Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Wenche

Norway

Date of stay: 2019-03-05

A wonderful place to stay!

Before leaving, we started dreaming of when to come back ... Ailies studio is the most wonderful hideaway for two! Walking to the baker, the fromagerie and the butcher - or a restaurant, spending hours sitting in the comfortable chairs looking out of the window: Luberon at its most beautiful with the changing sunlight from the early morning till sunset. Walking in the surroundings, the hills, the paths - and the small roads - admiring vineyards, olive trees, cascades of almondblossoms, changing colours, smiling people always greeting Bon Jour! Coming back in the afternoon, sometimes evening, tired legs and happy souls! The studio, so clean, so beautiful - aesthetic in every detail! Nothing missing - except staying longer ....

Reviewed by : assistanthead

Southwold Suffolk

Date of stay: 2018-07-21

A perfect stay

We stayed for two weeks in the studio. The location is great as it’s a couple of minutes walk to the heart of Goult which is a delightful village hosting at least four excellent restaurants. There is secure parking for a car and the studio itself is light and airy with the most stunning views over the Petit Luberon. We lacked for nothing and it was lovely to find a full size fridge with freezer. The air con and free standing fan came in very useful as it was extremely hot. The studio was spotlessly clean and very well maintained. Ailie was an excellent host, not intrusive but available if necessary. We are definitely coming back!

Reviewed by : J

UK

Date of stay: 2018-06-02

What a view!!

Fantastic studio, amazing view and spot on location! Would recommend without hesitation. Very clean, had thought of everything you could possibly want and more! Ailie struck the balance incredibly well of being discreet but available should you need any help or guidance - shared great advice on local walks. The location is perfect for exploring the area. We did a mix of staying in to eat (you really can't beat the view and tranquility of the studio for a lovely evening in) and also visiting the very tasty restaurants in the village which are all within easy walking distance. Goult itself is lovely. All in all a fantastic find! We didn't want to leave and that says it all really!

Reviewed by : Mary

UK

Date of stay: 2018-05-19

A lovely studio apartment

The Studio is in a delightful and quiet location with a beautiful view and only a few minutes walk from the village centre with its shops and restaurants. It is immaculate, comfortable and very well-equipped with everything one could need. We enjoyed both the patio and garden. The studio is well placed for visiting other villages in the Luberon area and we thought Goult less touristy than some. We stayed for one week and would happily have extended our stay had it been possible. Ailie was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend the Studio to others.

Reviewed by : Steve

Morpeth, Northumberland

Date of stay: 2017-08-12

Goult Studio - Superb

What a relaxing, little gem. High quality, well equipped apartment with fantastic views and excellent location. Whether you want to explore wonderful Provence (using either 2 or 4 wheels), walk the Luberon hills (on one of Ailie's lovely recommended trails) or just stroll the short distance to the vibrant village centre for a beer, coffee or meal (several good restaurants and Cafe de la Poste - which is a must !) then this place is ideal. Ailie also made us feel welcome right from the start. Always friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, we fell on our feet when we landed here. We both loved it.

Reviewed by : Valetstu

Kilry Scotland

Date of stay: 2017-07-15

Superb

Beautiful studio with everything you could possibly need and more. One of the most comfortable beds we have slept on holiday and a wonderful shower. The dishwasher was a welcome extra. This studio was perfect and of a very high standard with a stunning picture view from the lounge area. Truly Lovely host always ready to help in any way possible . A most relaxing week in a superb spot in the most beautiful villages of the Luberon , a must for those with discerning tastes.

Reviewed by : JW

UK

Date of stay: 2017-07-01

Something Special

Having read the previous reviews I feel that there is nothing that I can add to the exceptionally positive comments. I agree with them all. Having travelled to France on many occasions I can honestly say that the studio is the best self catering accommodation in which I have ever stayed. Ailie has thought of absolutely everything that visitors could ever need and she is most helpful with everything. The view of the Luberon hills from the studio is wonderful, the patio lovely and private and the garden has various seating areas in sun and shade. The proximity to the village square adds to the feeling that this is an ideal place to come and unwind totally even without a car. The whole experience was so wonderful that our return visit has already been agreed.

Reviewed by : DJ

New Zealand

Date of stay: 2017-05-20

Perfect

Perfect location and perfect place to stay. Everything in the studio to make one feeling completely at home. Great vews and relaxing ambience. So much to see within a short drive. Allie a superb host and no question too difficult Highly recommend. We hope to get back one day.

Reviewed by : Polly

Goult, France

Date of stay: 2017-04-29

Best ever studio rental for 2

My husband and I just returned to the States after a splendid week's stay at Ailie's delightful rental property in Goult, France. We couldn't have been happier with the location, the ambiance both inside and out, the comfort level and the facilities. The icing on the cake is Ailie Collins, the nicest, most helpful landlord ever! The studio is a perfect jumping off point for all points in the Luberon or just stay put in lovely Goult and you'll have everything you need in the way of shops, restaurants and strolls through the old town. There's a reason why the property is solidly booked through February of next year!

Reviewed by : Michelle

Sydney Australia

Date of stay: 2017-04-22

A Week in Provence

We recently enjoyed a week in The Goult Studio and had a fabulous time. The property is exactly as shown on the website and is perfectly appointed, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. All that you could possibly want or need is provided whether it is in the kitchen, bathroom or living area. An added bonus is you have use of your own sun filled courtyard which is completely private and the garden is a picture and a pleasure to explore. Its location is perfect for exploring the surrounding perched villages. If you like to cycle you are in heaven with so much magnificent scenery and hills to climb with a little coffee stop just in the right place. We enjoyed walking into the centre of the village (2 minutes) to buy local produce from the butcher, greengrocer, fromagerie or boulangerie and most evenings ate in the Studio admiring the magnificent views over the Luberon valley. Ailie is the perfect host who is there if you need her but otherwise you have perfect privacy. Her advice and assistance during our stay was greatly appreciated. The Goult Studio is a little piece of heaven situated in a truly authentic Provencal village. Wish we could have stayed longer and hope to return one day.

Reviewed by : Ilze

Cape Town, South Africa

Date of stay: 2017-04-15

Everything I wished for and more!

I did hours and hours of research trying to find the perfect accommodation for our trip to Provence. My wish list was quite steep ... I wanted a place in a typical Provencal town where you can walk to the local boulangerie for fresh croissants every morning. I wanted a self catering place with a decently equipped kitchen to prepare the wonderful fresh ingredients on offer at the daily Provencal markets. I also wanted a view of vineyards and the beautiful countryside. I got all of this! And more! Ailie was extremely professional and quick with responses, during the booking process and during our stay. The unit is completely private and it really does look like it does on the pictures. Absolutely lovely. Please dont waste any more time looking for other accomodation. This unit is perfect in every way and you wont regret staying there.

Reviewed by : Clive

The Goult Studio

Date of stay: 2016-09-24

Perfect accommodation

We had a most relaxing and enjoyable stay at this perfect studio accommodation in the middle of the beautiful Luberon Region. The studio was well designed and equipped, quiet and close to many of the villages and places of interest. Ailie was a good host and we thought Goult a perfect village to stay in, it still has good local shops and some excellent restaurants. We have recommended the studio to our families and friends and are sure they will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by : Sue

East Sussex, England

Date of stay: 2016-09-03

Lovely studio flat in perfect location

It was our first visit to the Luberon but it definitely won't be our last! We wanted a quiet studio flat in a village location with easy access to different places and local restaurants and we weren't disappointed. Great start to the holiday with a problem-free train journey from Ashford to Avignon followed by a short car journey to Goult with excellent directions from the owner. The flat is really lovely. It's been tastefully put together with high attention to detail. You're spoilt for choice where to sit to enjoy the most amazing view, with a patio area outside, loungers and even a hammock. Lots of storage space and even though we were lucky enough to have temperatures of higher than 30 degrees, the flat was easily kept cool during the day and there was air conditioning for during the night. We had a better barbecue than we have at home and there's a fantastic shower room too. Ailie is really helpful and friendly, without being intrusive, and the information book is great. We visited all the places on the first two lists - hopefully we'll get round to the places further afield when we return. We loved Goult. It's very pretty but not as touristy as some of the other nearby places and we ate at three restaurants that were all very good - and just a two minute walk from the flat. We've visited lots of different areas of France, which we've really liked, but the Luberon is very special. There's such a variety of scenery that can be seen within a short driving distance which makes it a very easy holiday. You visit one town that you think can't possibly be bettered, to find another that is just as impressive. We'd really recommend the Goult Studio which is first class accommodation at an affordable cost. You have the independence and freedom of self catering, in a wonderful location. We're already planning our return.

Reviewed by : Susie and Bert

Kent, UK

Date of stay: 2016-07-16

Exceeds expectations by far

Having looked forward to our break with a little trepidation as always, wondering whether the accommodation really would reflect the wonderful photographs and description on the website, we were completely bowled over to find out that it far exceeded our expectations. Spotless condition, comfy beds and superb views and facilities say it all really. Ailie was an excellent host and, once you meet her, you will understand what drives the exacting standards of accommodation. Generous with her time if needed and more than happy to impart local knowledge on things to do and restaurants etc, but successfully managing the delicate balance of living next door but absolutely not intruding at all unless wanted, it is difficult to find fault with her qualities as a host. Charming. To cap it all, we loved the location right in the heart of the village but yet absolutely secluded in its own part of Ailie's garden to give a feeling of genuine privacy. We almost always walked to the village - a 2 minute hike - in the evenings where we could really eat, relax and absorb life as it unfolded. We know the area well and this is by far the best accommodation we have stayed in. Slightly reluctant to recommend it too highly from a purely selfish perspective since that may make future bookings more difficult but that would be disingenuous. Fantastic and can't overstate how much we enjoyed our stay. We'd love to return - tomorrow if possible please ...

Reviewed by : Matt and Rachel

Thirsk

Date of stay: 2016-03-26

Our second visit

This was our second visit to the studio and we enjoyed our holiday just as much as the first trip. The studio is perfect for us and is very comfortable, clean and peaceful. We have found all the restaurants in Goult to be excellent and it is great to be only a short walk from them. The area is beautiful to explore with lots of walking and cycling opportunities. Ailie is so friendly and helpful and always makes you feel welcome. We would definitely recommend the studio to anyone wanting to visit this part of Provence.

Reviewed by : Cheryl

Vancouver, Canada

Date of stay: 2015-10-03

A perfect spot!

We were completely thrilled with our stay here! Ailie was most accommodating right from the moment I enquired about the property months ago. She was even more so in person!!!! Her little studio is organized, well-equipped, spotless, and comfortable,. It has a lovely outlook. Goult is a charming smaller town centrally located in the Luberon with easy to access the other towns in the area. We went a different direction every day! Ailie's sightseeing and restaurant suggestions were excellent! And although we didn't leave time to eat at one of the recommended restaurants in Goult, we did enjoy meals at Le Fournil in Bonnieux, Mistral Bistrot Moderne in Isle Sur La Sorge, and Bistrot LaGarde d'Apt. We have stayed in a number of holiday rentals---this was definitely one of the best!

Reviewed by : Andy & Mel

West Sussex, UK

Date of stay: 2015-09-12

Don't miss out!!

What a delightful place to spend time. Comfortable, well appointed, light, spacious with a stunning view. Situated conveniently to visit the many places one just has to see, both far and near. The studio is right in the heart of the village, with good local shops. Great walks right from the door. Ailie the owner could not have been more helpful and friendly. She was a great host too. We have every intention of returning.

Reviewed by : Mannie

Hertfordshire, Angleterre.

Date of stay: 2015-08-29

Lovely Luberon Lodging!

We stayed for a week at this perfect studio in this delightful village of the Luberon. As you enter the studio your breath is taken away by the view over the valley with its vines and olives, and you know that you are going to be happy and rested. Everything you need is there, all beautifully presented and Ailie is very attentive to your needs. It was just a perfect place from which to see the north and south of the Luberon area of Provence, where the sun-soaked villages tell their history in their middle-aged beginnings. We had four friends who came from Nice to see us who know the Luberon well. They were enchanted by the studio and gasped with pleasure to see Goult with all its quaintness. They were a great help in finding the 'Caves' from which we could buy the best wine! We hope to go back again one day because it must be one of the best holiday locations to which we have been.

Reviewed by : Rose

Chester, UK

Date of stay: 2015-08-22

A fantastic find

My husband and I stayed here for a week and had a great time. We just loved the studio and didn't really want to leave. We have stayed in a lot of 4 & 5 star hotels before and kind of wanted that level of accommodation but with self-catering aspect, so is all that and more. There is everything you could possibly want here and my hubby and I spent many an hour sat in front of the large open windows looking and the view whilst we read. The village is perfect too. You can park on the property, but also the village car park is literally meters away and this is also where the market sets up on Thursday and where the Cafe de la Poste is too. Just a few 100 yards further and you will find a great shop where you can buy anything you need to eat and drink with great fresh fruit and veggies. If you want a taste of village life this is certainly the place to stay. Ailie, I have a feeling you haven't seen the last of us, thanks for such lovely holiday.

Reviewed by : Matt and Rachel

Harrogate

Date of stay: 2015-08-03

A perfect studio and location

We found the Goult studio to be the perfect place for our holiday in the Luberon. The property itself is in an ideal location in the village of Goult which has several great restaurants, café, grocery shop, butcher and baker. On our holiday we cycled a long way through all of the well known villages in the area (on electric bikes) and Goult was our favourite place of all and could not be a better base for exploring the area - it is a very friendly village. The studio itself is so relaxing and peaceful and the scenery is stunning. There is a gas BBQ which we used several times as we loved eating outside in the evening. We found that the studio was equipped with everything we needed and all of the furniture and equipment is of a high quality and the studio is kept spotlessly clean. It was easy to keep it cool during our very hot week using shutters when we were out during the day and the air conditioning when needed (which works perfectly and is quiet). The owner Ailie is very helpful and could not do more to make sure that we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Overall, the location and studio were perfect for us.

Reviewed by : Echo and Neil

Edinburgh, UK

Date of stay: 2015-07-18

Perfect Stay

We have just come back from 2 fantastic weeks at the studio. Goult is a beautiful tranquil village, less touristy and feels more authentically French. It is also a perfect base for exploring other villages in the Luberon area. The studio is bright, clean, airy and has fantastic views. It is also very well-equipped: everything has been thought of including a cool bag with ice blocks (essential for shopping in the markets in summer). The studio is excellent but what makes this place most special is its owner Ailie. She is warm, friendly and incredibly knowledgeable of the area. She invited us for a drink in her beautiful garden where we chatted and she gave us many ideas and tips for exploring the area. In the studio you can find a folder Ailie has put together with all the information you will need for a nice stay: timetable for local butcher, list of recommended restaurants, maps and instructions for walks. She very kindly lent us a blanket and an umbrella for a trip to the lake and also offered to book restaurants for us since we could not speak French. When we experienced problems with our hire car Ailie and her family went out of their way to help us. We look forward to returning to Luberon and The Goult Studio in future.

Reviewed by : -

USA

Date of stay: 2015-07-11

A studio filled with light and beauty

The Goult Studio is a perfect accommodation for a couple to explore Provence. Situated in the quiet hill town of Goult, walking distance to shops and restaurants, the room has a view over the countryside, air-conditioning, private outdoor seating/dining areas, and a modern, handsomely decorated spacious room and bath. Ailie was a perfect host and her English background a great help for those without French language skills. We are already recommending this rental to friends who would like to visit Provence. Enjoy!

Reviewed by : Jacs

Colne, Lancs

Date of stay: 2015-07-04

Goult Studio

We have visited Goult many times and never found the perfect place to stay. Until now. Ailie has created a beautiful studio and whilst compact it has every facility you require during your stay. It is perfectly situated near to all the village amenities but also has stunning views over the Luberon. Ailie is a welcoming host who is able to give you good hints and tips to ensure you have a fabulous stay in Provence.

Reviewed by : Judith and Clive

Salcombe, Devon UK

Date of stay: 2015-06-27

The most amazing place for a stay in Goult

The Goult Studio is a must to go to if you are visiting this area. We could go on and on describing how wonderful it is, the only thing we advise is go and try it yourselves!! Everything was as described and even better. As for Ailie ( the owner ), so helpful and full of wonderful ideas to help you have an interesting stay and for everything to go smoothly. Goult is a lovely village to stay at, all the restaurants were extremely good and the locals all so friendly, it was fabulous.

Reviewed by : JA

Switzerland

Date of stay: 2015-06-13

a cozy place

We had a beautiful time in Goult, a neat little place to spend the holidays. The Goult Studio is a cosy place, a hideaway with lots of room to sit outside and also enjoy the view. Everything was sparkling clean when we arrived, the studio is roomy and full of light. Our host Ailie is a very interesting and friendly person with helpful local advice.

Reviewed by : PJ

Norfolk

Date of stay: 2015-05-23

Perfect Week

We enjoyed a perfect week in probably the best gite we have stayed in. Goult is a wonderful location, not too busy but full of character and several options for eating out. The studio is beautifully presented with every facility and Ailie is always willing to share local knowledge but never intrusively.

Reviewed by : Gene

Sturgis, S.D.

Date of stay: 2015-05-09

Perfect in Provence

There is a special hideaway waiting for you when you visit the Luberon area of Provence in Goult. The Goult Studio a completely redone garage transformed into a sleek contemporary yet cozy studio apartment complete with a picture post card view. Not only is the interior done to perfection, the surrounding landscape is beautiful. The owner does her best to assist you as needed. The quaint village of Goult has much to offer including a historic windmill and ancient farming terraces. A self guided tour is recomemded. We highly recommend the Goult Studio for your stay in this charming area of Provence.

Reviewed by : Matthew

West Yorkshire

Date of stay: 2015-05-16

An idyll in Provence

My wife and I have just spent a wonderful week at the Goult Studio. The property is immaculately presented and has all the facilities you could wish for. The view across the valley was one of the best I've seen and was very difficult to leave. The studio is very well located in the beautiful village of Goult and is well positioned to visit the many other hill villages of the Luberon. Ailie made our visit a joy and was extremely helpful with advise and local knowledge. We would entirely recommend this property to our family and friends.

Reviewed by : Jenny

Amsterdam

Date of stay: 2015-05-02

Absolutely wonderful !

Having visited Provence many times we were delighted to find everything we were looking for at the Goult Studio plus a lot more. The accommodation is amazing. How Ailie manages to equip the studio so completely and comfortably is mind-boggling and a real credit to her natural hospitality and organizational skills. We have never stayed in such compact yet at the same time spacious accommodation. It's wonderful! The location is brilliant for anyone wishing to explore the Luberon, the village of Goult is also one of the prettiest in the region and the views are simply stunning. Many thanks to Ailie who was so welcoming, helpful and warm. We hesitate to recommend so strongly for fear of it being booked up in future!

Reviewed by : Claire

United Kingdom

Date of stay: 2015-04-18

A wonderful base for a stay in the Luberon

I stayed in the Goult studio for five days in April and loved every minute of it. The studio is superb: the views are just amazing, the garden is lovely and the studio itself is just wonderful - it has been done to a very high standard and had everything I needed. Ailie is fantastic - I got such a lovely, warm welcome! She made sure I had everything I needed, gave helpful suggestions for things to do/see whilst ensuring I had my space. Goult is a great base for seeing the Luberon given its central location. It is also a lovely little village to wander through, and sit with a glass of wine and watch the world go by. I very much recommend a stay here and I will be planning a return visit!

Reviewed by : Helga and Gottfried

Austria

Date of stay: 2014-08-30

So beautiful!

We spent a wonderful vacation in the idyllic village of Goult.Our expectations based on the photos and description on the internet were exceeded. The studio is gleaming new and clean. Furnishings and equipment are well above average (even bathroom scales to betray our daily gain). The bright high room opens to a view of the valley , which is like a painting. In a secret garden you can enjoy the shaded hammock. In the quiet village there is a shop where you can practically get everything. On market day the square comes to life. Now we have to stop raving about it - otherwise Ailie's studio will be always fully booked - and we want to come back.

Reviewed by : The Wades

Antwerp, Belgium

Date of stay: 2014-10-18

Absolutely Delightful

We had a wonderful week=long stay at the Goult Studio. The village is charming and Ailie is a superb hostess. We appreciated her warmth, generosity and her extensive knowledge of the region. The studio was immaculately clean and extremely comfortable. It also has views to die for! This was certainly a memorable vacation. We are definitely planning on returning and have already recommended the Studio to our friends worldwide. Ailie, thank you, once again, for your hospitality.

Reviewed by : Egle

London

Date of stay: 2014-09-13

Excellent

When we arrived at Goult and reached our studio, I knew that we would have a perfect holiday. The views from the window were soothing and beautiful, the studio was perfectly clean and fresh and had everything what we needed: from the BBQ equipment to all small things such as a potato peeler. Aile, the owner of the studio, was very friendly and helped us transporting our heavy luggage from the bus stop to the studio. She also helped us with other things which made our stay comfortable and relaxing. As for Goult, we were so happy that we had decided to stay in this town, as this village is less touristy and more French and is very charming. Every evening we would go to Cafe de la Post for some wine and beer and observe the locals. The village has several restaurants and a delicious pizza place, but we mostly cooked at home, as the kitchen was very well equipped and having dinner with an amazing view is better than eating at the restaurant. We bought food from local epicerie and boucherie and cooked something french testing out the recipies found in one of the books at the studio. I would recommend this studio for everyone who wants to discover Luberon or Provence. I also think this would be a good choice for honeymoon holidays.

Reviewed by : Yusuke&Yoshimi

Japan

Date of stay: 2014-08-23

beautiful studioI I ever stayed

This is very very nice studio,room is so clean and well equipped everything I need there is even blender so we started a day with fresh fruits Smoothie during our holiday.The view was so beautiful was like picture looked from wide windows in the room.Also owner Ailie is so kind and helpful,she has been in Provence long time and gave us very useful information. Goult is not big Village if you compare to other famous Village around Luberon but there is nice people and shops so we enjoyed calm and relaxing holiday so much. Thank you for your kindness Ailie! I hope to come back to this studio next year.

Reviewed by : wolf_from_barcelona

Cubelles, Barcelona

Date of stay: 2014-08-16

Paradise in the Provence

This studio is perfectly located to explore this part of the Provence. First there is Goult, a wonderful little historic mountain village, but also the nearby villages are a 'must to see' ... including Roussillon, Bonnieux, Buoux, La Coste and last but not least Gordes. In Gordes we really enjoyed renting electric mountainbikes in the local shop called 'K-LADE'. We also went to visit Avignon, Aix en Provence and Nîmes, all of them very interesting. The GOULT STUDIO offers some superbe views over the Luberon, and the neighbourhood is extremely quiet. The property is very clean and well maintained and Ailie Collins, the landlord, provides a perfect custumor service ... We will absolutely recommend this property to all our friends and relatives, and hope to come back ASAP.

Reviewed by : Jetty and Bill

UK

Date of stay: 2014-06-19

Wonderful views!

This studio must have the washing line with the best views in the Luberon. The Goult studio is comfortable, well-equipped and with beautiful views across the valley towards the mountains. The owner of the studio could not have been more helpful. The village of Goult has a nice atmosphere and despite the fact that the property is near the village square it is a very quiet location. In time a small washing machine could possibly be installed. All in all a lovely place from where to explore the area and relax when the day is done!

Reviewed by : Alicia

London

Date of stay: 2014-06-28

Superb stay on the hillside

We've just returned from a super week in The Studio in Goult. This is a fantastic property in a stunning location, within walking distance of the sophisticated town centre but offering complete privacy overlooking the hills. Ailie is a fabulous host and made the holiday so easy and relaxing, thanks for such a marvellous time, we really couldn't have asked for anything more! Many many thanks, Alicia and Charles