Guest Reviews

Write a review

Reviewed by : KT

London

Date of stay: 2019-08-24

Wonderful holiday

Our family of four (including children aged 5 and 7) and parents had a fantastic stay at La Jaume. The house was beautiful, the grounds stunning and the pool exceptional. The location, just outside of Menerbes was perfect, close to fantastic markets, picturesque villages and excellent restaurants. While the pool was not next to the house, as other reviews have stated, we didn't feel that this was a problem at all. The pool itself was gloriously warm, with a little building next to it which housed a shower, toilet and refrigerator for cold drinks. The house itself was lovely. We would absolutely re-visit.

Reviewed by : Meades/Warda

Sydney Australia

Date of stay: 2018-06-25

Lovely home in paradise

If you want the quick summary, this is a lovely home in which to base yourself in this most beautiful area of France. Its a very comfortable, well equipped, value for money, quiet, picturesque residence on the outskirts of Menerbes, one of the most beautiful of the beautiful villages in this part of Provence. We have been to the property on 2 separate occasions in the last 5 years the last being a 2 week stay, we'd come more often but live in Sydney. Neither have disappointed. We were travelling with 2 young adults who wanted (and got) their own space and wifi, parents that wanted peace (and got it) and a grandmother who enjoyed the tranquility the house so easily offers. The residence includes a pool which is very much separate from the house, and has a pool house in which one of the boys took up residence. Its basic but comfortable. The house has good bedrooms that remained cool and were very comfortable, a lovely outdoor area and a very function kitchen. Whilst the overall location is very quiet, its is well placed, either to Menerbes itself, the house sitting at the green base of this beautiful elevated village, or to many of the villages in the surrounding areas. There is a very large supermarket not 10 minutes by car and easy road access to the surrounding regions. The lease is simple and Denis the owner responsive to communications. Once leased, you are met at the property but all was self explanatory. When we had one small issue with an appliance assistance was quick and resolved it very competently. That was our only issue over 2 stays. Both stays have only left us wanting more (we will return in 2019) such is the effect of this residence and its location. We hope you get the opportunity to enjoy it.

Reviewed by : Mike

Bristol, U.K.

Date of stay: 2018-07-20

Highly recommended

Fantastic home in stunning location. Denis and Maud were very quick to respond throughout the whole process and easy to deal with. The house is really well equipped. Full of great art and stylish furniture. Huge garden/grounds, including private vineyard. Fantastic saltwater pool which we all enjoyed. Surrounded by beautiful towns and villages with plenty of options for places to eat and drink - the nearest town (Menerbes) is very picturesque and approx 2 min drive! Our family and friends loved our time here and would certainly recommend.

Reviewed by : Max

Australia

Date of stay: 2016-06-18

Great!

We had a great time at La Jaume. The house was good and we especially enjoyed our daily lap swimming and playing in the pool and regular petanque. I even got to pick some ripe cherries and make a cherry tarte tatin .

Reviewed by : V.P.

London

Date of stay: 2016-07-16

Fantastic week at La Jaume

We had the most fantastic week at La Jaume. We took our grown up kids and friends and they were totally enraptured by the place, as were we. The conversion is wonderful and the pool area especially great - we played a lot of petanque and pool games, I think I spent almost one whole hour just floating around on a noodle watching buzzards. The girls loved the art, my son had vinyl envy and the lawn was just the right size for holiday cricket. The owner's attention to detail and comfort made us feel at home and not too overawed to enjoy ourselves. Please let Mikael know how much we appreciated his waiting for us when we were stuck in holiday traffic on the way down and how helpful his partner was in suggesting local restaurants, he also had the good grace not to chastise us when we told him we were English so soon since Brexit! To be honest I'm not sure if the website does justice to how special La Jaume is and leaving after only one week was tough.

Reviewed by : EM

Paris

Date of stay: 2014-08-15

Unique and unforgettable

La Jaume is beautifully situated in a setting of great charm. The welcome is generous and the house is especially well equipped. The pool is very large and an ideal layout for the sunshine. We were able to enjoy the property with guests and a young baby in great comfort.

Reviewed by : Vanessa

Mullumbimby, NSW, Australia

Date of stay: 2013-09-03

Fantastique!

We absolutely loved our stay at La Jaume. The house is incredibly comfortable, modern and traditional all at the same time. The house is very well appointed and the facilities are excellent. The wonderful pool and pool house are a special addition to the house and its amenity. The vista out to the grape vines from the main house made the large outdoor table a great place to share a meal. The location of the house is so close to the town of Menérbes and so many other towns in the beautiful Luberon region. We will definitely be finding ways to come back and stay at La Jaume. We had a wonderful holiday here.

Reviewed by : Cassandra

Los Angeles

Date of stay: 2013-06-15

Wonderful house near a gorgeous village. Even better than the pictures

For our first time in Provence, staying at La Jaume was the perfect base to explore the gorgeous Luberon region - many beautiful villages were only 10-20 minutes drive. Denis was a wonderful host; from dealing with vacation rental to helping coordinate delivery of my parents' delayed luggage from CDG, he was highly responsive and courteous. His English is impeccable so it was very easy to communicate since our French is very rudimentary. We traveled as a family of 6 (parents, 16 month-old baby, 6 year-old and grandparents) and found the house and grounds to be child-friendly and comfortable (high chair and crib provided, pool area a nice distance from the house and ample outdoor space to explore and run around). If you appreciate design, you will not be disappointed with the stylish interior filled with great art. We loved Menerbes - so picturesque. Highly recommend Restaurant La Veranda and Galerie Pascal Laine. We hope to return to La Jaume and Provence in a few years once the kids are older!