious Luberon Home

This home was everything we expected: charming, spacious and perfectly located. The village of Ansouis is a gem, as are the town's people. And, the weather outstanding! We were two couples and we stayed the month of August. We enjoyed all aspects of the house, and in particular the roof terrace; perfect for reading, napping or sunning. The house is large enough that one could always find a spot to be alone. And, the kitchen allowed three of us to work, if necessary, without bumping into each other. The nearby villages were a short drive from Ansouis, making it easy to try new restaurants, shop or sightsee. Also, getting to towns like Aix-en-Provence, Arles, or Marseille was not difficult. My husband is an artist, and the countryside offered beautiful and inspiring vistas to paint, as did the village of Ansouis and the Chateau Ansouis. For artists, writers, or anyone looking for a true getaway I would highly recommend this home in the Luberon. The home's owner could not have been more helpful, before our arrival and after. We hope to return.

Reviewed by : JossieB

Savannah, Georgia

Date of stay: 2016-07-31

Village Life

We were two couples who stayed in Chez B during the month of August. It was everything we expected: charming, spacious, and perfectly located. The house offered pretty much all the amenities we have at home, but so much more! You knew you were in the south of France. The decor, the homes location, the town's people and the weather--warm, inviting, gracious, and not a cloud in the sky. It was the perfect house, and town, for a stay in the Luberon. And, my husband, who is an artist, could not have asked for a more beautiful country side, town, or the Chateau Ansouis to paint. It was all perfection. A short drive from Ansouis gets you to any of the nearby villages for dinner, shopping, or sightseeing. And, getting to places like Aix-en-Provence, Arles, or Marseille was not difficult nor very far. Finally, the owner, Barb, could not have been more helpful before our arrival in France and or after. We especially had a difficult time upon our arrival in Paris, because of an Air France cabin crew strike which resulted in our missing our connections to the south of France. But Barb knew what we should do, and where we to should stay, until we could make our connections the following day. All perfect; great customer service! For artists, writers, and anyone looking for a true getaway--go to Chez B in Ansouis. I don't think you'll regret it.

Reviewed by : WineTrekker

Nevada USA

Date of stay: 2014-10-05

Quintessentially Provencal Villa Oozes Charm and Comfort

If there is a lovelier vacation home to stay in, I haven't been there. Everything has been thought of: comfortable furnishings, comfortable beds, great linens, beautifully decorated throughout with a French country shabby chic vibe, gourmet kitchen, inviting rooftop wine patio to take in the gorgeous views, massive fireplace to make it ever so cozy in the winter, and situated in a charming little village with a Michelin starred restaurant (La Closerie) steps from the door. We will be back!

Reviewed by : cece

Mass.

Date of stay: 2014-05-01

shoulder season experience

This villa features completely renovated interiors to suit American sensibilities without sacrificing provencal charm. Beddings are superior and spa_like. gourmet kitchen stocked to detail. It"s location inside village is most convenient. just steps away from a Mechelin rated restaurant and wineries, one could actually do without auto rental for a complete experience. This was my third trip to this property and I am already planning my return!

Reviewed by : Tom

Washington

Date of stay: 2013-05-12

Beautiful home

This property is a very special place with wonderful old world charm combined with modern amenities. The location is ideal for exploring the Luberon area with easy access to Aix en Provence, Cassis and Avignon. Ansouis is a charming little village and very close to one of our favorite villages, Lourmarin. This home has a full kitchen which is great for cooking gourmet meals with food bought at the various farmers markets held in nearby villages throughout the week. In Pertuis which is only a short drive, there is a large supermarket for other supplies not available at local markets. This home has a charming outdoor patio with a lovely fountain just off the living room. The living room features a lovely wood burning fire place which creates a wonderful ambiance in the evening. It also has a very comfortable outdoor terrace on the top floor which is ideal for enjoying an afternoon glass of wine and a bit of sun. What makes it perfect is that you can hear the fountain from this terrace as well. We brought our ipod with speakers so even had nice music to complete the experience. The bathrooms and kitchen were all recently updated. I especially liked the high new shower heads. The beds were very comfortable so we woke up feeling refreshed every morning. This was especially nice after a long flight from the West coast of the U.S. We look forward to staying here again in the near future since there are still so many villages to explore in Provence.

Reviewed by : Bill F

CT, USA

Date of stay: 2013-07-04

Family trip to Provence

We had a wonderful 2 week family vacation in Ansouis. The house is great, lovely furnishings and antiques and very spacious with lots of areas for reading and relaxing. Our teenagers especially appreciated the wifi and the air conditioning. The kitchen is wonderfully appointed with everything we needed and we had many big dinners around the table. With all the great nearby markets you will want to cook in. Being in town was a lot of fun, it's literally a 1 min walk to the boulangerie, neighborhood bar and little grocery store. We got to know the people in town and really felt like we were part of the Ansouis family by the time we left. We rented bikes while we were there and highly recommend this as there are many quiet country roads just minutes from the house. We did some great wine tasting on our bike rides too. Ansouis is perfectly situated for daytrips all around the Vaucluse, we visited Gordes, Rousillon, Lacoste. Aix en Provence is an easy 20 min drive. Had a great day at the Pont du Gard and enjoyed a swim there. We loved coming back home after our day and having some local rose, cheese and olives on the roof top deck. There are so many great restaurants nearby, and the homeowner gives great recommendations. We have so many great memories of our Ansouis trip and can't wait to return one day!