Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : A.N

Australia

Date of stay: 2019-09-28

Paradise in Provence

This is undoubtedly the most exquisite place we have ever stayed. It's hard to suppress an involuntary gasp of awe as one sees the ancient dusky-pink manor house rising up above the vineyards of the valley, perched above its beautiful terrace gardens on the side of the mountain. The breathtaking nature of the experience continues inside the house, which is a luminous, luxurious, gracious space full of stunning detail and every possible comfort. With traditional Provencal ceilings, old stone, terracotta floors and the beautiful patina of age, the house nevertheless has every modern amenity one could ever want. From the bottle of wine from the Chapelins vines waiting for you, to the beautiful locally made olive-oil based toiletries, to the extensive collection of books and boardgames and the comprehensive guide to the local area, every detail is carefully curated. The views out over the Luberon valley are really deserving of every possible superlative, and every window of the house looks out to this beautiful vista. The owner is wonderful to communicate with and the house manager is incredibly helpful and warm. You will never want to leave.

Reviewed by : Fredrik

Helsinki

Date of stay: 2019-09-14

Wow - What a great place!

What a fantastic vacation we had! Having seen some other houses in the Luberon, I must say that this was an absolute pearl! It was genuine and wonderfully decorated in best possible Provence-style. My wife and my mother couldn't stop admiring all the fine details along with the fantastic views and evening sunset. The youngsters loved the pool, while me and my dad enjoyed the rosé... along with the house, the views, surrounding villages, farmers markets just to mention a few things. The owner Nick, handles everything with utmost professionalism, so arrangements are straight forward and 100% reliable. There's no reason, why I wouldn't propose this accommodation to anyone. It's a great and a safe bet!

Reviewed by : DAG

London

Date of stay: 2018-06-01

Found peace and Family time at La Bastide

The home is situated amoung spectacular views. We enjoyed sitting out by the pool and dining on the terrace. The home is beautiful and charming. We enjoyed preparing meals in the authentic French Kitchen and dining together at sunset. We had the chance to "pause" and relax. I very much enjoyed my wine, my book and the views sitting out on the terrace. The gentle wind and sounds of Provence were most welcoming. Nick has a wonderful collection of books and games... My kids and I actually played board games..... not video games! We had many laughs together. As always, SallyAnn is most helpful and kind. Marie, our chef outdid herself again and prepared a wonderful meal. These ladies have become friends to us and we look foward to returning to Provence next Summer.

Reviewed by : David

Chester

Date of stay: 2018-06-25

Wonderful, classic Provencal home

The property is a classical Provencal home with all the charm one would expect but also all the modern amenities one would expect. Outstanding, romantic view of the Luberon Valley and close to town for all you would need. Owner is excellent. We would definitely come back.

Reviewed by : EA

Philadelphia, PA

Date of stay: 2018-07-15

Five-star experience in a house full of love

Sometimes pictures just can’t do a house justice. I spent three years running international M&A for a major US hotel chain where I was responsible for finding luxury and high-end boutique properties across Europe and this house rivaled anything I saw during that period. The furnishings were gorgeous and allowed the age and the beauty of the house to shine. Staying at Nick’s House felt like staying at a friend or family member’s house. The bedding and towels were sumptuous and Nick stocked the house with olive-based toiletries produced by a friend’s nearby farm. A fully-equipped kitchen allows you to cook lovely meals at home. Nick’s house manager welcomes you to the house and has thoughtful suggestions and helpful hints for getting around the area. If you get the chance you should ask Sally to book in a night or two with Alexis, a young chef who will come and prepare a beautiful meal and serve it to you on the stunning terrace. My friends and I vacation together every summer and brought our kids here to spend some time before they head off to college for the first time. Thanks to Nick, Sally and this glorious house, we had a vacation to remember.

Reviewed by : Sandra

Oregon, USA

Date of stay: 2018-06-12

A Dream Come True

La Bastide was everything our family hoped for. The physical property is gorgeous and perfectly maintained. Everything you could want is there. The view is breathtaking and the calm evoked is intoxicating. We had a a marvelous week in Provençe, but everyone agreed that dining outside at sundown was their favorite experience. Thank you Nick and Sally-Ann for making this a perfect week.

Reviewed by : PAH

Guernsey

Date of stay: 2018-07-28

Magic

Two weeks of summer bliss at the magical La Bastide. Amazingly our experience lived up to the excellent portrayal of La Bastide on the web site. A most comfortable and well appointed house with a fabulous south facing aspect and wonderful panoramic views and spectacular sun-sets. The terraced garden and pool offer plenty of opportunity to enjoy seclusion when pressures of communal living require! An excellent location for those having the energy to explore the delights of the Luberon and its many restaurants. Excellent support and service from Sally-Anne and her team. Well worth a return visit.

Reviewed by : Meredith

USA

Date of stay: 2018-06-17

Lovely Bastide in the Cherry Groves

This house is in the most beautiful setting among the cherry orchards and terraced landscape. The views are out of a fairy tale with farmland, sunsets and distant villages over the valley. The house itself had everything we needed, it was cleaned twice a week. The caretaker was extremely attentive and helpful with a dinner reservations and daily breakfast delivery. I would recommend this house to one or two families because there is plenty of space. Thank you for a most memorable week.

Reviewed by : Fred

USA

Date of stay: 2017-05-15

Heavenly vacation

We returned for a second time this year, and had another heavenly vacation. Four couples, all good friends, in total comfort in this capacious highly functional home. We love the countryside for painting, bike riding and touring; the vineyards for tasting and buying local wines; the local people for their friendliness. Great nearby restaurant choices if you want to go out; fabulous local markets and great working kitchen if you choose to stay in. Nick is an attentive landlord, and Sally nails the details.

Reviewed by : CarolineG

Toronto, Canada

Date of stay: 2016-06-18

Gloriously Unforgettable

We were lucky to have spent a week at La Bastide de Bonnieux in June 2016, and we will never forget our time there. The Luberon region on its own had previously captured our hearts, but our experience was all the more enhanced by our home for the week. The views are so spectacular that no camera may ever do it justice. To get lost gazing out of our favorite spot, the kitchen window, was to feel total peace. Watching our children enjoy their dinner dessert at the outdoor dining table while the sun set into the valleys beyond was heavenly; and what a spot for a champagne toast or two. The pool area allows plenty of lounge space while the lower grass area was fantastic for our children to enjoy a good soccer game together - all the while never losing the view. The house manages to maximize the views from the bedrooms while the shutters function perfectly when needing to block the warm sun. Having the en suites allowed total efficiency when getting ready for the day between ourselves and the other family we were staying with. Sally the house manager is such a fantastic and dependable addition who's knowledge of the house itself was so helpful while her insight of the region was welcomed. She was respectful of our guests and space throughout. Bonnieux is one of the larger villages in the region so we appreciated being within a few minutes drive to a local corner shop and restaurants. That being said, there are numerous other beautiful villages within 20-25 minutes from this property so we felt we could easily explore all the region had to offer while being able to maximize our time relaxing at the villa. A morning trip to a local market for fresh produce, meats, and cheeses had us set up for an evening at La Bastide where we could feel we were living the Provençal lifestyle. We will appreciate that time always. We wouldn't hesitate to return to this property. Dealing with the property owner was a breeze - the utmost professional at all times. We countdown the days before we can be back!

Reviewed by : oleDen

St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Date of stay: 2016-09-09

Magic

We had a very difficult trip getting here, but Sally, the property manager was wonderful despite the delay. She was so thoughtful in getting some food items in for us and arrived the next day to help further. Our family was delighted by being able to make wonderful meals, which we enjoyed on the terrace . The sunset, the lights of Lacoste, the architecture so carefully preserved... We enjoyed the pool at the end of the season. Our excursions to the neighboring villages were easy and Bonnieux itself was charming. It was all easy, the property was spotless and so well maintained. Comfortable beds, nice linens. This is by far one of the best experiences we have had.

Reviewed by : Alexander

London

Date of stay: 2016-08-13

Your review title

Bastide des Chapelins could not come more highly recommended. This is an extremely elegant house with a fabulous setting. Sunsets were a huge highlight, with everyone ensuring pole position to capture them. As well as being stylishly decorated, the house was extremely well kitted out - all that the chefs in your party could need. If you are hoping to experience 'classic' Provence, as well as a great location, you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by : Nundrum

Baltimore, MD USA

Date of stay: 2016-05-14

First Class Provence Stay

This is a first-class stay in Provence for two to three couples, one large family, or two small families. Some rental houses do not live up to their pictures. For others, the pictures cannot accurately capture the place. This is one of the latter. No matter how exquisite it looks online, it is actually better once you are there. I am only sorry we missed the lavender blooming -- that must be a sight! The house is outfitted so thoughtfully it would be hard to imagine something the owners have not thought of. (Example: My cousin said, "It would be great if we could make this on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper." The first place I looked, there was a roll of parchment paper.) The property manger (Sally) is a treasure. She arranged a traditional Provencal dinner to be prepared for us in the house the evening of our arrival. Our jet-lagged group watched professional chef Brigitte prepare a delicious feast, and we did not have to lift a finger. The local town of Bonnieux is charming, and other equally charming Luberon villages are nearby. Everything seems to be 20 minutes away, except for the more famous sites like Avignon, St Remy, and Arles, which are within 90 minutes. But it might not matter, because once you step on the grounds of the house, you may not want to leave.

Reviewed by : Alvarocorsini

Bonnieux

Date of stay: 2016-03-19

Amazing house, great deco, perfect location

We spend one week during our easter holidays. First the arrangements and booking were very easy, they gave us every demand we had for our kid and were all helpful. The house totally exceed our expectations in all sense! The deco is so cosy respecting the origins of the house and the region but with all the facilities. The location is perfect, right in the core of the best places to visit The recommendations for restaurants and places were extraordinary The house Manager also very helpful We will definitely repeat

Reviewed by : Robert

Oakland, California

Date of stay: 2015-05-06

I need more stars

I'll get directly to the meat. If you're planning on renting this bastide for a week, don't. Rent it for two! Leaving after only a week will be very difficult. This is the perfect home, and that is what it is, a home. Both elegant and comfortable, it is the perfect hub for your daily adventures. Before heading out for the days sightseeing take a quick dip in the pool or go for a run, then breakfast at the kitchen table with the lovely view over looking the Luberon. . Lunch at one of the many hill top villages of Provence, then stroll back to the house for an aperitif and a lie by the pool while making plans for the dinner you'll make and finally enjoy as the sun slowly sinks into the hills in the west. The convivial evenings will pass and wine will flow while guests pair off, some to the handsome bedrooms, others to the fire roaring in the sitting room but most will linger above the pool watching the lights of Lacoste and listening to the chorus of birds and toads take over the evening. You'll probably have already discovered that the place is a haven but it is at this time that it becomes most evident. And the best part is that tomorrow you can do it all over again...

Reviewed by : Michael

Australia

Date of stay: 2015-06-19

To good to share

This house is outstanding In respect to the quality of accomodation,it's location and local staff. Not sure I want to many people to enjoy in case it gets spoilt!

Reviewed by : JC

San Francisco, CA

Date of stay: 2014-09-03

Beauty and relaxation in the hills

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this lovely house set in the hills of the Luberon Valley. Settle in for the week. Wake up each morning, venture to Bonnieux for pastries then enjoy them out by the pool while you watch the valley wake up beneath you. Drive to the market at L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue to buy food for the week and treasures for your loved ones back home. As the evening descends, watch for the lights of nearby Lacoste to appear--you'll hike there from Bonnieux the next morning and delight in getting lost. Make sure to enjoy a catered meal in the house--Brigitt makes a mean Soup Pistou. And if you don't know what to do, Sally knows--just ask.