Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Clare

U.K.

Date of stay: 2018-08-25

Fabulous house

We have had three wonderful visits to this beautiful property and have already booked our fourth! It is a stunning home, beautifully decorated throughout with great attention to detail. The garden and pool are a real highlight and there are lots of different seating areas to hide away and relax in. The hosts are wonderfully kind - there was a lovely bottle of wine waiting for us on arrival and they are available if needed both before and during the stay. I can’t recommend highly enough!

Reviewed by : JT

Brussels

Date of stay: 2018-08-11

Wonderful!

We spent two wonderful weeks at Les Cyprès, situated at walking distance from Ménerbes. A spacious, but cosy and quiet property, with a very large garden with a lovely and good-sized pool. When we arrived the house was ready for us, all clean and prepared. The house feels like a proper lived-in and characterful home. Contact with both the owner and caretaker was quick and easy. One morning we woke up because of a heavy thunderstorm, as a consequence of which we had no electricity. But within the hour the gardener was there to solve the problem, as well as bringing along a melon, which was a nice - and delicious - touch. We walked many times into lovely Ménerbes to have lunch and also rented electric bikes from Bonnieux, which were delivered at our holiday home, to further explore this beautiful region, which has so much to offer. In short, a wonderful stay. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by : Becky

Massachusetts, USA

Date of stay: 2018-06-23

Wonderful place to stay with our family!

We rented Les Cypres for our extended family of six, including two children ages 7 and 9. The owner was very easy to coordinate with and answered all of our questions promptly. Upon arrival in Provence, the local caretakers were helpful with directing us to a great, local grocery store to stock up on supplies, and then were waiting for us upon our arrival to help us get settled in. The house was beautiful and full of charm, and the grounds were lush and very private. The olive grove and vineyards right outside the door were beautiful and fun to explore. Our children especially loved the pool. Every day we went off on an adventure in the Luberon, visiting farmers markets and villages. Then we returned to Les Cypres to enjoy the pool and to cook all the amazing fresh food we had collected during our outings. Our favorite part was having coffee on the terrace in the mornings, while listening and watching bees and butterflies visit the scores of lavender bushes on the property. We hope to be back at Les Cypres soon! Thank you!

Reviewed by : Peg

Mississippi

Date of stay: 2016-05-21

Best vacation ever!

Words cannot even express the magic of Les Cypres! The layout of the villa offers privacy for everyone and the ambience is breathtaking! Walk out of the beautiful courtyard into a vineyard to watch the sunset! Exit the back door to enjoy the pool where we enjoyed practicing yoga each morning after the sun came up! After touring the surrounding towns and markets each day, we came home to cook dinner each night and sit outside under the covered terrace. Can you imagine? We had the most wonderful vacation ever and I highly recommend this fabulous property!

Reviewed by : Wally

Greenville South Carolina, USA

Date of stay: 2016-07-02

Family week at Les Cypres

We had an excellent week in the Luberon at Les Cypres. Easy walk to the hill village of Menerbes, a wonderful tour and tasting at a nearby local winery, late afternoons by the pool, cooking fresh food from the local markets then eating outside at dusk in the evening air, was a typical day for us. The house is comfortable, clean and the keeper a real pleasure to work with. The bedrooms accommodate a variety of combinations of guests and together with the charm and the décor it is an exceptional property. Very private, very clean and the ownership was very accommodating. We will come back!

Reviewed by : Graham

Manchester

Date of stay: 2015-08-22

Les Cypres is highly recommended

There is not much I can add to the excellent reviews of this beautiful house. The house is charming, tasteful but not too formal – a house to live in; in fact, a home. A small observation perhaps – there are three really quite arresting pictures as you enter the house. One of the flowering and death of an amaryllis is a lovely and a tender allegory. I learned from the owners that this picture was by a family member. From this same part of the house, opening the shutters and windows and doors every view engages you with the countryside and garden around. The outside was even better. The eating area at the front is a warm and enclosing open air dining room. I could happily have eaten every meal there. But, best of all was the garden; a predominantly topiary garden, overwhelming green – or more accurately, a niwaki garden in its studied informality. I coveted this most of all. It takes a lot of thought and water and pruning to make something this good. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly, and always contactable if needed. Locally there are also people to contact if needed. Every effort was made to make our stay effortless. Beyond the house is everything one expects from this part of France. The area is a very human landscape. I recommend beside the opportunity to indulge and relax taking a walk in the hills from nearby Oppede-le-Vieux. One is quickly in a much wilder place and then afterwards back in Oppede-le-Vieux for a simple lunch at the excellent Le Petit Café.

Reviewed by : Lucy

London

Date of stay: 2015-08-08

Lovely Provencal Retreat

We've had a wonderful two weeks in this beautiful and comfortable house. The fantastic weather certainly helped but the real joy is the outstanding garden which is superbly kept and was a genuine surprise as the photographs on the internet couldn't possibly do it justice. Another great advantage is that it's very quiet being just outside the village but close enough to walk to the excellent artisan bakery in the mornings and to and from dinner at "Veranda" one of the best restaurants in the area. This is our second holiday in Menerbes and we love the area and can wholeheartedly recommend it.

Reviewed by : John

United Kingdom

Date of stay: 2015-07-11

Our Stay At Les Cypres

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed in Les Cypres and our ninth year in Menerbes so for a family of seven this was fantastic. The grounds and the pool are prefect with the dining area ideal for a family gathering. The support from the owner was just amazing plus the cleaner (Dominique) was incrediby helpful and even the gardener gave us his home grown melons as a breakfast treat just wonderful. This year restaurant Le 5 has spent some additional funds upgrading their eating area outside so we have another restaurant to explore and it was very good indeed. If you really want to go to this wonderful home think twice as it means we may not be able to get two weeks next year!

Reviewed by : Flolli

Les Cypres

Date of stay: 2015-06-13

A beautiful home for an unforgettable holiday!

We drive for five years in this lovely and very comfortable house and it is perfect to relax. The House is furnished with lots of attention to Detail, situated in the vineyards. The garden is gorgeous and there is nothing better than to lie with a good book under the olive tree and listening to the crickets. The villages in the surrounding invites you to many trips, but it feels every time very hard to leave the beautiful house with the garden. We look forward to the next holiday in this house!

Reviewed by : #ProvenceInMyHeart

Toronto, Canada

Date of stay: 2015-06-27

Vive La France

This was our 2nd visit to Les Cypres. The home is comfortable, loved and in a dream landscape. The region is steeped in history and quintesentially Provence. Our week was especially hot and we were very thankful for the lovely pool, always cool and inviting. The gardener visited 2 times to keep the property pristine and both times he brought us fresh melons and tomatoes!! Extra kindness. The courtyard is a favorite spot for early morning coffee and pre-dinner boules, it is perfection. I'd like to say we will come again but after 2 visits we have fallen so in love that we are shopping for a property of our own. Hopefully we will be lucky enough to find something similar to Les Cypres! Vive La France!

Reviewed by : Karo

Switzerland

Date of stay: 2015-06-20

Your review title

This was one of the best if not THE Best Vacation ever. The House had everything. Nespresso machine, Water kettle, enough Cutlery and Plates, huge Fridge, lovely surrounding, quiet, peaceful, a beautiful garden and a large Pool. Very cozy rooms, all with nice decoration and a lot of natural Colors and fabrics like Linen and Cotton. We felt home the minute we entered the House.