Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Alice

London, United Kingdom

Date of stay: 2020-08-22

Fantastic house in perfect location

We had a wonderful week in Belle de Goult. The house was just as in the photographs: comfortable, well equipped and clean. The garden and pool are lovely. The icing on the cake is the house's location in the heart of Goult: you have everything you need (cheese shop, butcher, baker, restaurants, epicerie) on your doorstep in a really beautiful, unspoilt village. We loved browsing the shops, getting fresh bread each morning, and eating locally. My kids adored the takeaway pizza! Florence was welcoming and helpful on arrival and stayed in touch through our stay. As others have mentioned, we preferred to park in the main square which was safe and easy, instead of the narrow road to the garage. It was no problem. We will hopefully be returning as we had a fabulous time.

Reviewed by : D & GW

New Zealand

Date of stay: 2019-07-13

A truly splendid holiday property

We had had a wonderful time at Belle de Goult. We were very impressed with this lovely house, and it was entirely suitable for us plus our daughter-in-law and our granddaughter. The rooms were very comfortable and the views from the top floor of the Luberon Valley were quite remarkable. All the facilities in the house worked very well. The swimming pool and the outdoor gazebo meant that we were always able to relax in the shade on the hot days and after we returned from our bike rides. In addition to all of those matters the crucial point is that this lovely house is located in one of the best villages in Provence. The fact that it was only a short walk to the village made it even more attractive.

Reviewed by : R&G

UK

Date of stay: 2018-09-08

Truly Belle de Goult

The house has been beautifully renovated and decorated in a modern and simple style. The interior of the house is well laid out for two couples, and the kitchen and bathrooms are very well equipped. However, most of the compliments have to go to the layout of the exterior with its pretty garden, lovely pool, and just stunning views of the valley behind. If that isn't enough just picture a simple village on your doorstep with virtually every classic French shop you might need for a holiday. There are also 3 or 4 restaurants in walking distance, and we would certainly recommend Le Carillon, La Bartavelle, and strangely a lovely small Italian restaurant - just near La Poste - which we hesitated to try but were very pleased that we did. Florence was very easy to contact and very helpful when we had a question or two. The house and its village are as near perfection as we have encountered - and we have been holidaying in villas all over Europe for many years.

Reviewed by : Alners & Boormans

Belle de Goult

Date of stay: 2018-09-01

Great stay for 2 couples

The property is great, really well set-up for 2 couples with good sized rooms, both with lovely views across the countryside. Easy access to the village (all down hill) with everything you could want on your door step. Goult is a good place to base yourself because it feels a little more "real" than some of the other hillside villages, but they are all within easy reach. Plenty of outdoor space at the property itself, with a great shaded area and comfortable seating at the bottom of the garden underneath the fig tree. The pool was just what we needed in the heat and it can provide a very refreshing dip. We catered for ourselves every evening and that was very easy in the kitchen and could eat either inside or out and then settle in for a chat and a glass of local wine during the evening. All the arrangements went very well, from dealing with Florence and meeting Megan on arrival day. I would follow the advice of others and park in Place de la Republique because it is a short walk to the property and unless you are in a very small car it is really very very tight. We heartily recommend it!

Reviewed by : Peter and Anne

West Susex

Date of stay: 2018-07-07

A Little Gem

The plain façade of Belle de Goult gives not a clue as to the delight that awaits behind the front door. The property has been fitted to a high standard for a holiday home. There are ‘his and hers’ basins in the main bathroom with a separate shower and toilet. The second bedroom upstairs has another shower and toilet; however, this bedroom also leads out onto a lovely veranda with far reaching views across the valley where we enjoyed our petit dejeuner each morning. Downstairs is another shower in the utility room and another separate toilet. The kitchen is well equipped and there are two large pairs of sliding doors that lead from the open plan downstairs accommodation out on to another dining location on the terrace. The efficient air conditioning was a real bonus as the temperatures rose to over 35 degrees. At the bottom of the garden the decking around the pool affords another location to indulge in canapes and aperitifs whilst gazing across the valley as it glows with the setting sun. Goult itself is a delightful unspoilt real village well served with a boulangerie, épicerie, butcher and of course the Café de la Poste. We have stayed in Goult several times before taking lots of photographs of the area which was the purpose of our visit, this time to catch the lavender in full bloom. We can thoroughly recommend this house for 2 couples or a small family; as there were only the two of us this time we really enjoyed the space and opportunity to relax. Peter & Anne West Sussex July 2018

Reviewed by : J&D

UK

Date of stay: 2018-06-16

Perfect home

The house has been thoughtfully renovated, equipped and furnished to a very high, modern standard. It is situated in a very quiet position in a lovely village, within easy walking distance there are a great selection of shops and restaurants. The booking process was very easy and friendly, Florence has been very helpful throughout. We will be back!

Reviewed by : KenJ

UK

Date of stay: 2018-05-26

Outstanding Village House

It is exactly as described on the web site . An exceptional property for two or four , quietly located just a few minutes walk away from the village with grocer , butcher , baker and excellent restaurants . We can only agree with the highly positive previous reviews including the praise for Florence . We plan to return next year .

Reviewed by : KJP

NC, USA

Date of stay: 2018-05-05

Fantastic stay - we will be back!

The property was even better than the pics - great amount of open space and wonderful light. The modern renovation is very well done - retractable sliding doors for indoor/outdoor flow and the large US style bathroom with 2 vanities etc a pleasant surprise! Florence made the entire booking process easy and was prompt and very helpful on email. Goult is a fabulous location - all the villages are within an easy reach but it maintains an authentic village feel. Great restaurants in the town but book on the Saturday night when you arrive to ensure a table later in the week. We really enjoyed Le Carillon and Bartavelle. Bakery and small supermarket are an easy walk from the house. Cafe Poste only serves lunch but you can hang out there at night and grab a delicious pizza (pizzeria du cote) across the way to enjoy with your drinks. Great property, fabulous village and terrific service from Florence and her team. We will be back!

Reviewed by : I and L

Kent, England

Date of stay: 2017-09-16

A GREAT CHOICE!

We spent the last 2 weeks of September at the lovely Belle de Goult - and were so pleased with our choice. The house is beautifully appointed and perfectly situated in a tiny quiet street in pretty Goult which has a grocery, a bakery, a cheese shop, a butcher's, a weekly market and several good restaurants (La Bartavelle was our favourite although Sunday lunch at Cafe de la Poste was also a highlight). Gould felt more authentic and welcoming and less touristy than some of the other hilltop villages we visited - all a short drive away - and we were always pleased to return to our "home" with its charming walled garden, pool and views. We definitely recommend leaving the car in the village square and walking the last couple of minutes up to the house - the last bend of the quaint approach was a challenge in the hired Renault Espace we'd unexpectedly been upgraded to! It was a pleasure to meet Megan on arrival and Florence at the end of our stay - and we really appreciated Florence's help with a couple of small details, particularly a slightly later check-out (we didn't want to leave!). We would go back in a flash....

Reviewed by : TrishaP

Oxford

Date of stay: 2017-09-02

Excellent!

We spent two weeks in the beautiful village of Goult in this lovely property. Very conveniently situated within a couple of minutes walking distance of the village centre but in a very quiet side street. The house was spotlessly clean, very well appointed and a has a lovely garden with pool and beautiful views over the valley. Florence was extremely helpful in the lead up to our trip - we did not need to call on her while we were there but sure she would have responded instantly. Would certainly recommend the property and the location. Take heed of the warning of the narrow road !! It is drivable but you would struggle in a 4x4. Best restaurants La Fleur de Sel in Beaumettes (fine dining), Bistrot des Roques in Saint Pantaleon, La Terrasse in the village. La Terrasse in Joucas fabulous views - menu is basic but good.

Reviewed by : NigelT

Bristol, England

Date of stay: 2017-06-03

Absolutely Beautiful!

We stayed here for 2 weeks and had the most wonderful and relaxing time. The villa is superb - nothing is lacking. The whole décor and furnishings are geared towards simple luxury and the garden is gorgeous. The village is just that - a typical, untouristy (ish) Provencal village with the shops all being patronised by the local residents. The butcher made us feel like locals after 2 visits! Restaurants were superb as were the people. We'll definitely be back.

Reviewed by : A & R

Virginia, USA

Date of stay: 2017-07-08

Perfect for family or two couples

We just got back from a 1 week stay at Belle de Goult. The house, location, and condition of the property is just like you see on the web site. High quality and new furnishings, tastefully decorated, and just absolutely splendid views ! The house was perfect for our family with two kids. Florence, the property manager is the sweetest - always available, truly goes out of her way to make sure we had the best experience. Goult is the perfect village, so much character, less touristy. friendly residents, grocery store owner, baker, cheese shop owner, and restaurants.

Reviewed by : M & R

Melbourne, Australia

Date of stay: 2017-05-01

A delightful home in Goult

We recently spent a week in Belle de Goult and it was delightful. The property is ideal for two couples as there are two spacious and beautifully furnished bedrooms upstairs each with their own bathroom and spectacular views over the Petit Luberon. The living area and kitchen downstairs is open plan and modern with all the appliances that you could require and there is also reverse cycle airconditioning in all areas of the house. The added advantage of the beautifully landscaped garden and pool is that you can self cater and enjoy a meal or a glass of wine outside. Florence was extremely helpful and prompt dealing with any issues/queries we had and all went very smoothly. The location was fantastic, staying in Goult is seeing a true Provencal town before tourism takes hold. Most of the major sites that we wanted to visit were no more than a half hour drive away from Goult.

Reviewed by : AusNic

Australia

Date of stay: 2016-11-07

Perfect all year round

We stayed in this beautifully renovated villa. It was in the gorgeous town of Goult and with reverse cycle heating was fabulous even in early winter. Perfect location, gorgeous views and a stunning backyard we enjoyed beautiful days in the sun and very comfortable evenings indoors. Everything you could need and very high quality furnishings- comfortable beds and the very new interior this property was fantastic and works all year round for a couple, 2 couples or a small family- would love to come back next time and take advantage of the pool. Florence who was our contact was an absolute delight to deal with- we will definitely be back.

Reviewed by : James

London

Date of stay: 2016-09-24

Couldn't ask for better.

Went for a week and I have to say the property is fantastic. Goult is a lovely town. It's great to have access to the more touristy towns without having to actually stay in them. The villa itself is all you can ask for; big, light, airy rooms very well laid out and the furniture and fixtures are of a higher quality than I have seen in other properties. We actually used the kitchen and ate in on a number of days because the villa was just so nice to spend in and sitting on the patio having dinner as the sun went down was magical. The garden and pool were the highlight. The view is spectacular. Looking at it every morning is the best start to the day. The pool is beautiful either swimming or just sitting by it reading. One of the best parts of the trip was going into the garden just before bed and looking up at the blanket of stars. Living in a city, that was one of the best things. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I cannot recommend it enough.

Reviewed by : Claire

UK

Date of stay: 2016-07-23

A perfect gem

It is often hard to find a property for two that has a garden and a pool and frequently we end up rattling around in large houses. Belle de Goult answered that problem superbly. The location is perfect. The quiet little street is a mere two minute walk to the restaurants and much reviewed Cafe de la Poste. The quality of fittings in the house and the arrangement of the accommodation made it worth every penny of the hire cost. Above everything the garden, pool and views often made it a difficult decision to go out! Florence was efficient and charming and all arrangements worked without a hitch. We absolutely loved it and would recommend it without reservation. We will definitely book it again.

Reviewed by : Mr Lee

Switzerland

Date of stay: 2016-07-09

Fantastic stay in Goult

We spent one week in Belle de Goult and really enjoyed it. The house has just been totally refurbished, it was very very well done and very welcoming. It was quite and relaxing and we enjoyed having our breakfast outside with a breathtakingly view of Le Luberon. We also enjoyed a lot the swimming pool which allow you to refresh yourself during a hot summer day.