Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : julien

Rheims

Date of stay: 2018-07-28

Happiness in the Luberon

This bastidon is wonderfully decorated and set in a calm residence, with a lovely pool alongside. A real moment of relaxation.

Reviewed by : Katharina G.

Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Date of stay: 2018-03-16

Beautiful holiday in beautiful surroundings

We spent 4 nights in the apartment and we felt very comfortable there. Everything is very tasteful and practical, and definitely very clean. Due to the cold weather we could not enjoy the beautiful terrace and the swimming pool, but enjoyed all the more the excellent heating! The apartment is quietly located opposite the old town and is ideally suited to explore the very beautiful area. Within an hour's drive, there are plenty of places to visit: Luberon, Vaucluse, Colorado de Rustrel, Roussillon and many other medieval towns. We can recommend this accommodation without hesitation.

Reviewed by : Kaya

Gordes

Date of stay: 2017-06-10

Perfect Stay

Everything was perfect, we knew it was difficult to park in these small old villages but Le Mirabeau, in Les Bastion was perfect for us. We were three women and the two bedrooms are prefect size for three of us. Even in June the weather is very hot there. We left the house early in the morning each day and hit the villages which Philippe recommended us to visit and it was all beautiful markets. So easy to drive each day, 30-40 mins to everywhere. We had lunch in the villages and come back around 4pm jump into the share swimming pool and we start cooking and relaxing at the terrace sitting outside, looking at the lovely mountain view. Enjoying the wine, cheese and fresh vegetables and fruits. Philippe was very friendly and helpful, his taste of decoration made us very comfortable and feel like home. the little garden with Provence flower lavender, rosemarie and roses add too. Even it is a small attached house, it is very quite. You need to take mosquitos spray and sun screen. Enjoy it, it is out of the world beauty :) And we will be back soon. Merci Philippe

Reviewed by : Kerry V

Australia

Date of stay: 2016-06-18

Wonderful Luberon

Bit hesitant about booking this accommodation at first,(as first time) but once I made contact with Philippe I had no more worries. Everything was exactly as stated and all instructions were easy to follow. Le Mirabeau was in a great location, clean and perfectly equiped. The blackboard was a hit, made it so easy to fully appreciate the area, we had a fabulous time visiting the surrounding towns. Gordes village we found lovely, everyone we came in contact with was so helpful and friendly, the market was tops. After our day visiting the villages we made sure we had enough time to enjoy the pool, so relaxing. Thank you Philippe for all your help and knowledge we had a lovely stay at Le Mirabeau and highly recommend, to anyone thinking of visiting the area.

Reviewed by : Sharon M

Dublin, Ireland

Date of stay: 2016-06-11

Perfectly Provençal

My husband, baby son and I just arrived back after spending a week in Le Mirabeau, Gordes. Philippe was the perfect host - so welcoming, helpful and accommodating. The property is beautiful based on the hillside in Gordes, a ten minute walk from everything you need - supermarket, bar, restaurants and bakery. Le Mirabeau is decorated to perfection - fantastic furniture, mod cons, table wear - it is immaculate and no surprise as the owner is an interior designer. We had our 5 month old son with us and Philippe went to great lengths to ensure he was comfortable providing us with a high chair, baby bed, baby table wear and even dropped us down a baby bath. The exterior area is gorgeous, very relaxing and private and a 30 second jump to the beautiful shared pool. There are some gorgeous restaurants in the area also - in particular we loved La Trinqette & L'Encas and a great little bar near the Chateau. We really enjoyed our stay here - we hope to be back in the near future! Thank you Philippe!

Reviewed by : Karen

Bend, Oregon

Date of stay: 2015-09-26

Perfection

We're just back from a month in France, the last 2 weeks at lovely Le Mirabeau. Philippe has done a wonderful job of capturing the 'heart' of Provence in a small apartment, just perfect for 2 (4 adults may be a bit tight, but 2 children would love the second bedroom). No detail was overlooked: comfy beds and furniture, well equipped kitchen for cooking (which we did every evening), wonderful terrace with views and privacy, nice touches like the calendar of local markets on the blackboard (with a shopping basket hanging nearby), high quality towels and linens...I could go on. We weathered a stormy day, the likes of which we'd never seen, hunkered down with books and movies and felt safe and cozy. The pool area is nice, but a bit too chilly for swimming when we were there. Plus, we preferred our own terrace! Gordes is walkable, with basic amenities and many tourists. Our favorite place for cafe and/or dejuener in the town was Le Jardin, with a nice outdoor space, nice shop and very nice people. You can't go wrong with Le Mirabeau as your Provence 'home'. Merci, Philippe! A bientot!

Reviewed by : Valencia

Kelowna, BC, Canada

Date of stay: 2014-11-16

Gorgeous Accommodation

My daughter and I stayed at Philippe's beautiful residence in November. We arrived via train from Marseille. Make sure to book transportation to Gordes if you are not renting a car, taxis are limited. We were lucky to flag one down and were warmly welcomed by the property owner. The residence was gorgeous, spotless, and had everything we needed. It is a short walk to the center of town, less than 10 minutes. At night you'll need a flashlight. We stayed 5 nights and loved every minute. Because it was the off-season, the property was very quiet, the pool wasn't open, and many of the shops and restaurants were closed. We were there for a nice peaceful time and totally enjoyed just walking around looking at the amazing stone homes and the unprecedented views of Provence. Bring comfy shoes for the cobblestone streets and remember that the grocery store is closed certain days and only opened certain times on most days. Our favorite restaurant was LÁrtegal. Amazing rabbit. We ate there twice. The Casa Rosario has nice steak tartare. Other than the internet connection being very irritating and unreliable (think of it as a break from technology), our stay at Le Mirabeau was perfect and I would recommend it to both a family or couple. We hope to return.....

Owner response:
Dear Valencia, Thank you very much for your nice review, it was a pleasure to have you here. Sorry for the inconvenience with the Internet. Only later in the year we found out that there was a technical problem which we solved. We are still working on it and also to increase the bandwidth so that there won't be any more problems. I would be happy to meet you again in Gordes. All the best, Philippe

Reviewed by : agata_k

Warsaw, Poland

Date of stay: 2014-10-05

Lovely place in Gordes!

We have spent a wonderful week in Le Mirabeau in October 2014. The place is beautiful, very well equipped and very well maintained. Our two little sons enjoyed a room Philippe made especially for them (thanks for a baby cot!). We loved the patio garden, which was very cosy and private. Gordes is a perfect base for exploring Luberon and Provence. I hope we'll come back soon.

Reviewed by : Sarah

Paris, France & New York, USA

Date of stay: 2014-07-12

A Fairytale Paradise!

This property, property owner, and Provence trip by far exceeded all of our expectations! The villa is absolutely gorgeous, with an incredible view, outstanding interior decoration, and a quaint charm that is unmatched. I would highly recommend this stay for all looking to have an authentic French countryside living experience. Recommended to bring a car in order to see neighboring villages and enjoy all the area has to offer. We are counting down the days until we can return!

Reviewed by : Roslyn

Glasgow

Date of stay: 2014-06-14

Luxurious and Relaxing at Le Mirabeau

We spent a delightful week in Le Mirabeau in June 2014. The photographs are a very true depiction of what the cottage is like. It was nice to be in a holiday home with such style and decor. Every little detail was thought of and it felt very luxurious due to all the soft furnishings and little 'extras' that come with the rental. Bed was very comfortable (hotel standard) and our 7 month old baby loved sleeping in her French antique cot. We made great use of the patio which was a great sun trap during the day and cool in the evening. The cottage has the best position in 'Les Bastidons' complex as it has views of the valley and is a right next to the swimming pool. The complex was very peaceful and a great place to relax overall. Would highly recommend and hope to visit again at some point in the future.