Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : Gord

Ottawa, Canada

Date of stay: 2016-09-17

Wonderful wonderful wonderful!

We (three couples) spent a week at La Jauberte, and loved it completely. It is very private restored vintage farm compound nestled among fields of lavender. The view is breathtaking! It is not far from the charming town of Viens (a 5 minute drive, or a good hike over the ridge), and there are lots of other attractions a half hour away. I could go on, but the photographs speak for themselves: it is as gorgeous as it looks on the web. Great pool. Functional kitchen. The master bedroom is spectacular. There is another excellent bedroom attached to the master, but you need to walk through it to get to the master, so depending on your privacy expectations, you may not want to use both. And, two other smaller bedrooms on the lower level. The house is surrounded by lovely gardens that will supply you with fresh produce when in season. We would not hesitate to recommend this.

Reviewed by : Jeanne

Vermont

Date of stay: 2016-07-11

Surrounded by lavender

My family spent a wonderful week smelling the lavender at Domaine La Jauberte. Linda did a wonderful job recommending how to book and when to go, Kim welcomed us and the owners, Vera and Chip, provided a goodbye party at the end. The farmhouse is filled with character from old beams to uneven stairs (could be a problem for those who have difficulty climbing), a terrace with a 180 degree view of the surrounding hills, every amenity one would need and beautiful terraced gardens down to the pool. We preferred to spend our days shopping at the various nearby town markets and making our own dinners from the several cookbooks provided at the house. If you wish to experience the "true southern France" I would highly recommend a stay at Domaine La Jauberte. Merci beaucoup to all of you who helped make this week possible for us to experience!

Reviewed by : Peter & Anne Arnold

Itchenor

Date of stay: 2015-08-29

La Jauberte

La Jauberte is in a stunningly beautiful location with unbroken views of the surrounding countryside and the nearby village of Viens perched on its rocky outcrop. On arrival we found every room and even the staircase adorned with flowers from the garden. A welcoming basket of fruit together with local cheeses, sausage and bread were amongst the other delights which awaited us and throughout our stay courgettes and tomatoes from the garden would appear – courtesy of Christian - on the table on the terrace or in the courtyard. The cottage (which is well equipped) and the garden present the opportunity for a true voyage of discovery both inside and out, from the spiral stone staircase which leads from the kitchen to the downstairs rooms and a vine-covered terrace, to the garden where one can meander gently along through olive trees or follow the steps through the rockery to reach the pool and enjoy the spectacular scenery. It is hard to tear yourself away from this haven of peace and tranquillity where the deafening silence of the day is matched only by the depth of the darkness at night - but tear yourself away you must because this is an area worth exploring. We stumbled by chance upon Simiane la Rotonde early on a Sunday morning just as its inhabitants were waking and throwing open the shutters over narrow winding cobbled streets. There are many other lovely villages in the area far less visited than those further west and Viens itself is an unspoilt gem with a tiny little weekly market where the most delicious organic produce is on sale – the ancient variety tomatoes were second to none. We have recommended this location to many of our friends and hope to return one year.

Reviewed by : Juliet

Kent, UK

Date of stay: 2015-07-28

Delightful

La Jauberte is a very special holiday home, beautifully restored and positioned with stunning views of the Luberon. It is a few minutes drive from the unspoilt village of Viens which has a patisserie, a restaurant offering reasonable food at a reasonable price and a small but well stocked general shop. Larger supermarkets can be found in Apt about 15 minutes drive away. La Jauberte is one of the most comfortable houses we have stayed in; it is well equipped with high quality linens, matresses and kitchen equipment. We traveled with two adult children and their girlfriends and the house offered plenty of space and privacy with its terraces and extensive grounds. The appeal of La Jauberte lies in its stunning setting; we never tired of the views and found it difficult to tear ourselves away from the beautiful gardens and the well-positioned and completely private pool. Booking was very easy and queries promptly answered by Linda. The owners, Chip and Vera are a lovely couple as are caretakers, Kim and Kristian - discreet and unobtrusive yet on hand if needed. It was lovely to arrive after a long journey to a warm welcome, beautiful flowers in every room and a generous hamper which included freshly picked fruit and vegetables from the gardens. We would not hesitate in recommending La Jauberte to friends and family and hope to return for another perfect stay. Thank you to everyone for making our holiday so special.

Reviewed by : Purdy

Bristol

Date of stay: 2015-07-11

Peaceful Provence

It is so rare to find that the photographs do not lie, or that the caretaker and hosts are as lovely as they appear to be on paper. La Jauberte is a beautiful place, sincerely renovated true to it's heritage and presented with such wonderful touches; the flowers everywhere, the luxurious towels, the soaps and scented pillows. Could be a first class hotel, but you are discretely left to enjoy the wonderous views, smells and feel of the dreamy Luberon. No noisy neighbours and screechy music from nearby is heard here. You may be in the deepest countryside yet only 3kms from Viens with a fantastic shop with everything you might need to buy. Everything you might need is provided and the items in the kitchen were fit for the finest chef, my husband never goes anywhere without his knife sharpener, it wasn't required here, Vera has thought of everything you might need. A blissful experience, and one to be repeated next year, we've booked already, you have to get in fast with properties such as La Jauberte. Stay here and you will not be disappointed. Thank you Chip and Vera for the wonderful experience.

Reviewed by : Moffee

UK

Date of stay: 2014-08-16

Fabulous location

The location of La Jauberte atop a hill looking out over the village of Viens and with Mont Ventoux visible in the background, can only be described as wonderful. The grounds and house are beautiful under the summer sunshine or the dark star-studded night skies. There were one or two small issues when we arrived but the caretakers Kim and Kristian were very helpful, courteous and quick at sorting things out. Accommodation-wise, the downstairs living and dining areas were very comfortable and the kitchen very well equipped. It was a lovely touch to have fresh bread, a selections of cheeses, fruit and wine welcoming us on our arrival. The main upstairs and downstairs bedrooms were comfortable although the fourth (downstairs) bedroom was small and dark and a littler disappointing given the level of rental.

Owner response:
Thanks so much for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Domaine La Jauberte, and that you found our caretakers as helpful and responsive as we do! They take great pleasure in putting together the welcome hamper from local producers. As you point out, the 4th bedroom, the kids' room, is the smallest one - when the house was built, in the 1600s, people preferred smaller bedrooms with thick walls to keep cool in summer and warm in winter. Today children tend to enjoy staying in this room because it is their cosy hideaway. The rental rate is actually deliberately set low, as the point of renting this house is to generate maximum revenue for the children's charity UNICEF. Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again.

Reviewed by : Jacqueline

San Francisco, CA

Date of stay: 2012-05-18

Even better than the pictures...

When we chose La Jauberte as our home for a week in the Luberon, it looked wonderful on the web. But the photos don't do it justice. We explored many kilometres 'en velo' (thank you Luberon Cycles) returning in the morning with bread from Simiane La Rotonde. We went to markets, gothic palaces, bories, fountains and learned to negotiate the twisting roads to La Jauberte in the dark. Our fifteen-year-old did not want to leave. Every night he sat outside and watched the stars soaking up the atmosphere.Perhaps one day we will be able to come back and see the lavender in bloom.

Reviewed by : S.G.

Kent, UK

Date of stay: 2013-07-02

A wonderful week!

We had a fabulous week at La Jauberte. Said thank you very much for the welcome goodies, they were delicious. Thank you also for the incredible almond croissants...that patisserie in Simniane la Rotonde (next to Le Chapeau Rouge) was absolutely fabulous. Best pastries we have ever eaten! They made a wonderful birthday cake for my mother which was very special too. the restaurant Sanglier Paresseux was fantastic also - brilliant recommendation.The sunsets were also spectacular. This was a wonderful and very memorable week.

Reviewed by : Vincent

Charleston, NC

Date of stay: 2012-08-16

Merci, merci, merci

Andre Bocelli and Sarah Brightman are singing Time to Say Goodbye as I sit here listening to the crickets chanting, the bees buzzing, and take in this amazing glow of evening. My senses are filled with awe as I gaze over the vista. The grapevines are simply dripping with their bounty. Fig trees are full of fruit. The garden offers up its blooms and the heady scent of lavender is magic to say the least. I have finally fulfilled Dream '98' on my goal chart.

Reviewed by : The Rolfes

Sydney, Australia

Date of stay: 2013-08-18

The perfect place

To extol all the virtues of La Jauberte would require reams Could there be a more perfect place? I think not.THanks you Vera and Chip for your genuiine hospitality. On our last day at the house we photographed the smallest bird in the world, the Bee Hummingbird: La Jauberte never ceases to amaze!

Reviewed by : Tom and Emily

UK

Date of stay: 2013-08-24

Stunning location

We had a fantastic time at La Jauberte, a very relaxing week in a stunning location and views, hot weather and lovely pool has made this a holiday we will all remember for a long time. We had a great time exploring the village and towns - the market at Forcalquier is massive - and the food at Le Jardin restaurant in Viens is good, uncomplicated and reasonably prices.

Reviewed by : Pannons

London

Date of stay: 2013-07-12

A unique place

La Jauberte is truly a unique spot - we won't forget the views and smells of the lavender and the broom. Thank you also for leaving some great books for our reading pleasure. We enjoyed exploring local towns and village, tasting the fine wines and fabulous local fruit and veg! You have introduced us t o a wonderful part of the work and we hope to return.