Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Anna Q

Paris

Date of stay: 2018-06-18

So extraordinary I kinda don't want anyone else to know about it...

I know the village of Goult very well having spent at least a month there every year for 25 years. I've tried others and I always come back to Goult. I don't think the family would have sold our house in Goult if the Chateau de Goult didn't exist. Very private. Sleeps 18 -20. Beautiful. Funky - there's a little chapel and a sunken underground mini soccer field and a stage!! The onsite concierge was perfection himself. Five Stars! Seriously....

Reviewed by : Traveler7

San Francisco, CA

Date of stay: 2018-08-13

The most special, comfortable, unique place

We had a wonderful time! THE CHATEAU de GOULT IS A REAL PIECE! The place is very exceptional and it was lovely - including all precise recommendations from Malo, the daily help of Joel, and the beautiful not too touristic village. In the village you can walk and shop (beautiful market on Friday), interesting villages all around for half or full day trips (we have been to Gordes, Roussillon, Lourmarin, Bonnieaux...),. Some of us took walks in the nature around, some spend most of the time in the pool. The experience was far beyond all expectation. Malo, the owner was available when we needed and accurate information and splendid recommendation for catering, great restaurants (the 2 minutes walk Bartavelle) and the great evening with Chef Roland). The Chateau is very well equiped, all small details are taken care of. Highly recommended. I’m sure we will be back.

Reviewed by : Charlotte

New Jersey

Date of stay: 2017-07-22

Fall in love with this fairytale setting in a medieval chateau

Chateau Goult is a true medieval castle with amazing sweeping grand staircase installed during the Renaissance. Think about walking on 1000 year old floors but with the comforts of a well-stocked kitchen and modern plumbing, including washer and dryer, plus a plunge pool! If I could give this a ten plus on a scale of one to five I would. Joel, the caretaker, was helpful and accommodating at explaining how things operated. The place itself is wonderful. The town of Goult is one of the best small towns in Provence (according to the guidebooks and that is correct), but is not over-run with tourists. Lovely restaurants, wine cellars close by. The village cheese shop was deemed incredible by two of our 17 guests. We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary here. Chef Ronald provided a catered dinner that everyone loved. Kudos to Malo, Joel and the chef for making this a memorable experience. I wish everyone I love could stay here.

Reviewed by : JP

New York

Date of stay: 2017-06-27

Marvelous family reunion

Goult: lovely village, beautiful views, perfectly situated for touring this region of Provence. The Chateau: Glorious - adored by the entire group. We dined every evening in the Chateau, the kitchen provided everything required for all sixteen of us, the bedrooms were wonderful, the pool was refreshing, the exterior setting fabulous. Joel, the caretaker, is extraordinary. Malo, thank you so much.

Reviewed by : happytraveller

Dublin, Ireland

Date of stay: 2016-12-23

Magical Chateau

We had a family gathering here. This is an authentic castle experience but with all the trappings of modern living.The rooms were cosy and it felt homely which was lovely for our family. We had their recommended chef cook our celebration dinner and it was delicious. He was so friendly and eager to talk about the meal preparation. This is a really special place, and I couldn't recommend it enough. Words can't really describe it,it simply has to be experienced.

Reviewed by : Lorraine McD

Sydney, Australia

Date of stay: 2016-10-05

Magnifique!

I'm an Australian woman who rented Chateau du Goult for a month with friends around my 70th birthday. Different friends from the UK, USA and especially Australia arrived over the 4 weeks, to spend at least a week, and usually more, with me at the Chateau. From the minute I walked in I was overwhelmed by the beauty and grandeur of the chateau and its grounds - and everyone had the same reaction - its splendour took our breath away. We all felt like royalty as we daily walked the wonderful ancient stone staircase; we all luxuriated in our enormous bedrooms and appreciated the modern facilities; we relaxed on the various terraces and by the pool after exploring the near and far towns and markets; we snuggled by the fire when it was cooler and the magnificent caretaker Joel offered to light it for us; we gathered by the dining table each evening (19 of us one week) and laughed and chatted well into the evening; we dined also at the local restaurants in the beautiful village of Goult, 3 of which are Michelin-listed; and shopped for fresh croissants each morning, for fresh produce in our village and for fish (and jewellery, and clothes) at our own village market, as well as further afield. The guest book signed by most of my 32 guests echoes the rave I am writing here. I requested a buffet for each Saturday, arrival day. Malo, the owner, made recommendations which were well above any expectations we could have had. Various food requirements were accounted for and the buffet was very French and delicious - a wonderful introduction to the region on people's first day there. As well, I asked for a chef to come once a week to cook a more formal dinner. Malo recommended Chef Ronald, who amazed us all, with a different menu each week. All the courses were cooked on the premises and therefore very fresh. He served us with aplomb and, to our great delight, explained the cheese course in detail. These dinners were held in what we called the Knight's Chamber at the grand table, lit by nothing but candlelight. All the dinners were tres magnifique - and my particular birthday even more so! Finally, I must pay tribute to the wonderful caretaker Joel, who efficiently took full bins and many empty bottles away, cleaned the pool, kept the garden immaculate, supervised the spotless cleaning of the chateau and was there to help for any small detail we asked about so everything ran as smoothly as possible. Merci, merci, merci Joel.

Reviewed by : WReeve

UK

Date of stay: 2015-08-22

Stunning historic castle - ideal for large group of family/friends

I completely agree with Ann O. Selfishly I would prefer nobody to know how wonderful the Chateau is. But the owner Malo and on-site Joel were both excellent for us and iced the cake. And what a cake it is; half the facility dates back to C12; the 'modern' half is renaissance era and includes a monumental staircase bigger than my house. The location is excellent too; my group included some avid walkers who walked to Roussillon and Gordes, but the less perambuletic easily managed the 1min walk into Goult's charming 'CBD'. The building blends ancient with practical and beautiful with robust and makes an excellent base for a week in Provence.

Reviewed by : Jo H

Brooklyn

Date of stay: 2015-09-19

Perfect Wedding Week!!

We spent the last week of September at this lovely chateau to celebrate my sister's wedding. It was an amazing place and the wedding itself, with the help of Joel, was spectacular. Everything was perfect and Joel helped coordinate things so the bride didn't have to waste her wedding week worrying about logistics. This was THE BEST wedding I have ever attended, just absolutely beautiful. We only recently returned from the trip and the entire family is brainstorming how and when we will go back. There are many fun activities to do in the area, including sightseeing, canoeing, biking, hiking and wine tasting, although the chateau was so beautiful and so comfortable we didn't even feel the need to leave. We had the wedding party (large extended family) sleeping comfortably in the chateau, and housed a couple friends and the photographer in the annex. Other guests were easily able to find accommodations nearby in the lovely village. The chateau is in the village itself, which is very convenient, allowing for morning walks to the boulangerie and evening strolls to have drinks at the Cafe de la Poste. There was more than enough space for everyone (19 people), with plenty of common areas to enjoy each other's company and wonderful spacious bedrooms in case we needed some private time. My husband and I were assigned the Dungeon Room which was huge and historic with a modern bathroom and was my favorite of the bedrooms, however all of the rooms were large and lovely. Although we could have easily gone into town for meals, we spent the week taking turns preparing delicious feasts in the comfortable kitchen and dining in the stunning Salle des Gardes. One thing to remember, shops are largely closed on Sundays, although there are farmer's markets and some stores open until noon. Wineries tend to be closed daily 12-2pm. During the week it seemed like closing time for the boucherie, boulangerie etc was 7pm. It rained on the wedding day (perfect weather the entire week, albeit chilly in the early am and pm, except for the wedding weekend), so the location for the ceremony and cocktail reception had to be moved in doors, but Joel had plan B already in mind, and everything worked out beautifully with minimal extra stress for the bride. Although we had planned for the ceremony and cocktail hour in the courtyard and on the terraces, we ended up holding the ceremony in the wine cellar and the reception in the chateau living area and impressive entry halls due to the rain. This may have actually worked out for the better. The wine cellar is atmospheric, intimate and we filled it with flowers. During cocktail hour guests were able to enjoy the chateau. Dinner was held in the dining room on the second floor followed by desserts and dancing in the candlelit Salle des Gardes. Joel's signature decorative touch is filling the Salle des Gardes with candles and it was resplendent. In short, it is a perfect and very well priced wedding venue with many options for any bride's vision. Overall, all I can say is that it was a magnificent wedding, magnificent family vacation, we were all very impressed with the chateau and had a most amazing and relaxing time. I only wish we could go every year, and in any case, we do plan to be back as soon as possible! Thank you for making my sister's dreams come true, it was the perfect wedding!!

Reviewed by : Ann

Qatar

Date of stay: 2015-08-06

A magic castle

I am in two minds whether I want to review the Chateau as I don't want it to be fully booked when I want to go back! I think it is only fair on Joel the smiling on site caretaker and Malo the relaxed owner to share what a great experience we had. It was a real privilege to stay in such an historic building. The chateau has been beautifully restored and has been furnished in a stylish eclectic mix of old and new. The feel is much more like a family home than a rental property with pieces of art, a massive library of books and a collection of hats for general use. The bathrooms are all modern and the kitchen is well equipped. We ate a candlelit dinner in the guard's room prepared by a local chef, a truly memorable night. There are numerous different spaces outside for eating drinking and sunbathing. The gardens are pretty the views are stunning and you even have a tower to climb to enjoy the Luberon from on high.

Reviewed by : K.C.

USA

Date of stay: 2015-05-16

Your review title

Since we left Goult, all my husband and I can talk about is how we MUST take another trip there as soon as we can. Everything about this Chateau is spectacular. I was overwhelmed by the grandeur, the beauty, and the history of the place. And to have all of that, coupled with modern bathrooms and all of the conveniences you might want, was just a dream come true. The whole time, I couldn't help thinking; Is this real? And is this really all for us? The Chateau's owner, Malo, and its caretaker, Joël, are helpful and kind. Joël took such wonderful care of us, and Malo organized our wedding beautifully (more on that below). I really can't say enough good things about the two of them. The grounds: We spent most of our days at the house - it's so lovely there, it was hard to leave! We wandered the village a bit, took a few hikes and drives to villages nearby, but ended up spending most of our time relaxing in the sun on one of the terraces or in the pool. We dined outside in the courtyard on most nights, and hung out in the tower to enjoy the sunsets. And the cave provided a cool, fun spot for pingpong, foosball, and for storing flower arrangements. Basically, the chateau is so wonderful, you don't need to leave to have a great time. The location: Goult is the most lovely, quiet, little village, surrounded by vineyards and fields of wild flowers. All of the locals are kind and welcoming. The market has a nice selection of fruits and vegetables and affordable, delicious wine from the region. The street market on Thursdays has a ton of great stuff; from handbags and jewelry to sausages, fabrics, and olive oils. And the cafe in the center of the village is the perfect place to kick back for a coffee and chat with friends. It's country living at its best! The weather: Although it was supposed to be in the 60s in mid-May, the entire week we were there it was in the high 70s and low 80s; we were lucky! We took advantage of the pool everyday. The very last night we were there, the temperature dropped, and Joël made a cosy fire for us in the living room. I can imagine it would be fun to be in the chateau over Christmas (maybe in a couple of years!). The wedding: we were a group of 25. 20 of us stayed in the house, and two other groups rented apartments around the corner. Malo organized every aspect of our wedding (caterers, rentals, flowers, musicians, etc.). She did a spectacular job - we told her we wanted it to feel casual but elegant, and she made that happen. I have to admit, I was a little nervous about leaving all of the details to someone else. But I am SO glad I did. Everything worked out wonderfully! The chef she suggested for us, Chef Ronald, made us a spectacular meal with excellent wine pairings for a great price - he's also super friendly and funny. The next time we go to Provence, I will definitely request some cooking classes with him! Tips for other travelers: Dust off your French! It's best if you and at least three or four other people in your group speak at least basic French. Also, the roads in the village leading to the house are very tight. Unless you're going to get a really small car, it's best to park in the village and walk up to the house. And if you are having large group dinners, ask Malo about hiring a dishwasher to help with cleanup - this way you and your guests will be able to relax after the meal. Also, people who like to cook may wish to bring their own knives. The kitchen is well-appointed, but there weren't many sharp knives. All in all, we ended up getting a week-long dream vacation/wedding with our closest family members and friends in a magical place for a fraction of what it would have cost to throw something similar in the US. And the food and wine were absolutely unbeatable.

Reviewed by : AJ

London

Date of stay: 2014-09-08

Perfect Wedding Venue!

Words cannot express our experience at Chateau de Goult. It was an idyllic setting for a small intimate wedding. All the family members (18) slept very comfortably in the Chateau and Malo found another home close by for the rest of our guests. She also acquired a car service to pick up and deliver our guests from the Avignon train station and the Marseille Airport. It was an amazing week. We were living in a 14/16 century castle with 20th century bathrooms! The kitchen was so well appointed that we cooked meals there and served everyone with ease. One night we had dinner outside (with the AMAZING Joel's help) putting tables together and gathering chairs and lanterns. During the mornings we would gather in the library (where the wireless was strong) and enjoy coffee and the warm croissants that Joel would fetch for us each morning from the local bakery. Later we would walk to the Cafe De la Poste for lunch, walk the paths around the windmill, sit out by the pool enjoying the wonderful wine from local vineyards. The whole week was magical. The wedding in the garden, the appetizers and sparkling wine on the terrace, the Wedding Dinner in the grand dining room that also adjoined the Guards Room, Wedding Cake in the Guards Room and on and on it went! Malo was invaluable in planning the wedding, acquiring rentals(chairs, tables, dishes, etc.), suggesting a chef(he was great and his food was wonderful), also providing a local cook who prepared a typical French Provencial dinner our last night at the Chateau. Joel was the keeper of the castle!!! So, so helpful and meeting needs with the greatest of ease. He even helped me decorate for the wedding dinner and filled the Guard Room with candles everywhere for the wedding cake and reception after the dinner. Ok and may I also say he was our videographer for the wedding using my I-pad. By the time we left the chateau we all wanted to take him home with us :) I could go on forever, the village of Goult is quaint, friendly, has great restaurants(but you always need reservations), and close to other villages. Whether you want to explore the Luberon valley or sit by the pool and enjoy excellent French wine and cheese, I highly recommend the Chateau de Goult!

Reviewed by : Fran

Port Macquarrie, Australia

Date of stay: 2014-04-19

Perfect choice for a perfect celebration

Let me start by saying that no words or photos can convey how spectacular Chateau de Goult is and how wonderful the hosts are. But I will try…. The celebration for my 50th birthday took 2 years to plan. I wanted something special and memorable. After months of research I found Chateau de Goult. I could not have chosen a more perfect and idyllic venue. We had a large group of 20 Australians and 6 Europeans. The Chateau was magnificent. Enough room for everyone to have privacy when needed but wonderful gathering places for small and large groups throughout the property. Both the location and the Chateau were spectacular. The small village of Goult was picturesque and perfect to wander around to purchase our early morning croissants and wine and cheese for the evenings. We loved the feel of the village as it is not as “touristy” as some of the other Luberon villages yet provided restaurants, shopping and history to enjoy. The area provided enough diversity to meet the needs of our varied group, from beautiful small villages, markets, vineyards, larger historic cities and scenic mountain drives all within an hour’s radius. Of course you could just stay at the Chateau the full week! Our groups ages ranged from 15 to 70ish and we all found the Chateau itself fascinating and the experience of a lifetime. Even our French friends were impressed! Photos do not do it justice. Every room is impressive, filled with history and beauty yet very comfortable to relax in. Malo was helpful and informative throughout the planning process. Malo organised a local cook for our first night and linked us into the fabulous Chef Ronald for the birthday celebrations. Malo was also wonderful in assisting organise the bedding arrangements for our large and diverse group. I incessantly emailed Malo during the last few months with queries from our group and nothing was too much trouble, even when I was having nightmares of turning up at the Chateau and it being an internet scam, Malo patiently provided me with information about her family and local town so I could be assured that Malo and the booking were authentic. Thankyou Malo. Caretaker Joel was helpful but never intrusive. Be prepared , Joel’s English is little better than my French, but we had no problems communicating throughout our week long stay. For the birthday dinner Joel filled the Salles Des Gardes with candles - it was breathtaking. Joel really adds to the character and feeling of warmth at the Chateau. We all hope to revisit the Chateau again and would highly recommend it , particularly for a large group of family or friends. If you want somewhere to have the celebration of a lifetime, Chateau de Goult is it.

Reviewed by : barnaireland

Ireland

Date of stay: 2014-05-15

5 star experience in a picture perfect location

If you are looking for luxury in a beautiful setting then Chateau de Goult is for you. A 17th Century Castle with 21st Century touches, nestled in the picture perfect little village of Goult. It has been lovingly restored by its owner and updated to include many beautiful en suite bathrooms. With several terraces outside you can lounge around by the pool or sit up on one of the higher terraces with a glass of wine. If you are looking for peace and tranquility in a magical setting then this is for you. We also had a local chef (organised by owner) to come on 2 evenings to cook for us. Beautiful provencal food. The village of Goult also has some of the best restaurants around within a short stroll from the Chateau - so no driving required. Goult is also the perfect location to visit many interesting places around - Avignon, Gordes, Lacoste, Rousillion, Isles Sur La Sorge - all under an hours drive. There is a very helpful caretaker who lives on the grounds. This is the perfect location for extended family/friends gathering and a special treat for all ages.

Reviewed by : Gen

New York

Date of stay: 2012-06-02

Magnifique!

We have just come back from our stay at Chateau de Goult and are still dreaming about a most amazing week spent with our extended family. My husband and I rented together with my 2 brothers and 2 sisters, their spouses and our combined 10 children. We could not have picked a better place to host this family reunion. The castle is simply breathtaking and the website does not do it justice. There is so much history and atmosphere combined with beautiful decorating and practical amenities. It is perfect for large groups like ours and is situated in the middle of a very quaint village which has everything you need including a the wonderful Cafe de la Poste. Our only regret is not having rented for longer. We will be back again very soon though.

Reviewed by : AJD

New York City

Date of stay: 2012-05-16

A Magical Week

We had a group of nearly 20 friends gather at the Chateau de Goult to celebrate my 40th birthday. The chateau proved to be nothing short of magical. It is truly one of the most interesting and unique properties in which I've ever stayed. Though very old, the chateau has very high-end modern amenities. Also - it is located in one of the most beautiful parts of Provence (the Luberon Valley) and is just a short drive to many of the most beautiful towns in the region. Dealing with Malo (the owner) and Joel (the groundskeeper) was very easy and we were able to arrange a superior chef as well as have friends put together a "surprise performance". It all seemed effortless and has given us lifelong memories. I really can't recommend this property highly enough. We hope to visit again - and every guest inquired as to how they might rent the property in the future should a need arise. In short - you cannot go wrong with this property. It is something very special and very much above and beyond your typical vacation rental.

Reviewed by : Ms Lee

Ireland

Date of stay: 2012-06-04

A truly unique and special place to stay, unforgettable!

What a treat! We had an extremely memorable week in Chateau de Goult. It's a place I hope to return to - I felt like a queen ! lying in my four poster bed - it made me wonder who may have slept here hundreds of years ago.. As soon as we arrived I wanted to explore every corner - there's so much to see and enjoy both inside and outside of the Chateau. One of the higlights was climbing up the spiral stair case in one of the towers which reveals a spectacular 360 degree view of the surrounding countryside. It's also right in the heart of the village so it was great to be able to wander off myself around the boutiques in the village and the community herb garden was a surprising find, very peaceful. And if you wanted to be entertained visit the local butchers - there must be a stage hidden behind the counter!And great to have the pool to cool off at the end of the day.Such a special holiday, I'll never forget it.

Reviewed by : Procter

France

Date of stay: 2012-05-10

Perfect setting for family occasion or special event

We managed to sleep 31 people (with only 3 under 16s) comfortably with a bit of creative room allocation and sharing. Our group was all ages from 6 - 80. Even though we were a relatively large group, the chateau did not feel crowded. There are enough communal rooms and different outside areas for everyone to find their own space. Even in early May the swimming pool (which is relatively small but more than adequate for cooling off) was well used. Plenty of sun loungers and outside furniture too. Another big plus to the chateau is that is right in the centre of the village. Our group really appreciated being able to stroll down to the local bars, restaurants and shops or just to explore the village and surroundings on foot. The chateau owner put us in touch with a local lady who prepared a wonderful 3 course meal for us each evening. She came by and left it in the afternoon and we heated up and served ourselves in the evening. That was a great solution for such a large group but the kitchen is extremely well equipped if you do your own catering (which we did for lunch and breakfasts). One evening we had dinner in the Salle des Gardes which was lit with hundreds of candles and the fire burning in the hearth. Magical. Another evening we had a bbq outside with a baby-foot tournament. There are so many possibilities and different areas of the chateau to use. Also to mention that even though the chateau is full of medieval features and charm etc the bathrooms are 100% 21st century which was much appreciated. All our party said that the stay in the chateau was a never to be forgotten experience and we are all hoping to return soon!

Reviewed by : anna

NYC

Date of stay: 2013-02-25

Unforgettable

We have just returned to the states after a magical weekend in Provence at the Chateau de Goult. My husband and I got married there last week, surrounded by our families and the chateau was the perfect setting for the wedding itself, as well as a week together to celebrate! We filled every room in the chateau and found it to be a breath-takingly beautiful place from which to launch our daily excursions. The chateau was filled with character and historic details while offering beautiful modern bathrooms and functional modern kitchen amenities. The village was charming and the views were amazing. Joel, the caretaker, was always there and available to help with anything we needed, but so discreet so as not to bother us. He brought us fresh baked goods every morning and helped to arrange a cook to come the chateau to make a few of our meals. Overall, it was an unforgettable experience that we will all cherish. Our week there simply couldn't have been any better, and we are already brainstorming on when we can go back!! All of our guests feel the same way. We are really looking forward to our return.

Reviewed by : AB

Washington DC

Date of stay: 2013-07-09

The Magical Place

Victoria and I got married at the Castle of Goult in July 2013 after spending an entire week with all of our loved ones and closest friends. We cannot say enough thank you to Malo and Joel for the exceptional care they provided us in the organization of our wedding week !! and for making the Chateau De Goult a really unforgettable and unique place and experience. We just cannot wait to come back next year and so are all of our guests. I was born in France, left the country 15 years ago and to spend a week at the castle was just the most beautiful way to reconnect with the true heart of Provence, Luberon, its people and their kindness and enjoy again the true beauty of this region and of the Village of Goult. Everyone from our Group ( France, Russia, Switzerland, India, USa, Peru, Dubai, Greece ) have just spent one of the best week of their lives at the castle. This is a unique place , managed and kept by unique people and we just recommend true lovers of historic and Luberon to make the time and stay there.