Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Annette and Stephan

Copenhagen

Date of stay: 2019-08-15

Highly recommended!

Bonnieux is one of these picturesque old villages on the top of hills that characterize the Provencal landscape. I would not be surprised to hear that this house is 250 years old or even more. However, it is beautifully modernized inside, yet keeping the original structure and using appropriate materials faithful to the past. It now offers all facilities you could desire. On top there is a lovely terrace overlooking the valley and the hills beyond. Within few miles you find many similar villages, each with its own history and monuments from the past, and the old township of Apt with many specialized shops, several supermarkets and a large weekly market. And do not forget the nearby ceder forest where the Wind carries a scent of Provencal herbs. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by : Garth

London

Date of stay: 2018-06-15

Tranquility in Bonnieux

We loved every minute we stayed here, sadly not as much time spent at home as we should as so much to explore and see despite this being my 5th trip to the Luberon. THE HIGHLIGHTS: Waking at dawn to the bird chorus coming up out of the forested valley below our ever open window, especially the robins. The quirky house, all the steps and four floors. Stunning vistas from every loo with a view. The water pressure in the lower shower (never tried the top one) Pipping hot water! THE BALCONY, which was the reason I booked the house. The generous table up there, the colourful umbrella and the comfortable loungers. The aerial display by the swifts. The ease of parking, we always found close parking on the road below. The village of Bonnieux, its central location to everywhere in the Luberon. The friendliness of everyone we encountered in the village. The joy of walking through the door each time we returned from somewhere, even if only to buy croissants. Everything in the house operated perfectly. The speedy internet. We would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by : Tony

Evesham, UK

Date of stay: 2018-09-01

A Charming House In Bonnieux

We spent a delightful week in this charming cottage in the lovely old village of Bonnieux. The property was just as described, furnished very tastefully in keeping with its old cottage character and had everything we needed. Its position on the hillside gave wonderful views over the wooded valleys of the Luberon and, at the time we were there, an opportunity to watch bee-eaters gliding around just in front of the windows and roof terrace. The village itself was was a delightful example of Luberon hilltop communities with many small roads and alleyways to explore, (inevitably there is limited parking but it's a small price to pay for the old charm atmosphere!). There was a good selection of restaurants and small shops, including a small supermarket where we could get everything we needed. Christine, the owner, was most helpful both during the booking process and while we were at the property, responding very promptly to any queries we had. This was an ideal property for us to explore the Luberon from on our first visit to the area. It rates as one of the very best among many cottages we have stayed in and we would certainly recommend it to any friends and relatives thinking of visiting this part of France. Thanks again for a memorable holiday.

Reviewed by : Anthony K

Manchester, UK

Date of stay: 2018-09-07

What a charming Cottage in a lovely village.

The house is perched on the side of the hill in the charming village of Bonnieux with views over the wooded hills of the Luberon. What a lovely spot to explore the area from. The cottage had everything we needed when we ate in and several good restaurants within walking distance when we wanted to eat out. Christine, the owner was really helpful and very quick to respond to any queries we had. Many thanks.

Reviewed by : Grit

Germany

Date of stay: 2018-05-18

Wonderful authentic house

A wonderful authentic house – we enjoyed it and Bonnieux, all the colours and tastes of the provence in May 2018. We will come back!

Reviewed by : Garth

UK

Date of stay: 2018-07-02

Tranquility in Bonnieux

We loved every minute we stayed here, sadly not as much time spent at home as we should as so much to explore and see despite this being my 5th trip to the Luberon. THE HIGHLIGHTS: Waking at dawn to the bird chorus coming up out of the forested valley below our ever open window, especially the robins. The quirky house, all the steps and four floors. Stunning vistas The water pressure in the lower shower (never tried the top one) Piping hot water! THE BALCONY, which was the reason I booked the house. The generous table up there, the colourful umbrella and the comfortable loungers. The aerial display by the swifts. The peace and quietness, we did miss the sounds of bells ringing which we had in both Lourmarin and Menerbes, however I am sure other people would welcome the fact that they couldn’t hear a series of bell ringing every hour! The ease of parking, we always found close parking on the road below. The village of Bonnieux, its central location to everywhere in the Luberon. The friendliness of everyone we encountered in the village. The joy of walking through the door of No. 40 each time we returned from somewhere, even if only to buy croissants. Everything in the house operated perfectly. The speedy internet. We would defiantly stay there again.

Reviewed by : j and r

Ft Lauderdale

Date of stay: 2016-10-07

Romantic Retreat

This cute multi-level home was the perfect location from which to explore the region. Everything was provided to ensure we had a fantastic stay and the location in town meant that all the sights and restaurants were within easy walking distance of the front door. The booking process was very easy and Christine was the perfect host providing many helpful tips. There are many beautiful towns in the region but we felt that Bonnieux was the perfect setting and had a lovely atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by : SK Nana

Western Maryland

Date of stay: 2016-04-17

a gem within a gem

This is a terrific house, and you couldn’t ask for a better proprietor than Christine. We fell in love with the village on a previous trip and were so pleased to find this location, a few steps from one of the prettiest walkways to the old church grounds high up on the hill, and in the other direction a good route to the all-important boulangerie and all the wonderful local restaurants. The house works well, and the nicely equipped kitchen is a plus (American coffee maker!). Bonnieux is a gem in itself, with its quaint little streets and its fabulous views. It’s also a perfect base for exploring the other villages in the Luberon valley, or venturing farther afield, to Arles, Aix-en-Provence, or the dentelles. We loved our time here!

Reviewed by : Gary

England

Date of stay: 2014-09-15

Home Away From Home in Bonnieux

This beautiful home in Bonnieux is perfect in every sense. It is spacious (4 levels), warm, cosy and central to Bonnieux and the rest of Provence. The owner's communication was excellent and everything was as shown, and as expected. The views from the roof top terrace and bedroom are spectacular. Plenty of good restaurants nearby and bakeries etc. Housebook had so much information in it; also lots of maps, books on Provence. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by : Kvan

USA

Date of stay: 2014-03-11

Home away from home in Provence

Our stay in Bonnieux was everything we had hoped it would be. After planes, trains, and automobiles coming from Northern Italy and then the Cote d'Azur, we happily settled into Christine's wonderful home for a week in Bonnieux. Her multi-level home is very clean, well taken care of, and perfectly stocked to make your own meals and enjoy some rosé on the peaceful balcony looking out at the Luberon. Christine herself was extremely responsive and helpful throughout--the perfect hostess. During our stay, we visited many of the villages in the area and really fell in love with both the region and the lifestyle. Even my kids now want to move there. Highly recommend it!

Reviewed by : Dave

Gothenburg

Date of stay: 2013-08-22

Magical view from terrace at charming antique house

We as family of three stayed for one week in July. The kitchen was the best equipped kitchen after staying so many vacation homes. All types of cooking and baking pans and so many nice plates, glasses, even with market shopping bags. Plates and utensils are super nice unlike Ikea stuff (most vacation homes have Ikea stuff) The house is very charmingly decorated and definitely shows owner's good taste. The house is charmingly old but many updates are made to make people's stay comfortable. Bathroom is unusually large so three of us was very comfortable to keep extra clothes, dirty clothes, all kinds of toiletry. Bonnieux is a beautiful Provence village and is very conveniently located to travel other tourist attractions. We enjoyed visiting several wineries. We used GPS to find nearby winery and found several wonderful ones. Random wineries were actually better to our surprise; it shows the high standard of French wine.

Reviewed by : Chaki

Chicagi, IL

Date of stay: 2013-03-14

Provencal dream!

I echo all the sentiments below. This house can easily be made a HOME during your stay. The kitchen is well equipped and stocked, the décor is charming and truly Provencal, the interior is clean and comfortable. The town of Bonnieux is breathtaking and quaint at the same time. Really, this place can't be beat for exploring the beautiful Luberon region. The cherry on top is Christine. She is truly helpful and accommodating. (An added bonus, phone calls back to the US are free.) I would stay here again in a heartbeat! I feel very fortunate to have found this place.

Reviewed by : Duke

Ohio

Date of stay: 2013-08-23

A Week in Provence

The owner provided for a very hospitable week long stay for my wife and I, furnishing essential items for not only sleeping, but also dining and entertaining. The guest book, an essential item with any rental property, provides a wealth of information about nearby villages and places to visit, in addition to the house book and brochures the owner has provided. The owner of this home is available to answer any questions (you should have very few, if any after reading the house book and guest book). The words "quaint" or "charming" don't do this property justice. This home is very tastefully decorated and true to Provencal style. We enjoyed shopping in Bonnieux and the surrounding areas in the weekly markets and bazaar.

Reviewed by : Captain Bob

Maine

Date of stay: 2013-05-04

Charming home

My wife and I just returned from Bonnieux where we spent several days staying in this very special home.Each day we hiked into the nearby national park where we were rewarded by spectacular scenery. This was followed by wine on the roof top deck then world class dining just minutes away by foot! The home and location were perfect and Christine the owner was very easy to work with.

Reviewed by : Daniel

Philadelphia, PA

Date of stay: 2013-04-12

A wonderful little house in a beautiful village

My wife and I stayed here with our toddler. We had a wonderful time. The village is beautiful (excellent views), quaint, and perfectly located for day trips around the Luberon. We were with a toddler, so we spent a lot of time around the house, including cooking food purchased at the little shops and markets in and around the village. The house had everything we needed for a comfortable, fun stay, including plenty of cooking supplies. Christine was very accommodating and helpful along the way. I highly recommend this house for those looking for the Provencal village experience.