Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : MagsUES

New York City

Date of stay: 2019-09-07

Wonderful week

Our group of four just spent a dream week at Les Remparts. The house exceeded our expectations in every way - it was even more lovely than we imagined from the pictures. It's beautifully furnished, with the owner's artwork, books, and other personal touches. As previous reviews mentioned, the kitchen was better equipped than our own, with everything one would need to set a lovely table or entertain friends. Multiple terraces provided options for outdoor lounging or dining, and the views across the valley and mountains are spectacular. Bonnieux is a picturesque hill village with two bakeries and several restaurants, and there are many villages within an easy drive or bike ride (there are two places to rent bikes in town). It was so hard to leave at the end of the week - we hope to return for another dream vacation in the future.

Reviewed by : Niamh

Dublin

Date of stay: 2019-02-15

Fabulous rental home

This home is very tastefully and comfortably furnished with everything you need- clearly the owners spend time living here. Fabulous views from inside and from the terrace which cleverly provides coverage for part of the pool below. We loved it all- a great base for touring the Luberon - we went by car at night and by electric bike during the day which can be rented in the village. So many gorgeous villages to visit- Merebes, LaCoste, Goult, Gordes, Roussillon, Lourmarin and further afield Las Baux the drive there from St Remy is amazing as is a visit to Les Lumieres a fantastic immersive art experience not to be missed! The village also has a beautiful relais &chateaux hotel and cedar forest complete with a number of acres of ancient Les Bieres dwellings. Highly recommend this house and location. A week was not enough!

Reviewed by : Kate

Florida

Date of stay: 2019-05-11

Exceeded our expectations in every way!

We had an amazing time in this house. I visited with my husband and two other couples, some of our best friends. You never know what you are getting when you rent a house online. So many times the actual experience does not meet the expectation. So I was guarded as the days approached. But the minute we entered this beautiful home, any fear turned to great joy! It is gorgeous! I loved the furnishings, the artwork, the flooring, rugs, abundance of books and the gourmet kitchen was stocked better than my kitchen at home, with all kinds of platters and dishes, spices, and oils and vinegars!! The appliances were first class. There was even a herb garden outside the kitchen door! The patios offered fantastic views, and we enjoyed many dinners around our dining room table. We used the market baskets daily as we walked to the village for bread and groceries. We stocked up on produce both at the market in Isle sur la Sorgue as well as the charming Friday market in Bonnieux. Our friends graciously gave us the use of the master bedroom and bath which were glorious. We loved the town of Bonnieux and had fun day trips to Arles and other neat towns. Not being European, we were unfamiliar with emptying the water from the dryer, but a conversation with the house manager quickly solved the problem. It was a bit musty smelling in the lower living room but we didn’t need to use the space as the main living room was so enjoyable. The owner of the home was delightful and helpful with all my email questions and I truly cannot wait to stay in this house again!! We all loved it!!!!

Reviewed by : Lydie

England

Date of stay: 2018-08-19

WOW

We stayed in this beautiful home for 10 days in August 2018. I say HOME because it is really not your typical holiday rental. It is like staying in someone's home. It is furnished with taste and it was actually better equipped than our own home! There were goodies in the fridge for our arrival including a most welcome chilled bottle of wine, which we really appreciated and their care taker was very helpful . The views from every room are breathtaking and we loved the fact that there are different levels, with terraces and a delightful small garden. We had breakfast on the kitchen terrace watching the sun rise, lunch and dinner on the main terrace watching the sun set down. Another huge plus point is the swimming pool - although not huge it is more than sufficient and a rare gem for a village house. I took delight in stepping out of the house each morning for the 2 minute walk to the village shops, in the evenings we just walked to the restaurants. Can't recommend it highly enough. Just want to be there again.

Reviewed by : Julie

Australia

Date of stay: 2017-07-01

Fabulous in every way

As two Australian couples who love to travel to Provence most years, staying in rented homes for a week or two at a time, we found this lovely Bonnieux house ticked every box. It was even better than as described, very clean, spacious, perfectly positioned mid-village yet very quiet and private. The manager was exceptional and the house very well provisioned - with so many welcoming and appreciated items - bowls of fruit, wine and bread and an abundance of towels etc. It's furnished very stylishly and artistically and pool was small but more than adequate for the four of us, it's such a bonus to have a pool in a village house. The only tricky part was manoeuvring our car into and out of the car park into the tiny, windy street. Bonnieux deserves its reputation as one of the Luberon's most beautiful villages, with stunning views over the valley and is so easily accessible to all the other villages and larger towns (Avignon, Aix-en-Provence). We're returning to Provence in 2019 and our first choice would be this house in this village.

Reviewed by : Chip

New York

Date of stay: 2017-07-04

A wonderful family vacation

My family and I stayed here in Bonnieux for a week at this great house which was convenient to town and the surrounding towns. Everyday was another excursion into the beauty of the south of France...The house was clean and well kept with wonderful views..all around a great experience.

Reviewed by : Tony

Staffordshire uk

Date of stay: 2016-08-20

Paradise

The only word to be used is Fantastic. This is one of the most amazing houses I have ever stayed in they have anticipated any thing you might need and added more