Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : The Keiltys

Claremont, NH, USA

Date of stay: 2019-05-18

A Wonderful Month in Bonnieux

A perfect cottage for two - My husband and I stayed for 4 weeks in this beautiful cottage, which overlooks a vineyard, Mount Ventoux, and the villages of Goult and Lacoste. The cottage had everything we needed for a perfect vacation. It was very comfortable, well kept, and charmingly decorated. The sunsets and views from the multiple terraces were amazing. The location of the cottage, at the foot of the lovely hilltop village of Bonnieux, put us within easy walking distance to the many local restaurants, boulangeries/patisseries, and small grocery stores located in the village. Bonnieux Cottage is centrally located, so the drive to most of the surrounding villages is under 30 minutes. In an hour to an hour and a half, a visitor can make easy, driving, day-trips from Bonnieux to the cities of Orange, Arles, or Nîmes, to see the Roman ruin, or to the Camargue region to see the wild horses, salt works, or just explore the park. The owner and hostess, Jutta, is gracious, and helpful. She is happy to make recommendations about restaurants in the area, provide site-seeing suggestions to villages that may not be on your list to visit, but are hidden gems, or answer any questions you may have about the village and area. Jutta is multilingual, which is a plus. Our French was rudimentary at best, and we had a problem with our rental car. She was kind enough to help us with customer service, and get the minor issue resolved. Jutta went out of her way to makes us feel at home, and welcome.

Reviewed by : Michelle

Bonita Springs, Florida

Date of stay: 2019-05-04

Best rental ever!

This property with its gorgeous views was the perfect base for our visit to Provence! The cottage is just charming with everything you could possibly need for your stay. Jutta, the host, could not have been more hospitable and helpful with suggestions for restaurants, sights to explore and more! She even provided wine and cheese as a welcome. Her sweet dog Amy visited us and reminded us of our dogs back home. You cannot be disappointed with this beautiful cottage and Bonnieaux is charming as well with many restaurants, shops and idyllic cobblestone streets to explore! I wish I was back with a glass of rose in my hand right now!

Reviewed by : Deborah

Amherst NH USA

Date of stay: 2019-04-28

Magical Cottage

My husband and I stayed at this sweet little cottage in the south of France ...We were tired after the long flight over from USA and when we arrived everything was so perfectly set up for us ....This sweet little cottage was so clean and cozy ...with yellow roses and a amazing view to embrace us . Jutta was one of the kindest woman I have ever met with willing to help us with places to eat and places to explore ...she is just perfect ..and I hope I cross her path again in life ! This magical spot is for any one that loves nature and slowing down life a little ..It's so clean and cozy and everything is there to make tea or coffee and to sit out side and look at the view ...As I write these words I wish I was just back there right now ...sipping wine and loving this spot in the world! Thanks so much for making our trip so great and we thank you from the bottom of our hearts ! Love the Halls ;)

Reviewed by : Big H

Dorset England

Date of stay: 2018-06-23

Relaxing Holiday

We stayed here for 3 weeks. The cottage has a covered patio with a fantastic view where we spent so much time.All our meals were eaten here apart from when we ventured out.Jutta is so friendly and helpful.. and her dog Amy often comes by for a visit.It is a perfect spot for visiting the other Luberon villages.We had a wonderful relaxing holiday and didn’t want to leave.I would definitely recommend this cottage.

Reviewed by : Casper

Sissinghurst, Kent

Date of stay: 2018-04-28

Perfect

Great location, beautiful area and a property that more than met our expectations. So many nice touches that one doesn’t usually expect from a rented property. Really comfortable,well equipped and in a great location. Jutta, the owner, is extremely helpful and eager to ensure that you want for nothing. She is available when needed but otherwise totally discreet. She gave us several very helpful suggestions for trips out and her favourite restaurants. We loved the daily visits from canine and feline friends. We would not hesitate to recommend this property to other couples.

Reviewed by : Christeen and Jack

Sevenoaks

Date of stay: 2017-09-09

Highly recommended!

The cottage was the perfect place to spend a week of our holiday. It is extremely well appointed and has fantastic views across the countryside to Mt Ventoux. The owner is lovely - most welcoming but discreet. We enjoyed being able to walk up into the attractive village of Bonnieux with its good selection of restaurants. The cottage is beautifully quiet - a most relaxing place to stay. We also enjoyed meeting Amy - Jutta's charming little dog (the best dog in France!).

Reviewed by : Malcolm and Don

Toronto Canada

Date of stay: 2017-08-05

A Week in Provence

Stayed at Jutta’s guest cottage this August. It exceeded expectations in every way. The Luberon Valley view was stunning. Jutta is a wonderful host and we enjoyed the regular visits from her gentle loving dog Amy. We really enjoyed our daily swim in the lovely pool. From our base we explored the towns and the wonderful markets of Menerbes, Lacoste, Gordes, Cadenet, Apt, Lourmarin, and Goult. We were able to transform our market finds into fabulous meals thanks to the really well equipped kitchen in the cottage. Jutta had stocked the kitchen with butter, milk, bread, coffee and a lot of the basic food supplies, spices etc. The rose wine was a nice touch too! The town of Bonnieux is a short walk from the gate of the property and it has everything you could ask for. A bakery, butcher, a small, though very well equipped grocery store, several excellent restaurants for the nights we didn’t feel like cooking (L’Arome, La Flambee, and Le Fournil). The valley roads are narrow and steep, so having nice restaurants so close by that you don’t need to drive to is perfect. In town you will find 2 historic churches with working bell towers and many other sites of interest to explore. Take the time to watch the local town folk playing boules in the town center. Can’t say enough about the great experience we had. We will be back.

Reviewed by : Angela & Simon

Cheshire, uk

Date of stay: 2016-10-15

Excellent accommodation in beautiful village

Stayed for one week in October and found an absolute gem. The house is extrelmely well equipped and Jutta, the owner, was so welcoming and helpful - she gave us lots of info on the local area and made our first visit to France very special. The area is beautiful and great for walking. The welcome package was a lovely touch and much appreciated. Nothing not to like here, will be back.

Reviewed by : Michelle

Steveston, BC

Date of stay: 2016-07-23

Amazing in Every Way!

Property is beautiful. Location is wonderful and close to all of the many villages in the Luberon. Bonnieux is a beautiful village, and enjoyed many restaurants there as well. I called Jutta my Fairy Godmother as she made my birthday so very special. It is perfect for 2 people, and if it was in the budget, I would stay here time and time again!

Reviewed by : Colp

Brinklow warwickshire

Date of stay: 2016-07-09

Top class accommodation

This is an absolutely wonderful place to stay. The cottage is beautifully appointed and everything you require is on hand. Jutta has thought of everything and is always happy to give help and advice regarding the area and any other questions you may have while being incredibly discreet. The surrounding area is stunning and we had two very relaxing weeks visiting all the beautiful villages in the area. The property is a stones throw from the centre of Bonnieux. We were visited regularly by Bambou, Jutta's dog and we will miss her so much. We will return.

Reviewed by : Andy & Sue

South Cave, Yorkshire

Date of stay: 2016-06-18

A place to pause, breathe & relax

A gem of a cottage, ideal for two, directions given were easy to follow, Jutta the owner was extremely friendly and helpful if needed but very discrete. The cottage is in a ideal position for visiting the Luberon and Bonnieux is a delightful town full of charm with plenty of restaurants, supermarket for your basic needs and we used the butchers and local markets for everything else. The cottage is furnished to a very high standard and everything is provided for you that you could possibly want. The views from all the terraces are superb and most evenings we were happy to put the BBQ on and chill out in the garden and watch the most beautiful sunsets most evenings. The swimming pool is lovely and private and quiet with sunloungers, parasols, table & chairs and very comfortable. Bambou the owners dog would amble by most days and say hello and I must admit we fell in love with her. The cottage is well stocked with everyday essentials and a lovely welcome hamper was waiting for us which is a very nice touch. We have stayed in many different properties abroad and as previous people have commented this has to be one of our absolute favourites. We would highly recommend it and the area and it certainly is a place to pause, breathe, and relax and a little bit of French heaven. We can't wait to go back and thank you Jutta for such a wonderful place to stay. We loved every minute of it.

Reviewed by : Tom and Ann

St. George Island, FL

Date of stay: 2016-04-23

EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS!!

We spent two weeks at Bonnieux Cottage and fell in love!! The cottage is perfect in every way, there is nothing you could possibly need that isn't there. The owner, Jutta, is an amazing woman who is happy to help with anything you may want or need. The Luberon area consists of miles and miles of unspoiled beauty, what one might dream Heaven is like! There are not too many places that we would return to, but Bonnieux Cottage and the Luberon is definitely on our list to revisit!

Reviewed by : Ann & Ian

Buckinghamshire

Date of stay: 2016-04-16

Idyllic

We have just returned from an idyllic 1 week stay at Bonnieux Cottage. The owner has obviously taken a lot of time and trouble giving much thought into equipping so thoroughly the accommodation, everything you could possibly require was there. The view from the patio is superb, we could have spent all week just sitting gazing at it! Jutta is a very welcoming and obliging host without being intrusive in any way, she even helped me with the subterfuge involved in arranging a surprise party for my partners birthday! We are not in the habit of returning to holiday destinations, however we will be making an exception in this case and returning soon!

Reviewed by : Marian and Paul

Arundel England

Date of stay: 2015-10-10

Splendid holiday

We spend a week in the autumn at this perfect cottage. Over the years we have stayed in various holiday cottages but never one that was as comfortable and so well equipped. It was not a large gite but was so light and airy, ideal for the two of us and we were wanting for nothing during our stay. The property was spotlessly clean. We were provided on arrival with a lovely gift of local produce, tapenade, wine, fruit etc. My husband loves to cook and the kitchen was full of all the utensils he needed, not just the basic 2 of each as we have often found at other rental properties. He spent many an evening with a dog at his feet for company and a glass of wine in hand as he prepared a delicious meal of local produce gleaned from the amazing markets in the area. The views from the lounge were magnificent out towards Mont Ventoux and even at this time of year we were lucky enough to be able to eat outside on one of the two patio areas . This was a region that we had not visited before and so the choice of town had been completely potluck. Bonnieux itself was a delightful place, not swarming with tourists as some of the hilltop towns were, it was a genuine working town with a mixture of tourist sights but also full of everyday life. Jutta was a lovely, kind person ready to give advice if needed but very discrete. We spent a few hours with her and a bottle of wine at the start of the holiday while she told us all about the region. I would strongly recommend this cottage to anyone wishing to visit the Luberon.

Reviewed by : Patricia and Graeme

Edinburgh, UK

Date of stay: 2015-10-06

Dream holiday cottage

We had a short, but very sweet stay in this beautiful cottage. The location and views were superb. But, what really made the stay special was the owner, Jutta's very warm welcome and genuine interest in her guests. It was a real home from home complete with very friendly and affectionate dogs, Otis and Bambou. It would make a perfect retreat, even in winter months with its wood burning stove.

Reviewed by : Dot and Ian

Auckland New Zealand

Date of stay: 2015-08-01

A delightful experience

This is an outstanding property in a truly delightful location. The cottage is charming and has been built to provide privacy and to take advantage of the glorious views, outlooks and the sunsets which are fabulous. The external terracing is quite luxurious and lends itself to alfresco dining whilst the interior is well appointed and very tastefully presented. Jutta's warm welcome and her hospitality were much appreciated and she was always friendly and helpful. We look forward to our next stay at Bonnieux Cottage and the delightful experiences of the area.

Reviewed by : Victoria & Chris Hat

Cornwall, UK

Date of stay: 2015-01-06

A real gem! Highly recommended.

We had a wonderful honeymoon at this rather lovely holiday cottage. The owner was extremely helpful prior to arrival, answering queries promptly and providing detailed direction information. The location of the house is absolutely spectacular, with the main terrace overlooking the neighbouring vineyard and looking out to Mont Ventioux and Lacoste, with a perfect sunset view (which we enjoyed nightly with a bottle of local rose). The centre of Bonnieux is only a short 5 minute walk away (albeit up hill) which made it easy to stock up on croissants and bread from a choice of bakeries. The house itself is, without doubt, the best equipped holiday cottage we have ever had the pleasure to go to. It has everything – and the owner is keen to stress that she is able to provide anything in the unlikely event that anything is missing! Definitely take the owner’s advice of going there first before stocking up at the supermarket. There is no air conditioning, so you have to be a bit savvy with the shutters to keep the house cool in the July heat. The swimming pool is also situated nearer to the owner’s house but is very well equipped with chairs and sunbeds. We really enjoyed our fantastically relaxing stay in this lovely cottage. Go here!

Reviewed by : Nicole und Martin

Bonnieux Cottage

Date of stay: 2015-06-12

Oase der Ruhe und Entspannung

We spent a wonderful week in this charming cottage. We lacked nothing - the decor is very stylish, the kitchen very well equipped with everything you need, all very clean and well maintained. The location is perfect, just a short walk to the center from the picturesque Bonnieux and close to many other attractions in the region. We have enjoyed the wonderful view from the terrace on the vineyards and the hills and villages in the background every day anew. Jutta is a perfect hostess, we were welcomed with fresh fruit and flowers, as well as a stocked fridge, she had good advice for exploring the region, markets, restaurants, etc. Her lovable nature and not least the presence of her two charming dogs Otis and Bambou we greatly appreciated. We will keep the relaxing days in our memory, a pity that they went so fast, but that's always the case with the beautiful moments in life!

Reviewed by : Roger & Sue

UK

Date of stay: 2015-06-21

Perfection!

An absolutely stunning villa in a beautiful location. Juttta is the perfect hostess - we wanted for nothing so far as equipment is concerned and she had some great ideas on where to go and what to see. Plus the two dogs made it seem like home from home! We had expected to eat out far more often in the evenings but it was so relaxing just to sit and watch the amazing sunsets from the balcony whilst drinking lovely Luberon wine and snacking on French food. We had one complaint - we only stayed for a week and should have made it two...

Reviewed by : Helene and Andy

Hertfordshire,uk

Date of stay: 2015-06-06

Relaxed Holiday

Bonnieux cottage is in a beautiful setting in a wonderful location. The views are spectacular looking over at Lacoste and beyond. The cottage is spotless and equipped with everything you could need. Jutta made us feel very welcome and was helpful with lots of information and recommendations of the local area. I was overwhelmed by her generosity for the welcoming gift and beautiful flowers and fruit. We spent some relaxing afternoons sat around the lovely swimming pool. Will recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed by : Helene and Andy

Hertfordshire,uk

Date of stay: 2015-06-06

Relaxed Holiday

Bonnieux is a beautiful village. We arrived at the cottage which was spotless and well equipped with everything you could possibly need. We especially appreciated the lovely welcome gifts, flowers, baguette, tapenade and wine. Jutta made us feel very comfortable and helpful with information of local restaurants to eat and places to visit.We enjoyed the use of the pool in such an exceptional setting. The views from the terrace were breathtaking looking over to Lacoste and across the valley to Goult and beyond. Would recommend to others and look forward to returning.

Reviewed by : Barb

Dundas, Canada

Date of stay: 2015-04-23

Bliss in Bonnieux

Bonnieux Cottage is straight out of a travel magazine with beautiful views out across the Luberon valley. The owner, Jutta, is on site and loves to share her extensive knowledge of the areas attractions. The location feels as though you are well out into the country, but town is only a few minutes walk away. You could spend a week just relaxing by the pool, soaking up the provencal sunshine, or you could ramble the backroads to visit other hill towns, and markets. On the other hand you could just stay put in Bonnieux and quickly feel like a local. The cottage, the town, and the area are quintessentially the southern France visitors are looking for.

Reviewed by : Richard & Antoinette

London, UK

Date of stay: 2015-05-04

Wonderful holiday

Bonnieux Cottage is purpose-built and beautifully designed for two people. The living space is light with long views, especially of the sunsets over distant hills. The sunsets were beautiful and different every single night. There are two terraces to sit, eat outside and enjoy the quiet. Inside all the equipment is first class, and the kitchen is great. There is an excellent shower and a w.c. separate from the bedroom. Jutta was a very kind hostess and saw that everything worked, but never intruded on us. Her dogs, Otis & Bambou, and cats, were less reserved in their approach, but absolutely delightful. We would definitely recommend this cottage to our friends, and have already book our next holiday here !

Reviewed by : Tara and Greg

Durango, Colorado

Date of stay: 2015-04-10

Just perfect!

We had such a wonderful stay at the Bonnieux Cottage in the Luberon. The location, the views, the setting are all incredible, and the cottage itself was just perfect. The cottage itself is brand new, sparkly clean and so thoughtfully equipped. It was very comfortable, so well set up for preparing meals at “home”, but within walking distance of excellent restaurants, as well as more casual dining and outdoor café options at any number of local venues in the beautiful village of Bonnieux. The cottage location also provides the option of easy driving to other villages for even more choices of dining, or simply exploring this beautiful area. There are so many villages and beautiful places to visit, trails to hike, little back roads to drive or to bike – our week went by all too quickly. We can’t say enough about the gracious hospitality of the owner of the cottage, who lives in the home adjacent. She was able to provide helpful information and suggestions, but also wanted to allow us the independence we desired to enjoy the cottage and its patio as our own “home”. We felt that our decision to book a week at the Bonnieux Cottage was the best decision we made during our three week trip to Spain, Portugal and France. We just hope that it does not become so popular that we will have to book our return a year or more in advance!